We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Devils Marbles Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wauchope
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Devils Marbles Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
Start your review of Devils Marbles Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed the night, the food, service and reception was as good as it gets. The rooms are ok and clean. All amenities are spotless. This is the best place to stay along the Stuart Highway, I've stayed in them all. It's worth stopping in for a meal if your driving on further. We will be going back there again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

G'day Jeff & Kate, That's one hell of a review and we really appreciate it.. thank you..!! We're so pleased you had a great experience with us. I'm actually taking our chef down to Alice for an industry award he doesn't realise he's getting in a couple of weeks to acknowledge the magnificent job he does. It's even better when...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here instead of Tennent Creek based on a recommendation from another traveler. They said that the food was fabulous- and it really was. Lovely beer garden and bar area just next to the pool. Not sure if it's suitable for tent camping (gravel ground) but fine for campervans etc and seemed to have cabins available too. Facilities were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Greg_Targett123, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Melissa, thank you for your fabulous review. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope it's not too long before you visit us again. Wishing you all the best for the rest of your journey. From all of us at the DMH

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

If I'm honest I was dreading staying over here. There were no pictures of the cabin we were staying in available online. Some of the reviews were mixed. It was brilliant! The pub was lovely with easy friendly staff. The new lady from Scotland was really chatty and friendly. The pool is fab with great chairs around it to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola163
Greg_Targett123, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nicola, thank you for taking the plunge against your gut instinct, We're stoked you had a great time with us. Coincidentally we're installing TV's in those rooms this month. We hope you're enjoying your journey and hope you can stay with us again. Cheers Greg

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

If your expecting the Hyatt, this place is not for you, but if you want a clean, comfortable, ultra friendly place to stay that's dead smack in the middle of the outback do yourself a big favour and stay. From when we arrived the manager Annie, her girls Sarah and Maddie could not have been more welcoming or friendly, making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussietom
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Aussietom, yes the girls do a great job.. except for Maddi that is.. she's my daughter and we can't praise her because she has a big enough head already.. Bernie our chef is a ripper too. We wish you well on your journey and hope it's not too long before you visit us again. Cheers Greg

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We stopped here on our way through . Stayed in one of 2 new family cabins that could sleep up to 8. It was clean and comfortable. Had drinks and dinner at the bar. Was great to see some other dishes besides the normal pub grub. It was tasty also. The garden was a lovely place to relax and enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pawtella
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Great stuff.. thank you. We thought winning the Gold Plate award in 2015 was a fluke but winning it the second time in 2016 gave us some confidence we're doing something right. Bernie our chef and I have tried hard to offer a bit more variety so it's great when people like your good selves acknowledge it. Thank you once...

Emerald, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We spotted here for lunch after visiting Devil's Marbles & were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious! One of us had the smashed avocado while the other had the barra burger. Both were delicious! We sat in the beer garden which was cool thanks to fans & the pool. We would recommend stopping here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkKaren2015
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review..!! Yes, we're very lucky to have Bernie our wonder chef. We wish you well on the rest of your journey and hope it's not too long before we see you again. Cheers Greg

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Arriving in 45 degree heat with an approaching storm closing in I was signed in quickly and given directions to my cabin. Extremely large cabin (could sleep 6) 1 double bed and 4 bunks with good quality furniture and a comfortable bed, good shower etc. The hotel itself has a magnificent beer garden overlooking a sparkling pool, a very relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us Geoff. We're stoked you had a great time. It certainly is hot this time of year isn't it? From all of us we wish you a very Merry Xmas and a fabulous New Year.

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Firstly I know being a Territorian myself that places to stay with a room are few and far between. But just because you slap a couple of mining camp rooms down shouldn't mean you can justify ripping people off. We found the "dongas" to be dirty with no TV and over priced at $130 a night. No discount for Territorians...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan0085
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Poor Brendan had a bad day.. that bad taste in your mouth was your bad breath according to our manager.. dental hygiene should be your priority at the moment.

Belmont, Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

What a top place to stop. All staff were super friendly, meals were outstanding and the garden area is a little Oasis. Everything was lovely and clean. Kids had a ball under the sprinkler and playing in the pool. Wish we could have stayed longer. 10 out of 10.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherieBinstead
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cherie, thank you for your outstanding review. It's so hot this time of year so yes, the sprinkler gets a hiding.. good old fashioned fun we reckon. Safe travels and we look forward to seeing you here again.

Emu Park, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had a powered site and our family had a room. Both were good and we had everything we wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room where our family were the air con stopped working. A staff member immediately transferred them into another room and helped move their things. We are in the restaurant and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Pamela, we're sorry about the air-con but relieved we were able to work out a solution - thank you for being so understanding. We wish you well on the rest of your journey and hope to see you again soon.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wauchope
0.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.0 km away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
1,045 reviews
0.0 km away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
183 reviews
0.0 km away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
56 reviews
0.0 km away
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An unexpected oasis in outback Australia. Fine food, wine and beer selection. Beautiful beer garden, spotlessly clean rooms, pool and closest amenity to the Devils Marbles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Devils Marbles Hotel

Address: Stuart Highway | via Alice Springs, Wauchope, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Wauchope
Number of rooms: 13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Devils Marbles Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Devils Marbles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had an updated cabin”
geoffm604, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2 de luxe cabins very comfy”
shirleyh45, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The deluxe rooms would suit a larger group or families, all rooms are fairly basic and overlook the carpark.”
V6190WPamandah, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ideal positioning of cabins at edge of powered camping sites. Cabins handy to walkway through to beer garden and hotel”
  • Cabin
  • Saying above bed in cabin - love it!
MarkM699, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The wifi isn't great - you have to be near the bar to get service ( it's provided by NT gov not by the pub )”
SGM475, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5