We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 264: English reviews
Start your review of The Cove Bed and Breakfast
 Click to rate
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After 4 nights at a vrbo in Duck, we travelled down the islands and spent two nights at the Cove B&B in Ocracoke. We were celebrating our anniversary with our dear friends who got married two weeks before we did.......46 years ago. We loved the relaxed vibe on Ocracoke and feel that the Cove represented it well. The Cove was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank millie19712017
Hebron, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made a last minute decision to go to Ocracoke for a weekend to celebrate our 22 wedding anniversary. We stayed at the Cove Bed and Breakfast and it was a wonderful experience. Sharon is an amazing hostess and the breakfast was delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shellm3670
Reviewed 5 March 2017

I decided to suprise my wife with a nice getaway weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Without knowing how isolated Ocracoke Island was I attempted to call the one and only florist on the island to have flowers delivered to our room. But I learned that the florist wasn't available so I called the innkeeper, Sharon who said she'd would see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blair N Cassie B
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We spent one night on Ocracoke at The Cove, a clean and casual B&B situated in the middle of a quiet residential area just around the corner from the Ocracoke lighthouse. Sharon and John are the Innkeepers and were very accommodating. The house is clean and pleasant. Sharon fixed us a nice breakfast and was very helpful and flexible. Ultimately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Virginia
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We felt sort of mixed about our stay at the Cove. This is a "managed" B&B; I.e., not run by the owners. We felt like the manager was somewhat burned out and trying hard to control her irritation. She did well mostly, but there were times we felt like we were imposing. We felt this B&B lacked the intimacy we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VA_Rover
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I am sorry that your expectations were not met. Communication while you are here is a great way to avoid this kind of disappointment, and you did not give me any indication that you were unhappy during your stay, or at checkout. I know that you were the only guests for a portion of your...

Reviewed 16 October 2016

The social area and kitchen were comfortable and well stocked. The hostess and her sister welcomed us as if we were old friends coming for a visit. Sharon was very good at telling about the area restaurants, attractions and a lot of the history of the island. If we hadn't been out and about so much, there were plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micgigs
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, and so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Cove! We look forward to your return visit.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed two nights at The Cove during a very hot and very humid weekend. The clean room was amply sized with a king bed. Two Adirondack chairs populated the balcony. The room's amenities were not exceptional but adequate. The two breakfasts we had were quite delicious, although somewhat meager considering their web site's comment: "The Cove’s incomparable full-plated and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaGuy
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your response. We certainly did enjoy having you folks here, and appreciate your feedback, we always strive for improvement and are glad for all comments. Again thanks, hope to see you back here at The Cove. P.S., just a note that all of our rooms are one queen bed.

Reviewed 14 August 2016

A nice, quiet and rustic place with easy access to the light house, the Springer Trail and the town itself. First the good: the wine buffet is a wonderful concept and I hope it continues. Now the not so good: for a Bed and Breakfast the Cove was extremely limited in that it offered no choices; no toast, no pastries,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Obbe H
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response, we appreciate it. You are right, we need to inject some new recipes in our rotation! We always appreciate new recipes, so feel free to pass along at info@thecovebb.com. Again, thanks for your feedback, and hope to see you back again here on the island.

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 August 2016

First time I booked a place based on other reviewers comments and was disappointed. This place was not inexpensive (close to $200/night) and is very outdated/worn. Carpets are stained, showers filthy (stayed in sandpiper). I don't even think our bathroom was cleaned upon our arrival. There was long hair in the shower, as well as sink. Sitting on the deck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Again, as I told your friend, I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you had any kind of cleanliness concerns, you should have left me know immediately when you found it as that obviously is not our standard. And yes, that room was cleaned prior to your arrival, and I actually vacuumed during...

Reviewed 10 August 2016

The Cove has a very good location in beautiful Ocracoke island, and our overall stay was great with nice sea breeze, beautiful views, great seafood. Our Sandpiper room was fine, location and view made up for the room average features. Bikes provided were great, would highly recommend to spend time biking on the island. Wine happy hour is nice, quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herve B
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello, I am so sorry your were disappointed in your stay at The Cove. I admit and apologize that I did miss the food requirements, so sorry if I cam across as rude or uncaring, it certainly was not the case. I am glad to see that you were able to enjoy most of the rest of your stay.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
29.5 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
30.9 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
45 reviews
29.4 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#9 of 16 in Hatteras Island
68 reviews
30.1 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, made with our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Price Range: €111 - €201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Cove b&b
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cove Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Marathon, Florida

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Cove Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Dolphin room. It was very spacious and had a large bathroom.”
shellm3670, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the front have water views.”
blairncassieb, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a lighthouse view.”
CarolinaGuy, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We choose the third floor (I always do choose the top floor) for the better view and for a quieter room.”
jatha56, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Sandpiper room stays chilly, so if you like things hot I suggest you book another room in the house.”
159chrisz, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5