We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
220 Greystone Lane, Lake Toxaway, NC 28747-8560
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (38)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from The Greystone Inn
Updated 07/03/21

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
In the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, on the shores of the pristine and privately owned Lake Toxaway, you will find The Greystone Inn. A traditional hotel, gracious and fire-lit with views to take your breath away. Amenities include luxurious accommodations, exceptional dining, intimate spa, golf, tennis, croquet and the quiet beauty and adventure of the lake and mountains.
Read more
Room & Suite (45)45
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Boating
Canoeing
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Archery offsite
Fishing
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
97Reviews5Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 22
  • 9
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
westpoint69 wrote a review 11 Apr
Fincastle, Virginia27 contributions50 helpful votes
Having stayed at the original inn over 20 times we were sad to see it decline and ultimately close. Our return brought back memories and confirmed that it will again be an escape choice. The renovations have certainly refreshed the property. Service was generally excellent with a few exceptions where staff seemed to be a little short. Overall we were pleased. In particular the General Manager Paulette did all she could to address a mix-up with the room that we reserved. In the dining room where we enjoyed 3 relaxing evenings Jared was a pleasure to have as our waiter. He was eager to please and very efficient. The weather did not allow us to enjoy some of the amenities but we knew that March was going to be iffy. We also missed the afternoon cruise on Ms. Lucy and look forward to its return in the future. All in all a beautiful location and a relaxing retreat worth your consideration.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Todd, General Manager at The Greystone Inn
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I am so pleased that you found our renovations to be refreshing and service to be excellent excellent! It was truly a pleasure meeting you. We are excited to see you in the near future and I will be happy to personally help you with your booking! Kindest regards, Paulette Todd General Manager
Read more
Lovestotravel23 wrote a review Jul 2020
Greensboro, North Carolina182 contributions72 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
There aren’t enough wonderful things to say about this special place! The views, the accommodations, the staff ... from the moment we arrived everything was top notch. The room was beautiful and clean and the beds were insanely cozy! Best sleep ever!!! I have already referred 17 friends and would urge everyone to visit this spectacular place!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
passtheburts wrote a review Mar 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa55 contributions54 helpful votes
I really loved Gretystone Inn. We had a glass of champagne on arrival and it just had a really comfortable yet elegant feel. It's so beautiful and I think really good value for money. We had a King Premium Room, which was really large in size and well decorated- although the carpet could do with replacing or a good industrial cleaning. Had a lovely electric fireplace and a delicious mint chocolate for turn down service. I really enjoyed the heated bathroom floors. The location is beautiful. It's a bit of a windy road getting up there, so if you suffer from car sickness, it would be worth bringing some dramamine just in case. It's right on the water, and they have little fire pits throughout. The service is really friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant- such good food and a beautiful lake view. Also very good value for money in my opinion. Only reason I did not give them 5 stars is that the room needed a good cleaning. The base of the lamps by the bed for example hadn't been dusted in what looked like ages, and that's kind of an obvious go to clean when you see dust piling up next to the bed, so made me wonder what else wasn't being cleaned in there. The shower also had two random hairs. During a time with COVID you would imagine cleaning would be amped up, so makes me wonder what normal practice is. They also have us 2 small water bottles in the room and didn't replace the one- not sure if that was an oversight or you just get one small bottle per person per night. A small touch that could go a long way. Then one easy fix for them would be to allow your cellphones to be charged on both sides of the bed- possibly get those lamps with the USB chargers. I know the cleanliness thing seems like a big one but although very dusty, I didn't feel like it was dirty, if that makes sense. I would still highly recommend and would definitely go back. Room Tip- next time, we would avoid staying in the Inn main building and do the other building. As you can imagine with an old building, you can hear quite a lot- we were above reception, so we could hear that area, although I will say, it wasn't that noisy! Also, which bothered me more, is come afternoon you can smell the fryer from the bar kitchen till the late evening. That might not bother everyone but it's not something I enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Avoid staying in main building of the inn if you are a slight sleeper. Also, can smell bar...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Todd, General Manager at The Greystone Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel....the complimentary champagne upon arrival, heated bathroom floors, fireplace in your room, your food and the service from our staff. I profusely apologize about the dust on the lamps in your room and that you found two hairs in your bathroom. The health and safe of our guests and employees are of the utmost importance to us. We indeed have in place new operating procedures and protocols for all areas of the hotel, especially in housekeeping. I appreciate your honest feedback as that is how we correct any issues that we may have. We want all of our guests to be 100% happy with their Greystone Experience. We have addressed this immediately and again I am terribly sorry that your room had these issues. I look forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon. Please let me know if I may be of any assistance to you with future reservations. Kindest Regards, Paulette Todd General Manager
Read more
sbslaw57 wrote a review Feb 2021
Longwood, Florida7 contributions6 helpful votes
Had a girls weekend at a friend’s Lake Toxaway home and we took one evening for a meal at the Greystone Inn’s restaurant down on the water. There were 4 of us and we each ordered something different. Our respective meals were absolutely delicious, beautifully presented with exceptional and friendly service. The views from the lakefront windows are beyond compare and again, I can’t say enough about how fabulous the food was. If you are in the area, you should plan an evening out here- start out in the cozy bar at the hotel then step down to the main restaurant for one of the best meals you’ll ever have. It was a real treat.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Todd, General Manager at The Greystone Inn
Responded 28 Feb 2021
Wow....thank you for your most gracious detailed review. I truly appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with other potential guests. I am thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that you appreciate the attention to detail. I will pass on the compliments to our culinary team. Should you need assistance with future reservations or anything during your stay, please don't hesitate to contact me. Warmest Regards, Paulette Todd General Manager
Read more
StopSmellRoses wrote a review Feb 2021
Saint Paul, Minnesota16 contributions23 helpful votes
This was such a lovely place! Loved our room - beautiful bed, fireplace, lovely view, great sheets! - and staff service was just excellent. Greeted with a glass of champagne at check in - nice touch! But - a single Sunday night stay in the winter ended up costing $450. This seemed a bit steep, partly because the dog fee was $150 - for a single night - and wasn't told the cost in advance. This is several times higher than most luxury hotels. I am happy to pay for any cleaning of any messes, and sign a waiver to promise to do so - but most higher-end places just charge $25 or $30. This was so much more! And of course limited to pet-acceptable rooms, so... just shocked, and wasn't told this dollar amount when making reservations on the phone. Also - food at restaurant was ok, but desert- a molten chocolate cake - was unfortunately inedible. There was no "molten" (liquid) part inside, and was just a mushy, bitter cake. Server did kindly offer to substitute, but declined - other desert choices not so appealing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you ask about all charges in advance - and ask for a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Todd, General Manager at The Greystone Inn
Responded 19 Feb 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you loved your room and found our staff to be excellent! We take pride in being a pet friendly hotel; however you are correct, guest services should have informed you of the pet fee. I apologize that did not happen. I have reviewed that with each staff member so it does not happen again. I am terribly sorry that you found the molten chocolate cake inedible and please know this has been addressed with our chef. I hope that you return soon for a longer stay with us. Please let me know if I may be of any assistance. Kindest Regards, Paulette Todd General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$155 - US$423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsLake Toxaway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Greystone Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Greystone Inn?
Nearby attractions include Gorges State Park (4.8 km), Mountain Treasures Gem Mine (2.8 km), and Upper Bearwallow Falls (5.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Greystone Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Greystone Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Greystone Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Greystone Inn?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Greystone Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria Del Monte, Lakeside Dining Room, and The Falls Cafe & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Greystone Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Greystone Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Greystone Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Greystone Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Greystone Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Greystone Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.