We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2015

the resort is ok, but check your card for overcharges. they overcharged for paddle board and no one will call back to resolve. not very customer service oriented. Also, the wellness center / spa is soooo disorganized.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa H
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review

We are sorry for inconvenience and overcharge. Please feel free to contact me regarding this issue at 828.694.3023. I look forward to hearing from you. Jessica - Wellness Director

Matthews, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 August 2015

I was excited for taking my daughter and my two 2 year old granddaughters and 5 year old grandson to this resort at Lake Lure. The first impression arriving to Rumbling Bald Resort was good,a beautiful building overlooking the lake. That's where it ended; We were handed the key to our unit that was about two miles away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SiniM_1014
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Gorgeous property and location nestled in the NC mountains and on Lake Lure. Amenities including golf courses, tennis courts, restaurants, etc well maintained and very attractive. However the resort is understaffed so service was subpar, and any other added services were either unavailable or slow. There was only 1 person working in the entire spa. The resort is also understocked,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NittanyLion88
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I am definitely a glass half full type of person and noted my concerns on our guest survey, so I feel inclined to post them here as well. Our family of three stayed four nights at RBR in the Apple Valley Villas. First, the website is beautiful and I think/hope that is what the resort is striving to be. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mrsm1214
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

We rented a house in Rumbling Bald Resort our stay could not have been better. The house was beautiful and centrally located. The resort amenities were first class we especially enjoyed the kayak and pontoon boat rentals as well as the pools one had a lazy river. The two golf courses are beautiful mountain courses and were in very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duane b
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Very nice amenities and friendly staff. The massage was so-so. We selected the Lil' Biltmore house, in part, because we were assured it had internet access. The home had no phone or internet service, even after we complained several times. They said it was the home owner's responsibility to fix. Our college kids had homework that required it. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to review your most recent stay with us. Sorry to hear that you were experiencing issues with the internet connection at your unit. With over 150 managed units sometimes items can break or malfunction and sometimes these items may require more than just a simple fix by one of our employees. We are so...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We were only here for one night as it was a pit-stop onto our beach destination. It's a beautiful area, the condo's were unique. I saw three different condo's (via our large family) and non of the condo's had the same layout. There is not a Walmart within 45 minutes so try to bring all you need for your visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeatherP2
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We rented a beautiful and spacious cabin at The Rumbling Bald Resort, through VRBO. By renting from an owner, we were given access to all the resort had to offer: swimming pool, playground, etc. This is also a golf resort, which was very appealing to my husband and son. The cabin was a short drive, up the mountain. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LADavis5403
Lynnfield
Reviewed 18 July 2015

The area is a little off the beaten path but a short drive to restaurants and activities. We took the onsite boat tour of the lake and it was very informative (Dirty Dancing was Filmed on Lake Lure). Legends at the hotel has outdoor seating. I had the turkey panni and my husband had the pulled pork sandwich. Both were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roberta W
Ocala
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Great place to bring the family for vacation. The beach was nice and very clean and you can rent boats,kayaks and paddle boards there at the resort. They had tennis and basketball courts ,a fitness center and walking trails. They had three pools including the lazy river. Our kids were very disappointed with the lazy river. It was so crowded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coltnole

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
5.0 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
3.2 km away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
133 reviews
29.8 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
84 reviews
7.1 km away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
558 reviews
3.8 km away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Address: 112 Mountains Boulevard, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Price Range: €158 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Buford, Georgia
Ohio
over a year ago
Statesville, North Carolina

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure and reserve an RV site with a pond view.”
retromanII, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Units located on the lower, golf course level will provide better access to spa/pool facilities. Along Kings Dr. or West Lake Dr.”
Bill1056, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The expensive condos are better than the off-site villas...if you have the money”
pabl020, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They do not have handicapped accessible rooms but they were able to give us one with zero steps at entry.”
morrishj, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book a room that has both a golf and lake view”
lisabM1532KR, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5