We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

River Inn

Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of River Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We took 12 girls to a ball tournament in Kinston and we couldn't find another hotel with enough rooms. We where skeptical after reading reviews, but had no issues. No bugs and our room was clean. The sanitation rating is a 96. You get your money's worth and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The pool was closed but the...

Thank Sallie B
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

I Drove to Kinston NC to visit family and looked online for a comfortable place to sleep for a few nights just 2 hours after check in barely getting my luggage into the room and found numerous bugs crawling near the bed..attempted to shower and found numerous black bugs in the shower as well as several ants. I drove around...

Thank Oneida J
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

This hotel was disgusting I don't even know where to start, when we first entered the room we immediately noticed a horrible smell, the chairs in the room were stained we saw cock roaches, the people staying next to us argued half of the night, every piece of furniture was outdated the only modern item in sight was the flat...

1Thank Lovelydays35
prakash r, Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not have a pleasant stay,you must not be having a good day,it was raining and because of the bridge construction our high speed wi-fi goes time to time, but, we do have high speed wi-fi, you should have complained about the noise and it would have been handled the same time.

Reviewed 2 November 2015

Rooms are awful and dirty. Surroundings are sketchy. Staff seemed nice but when I asked about the renovated rooms, I was assured I had one. If the room was Renovated it was when the hotel opened. Cracked lamp shades, dirty walls, dirty carpet.

1Thank VAQueen
prakash r, Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

The hotel is a safe place and the rooms are clean, they might be old but, the sheets and towels are new and clean. I am sorry you thought it was dirty.

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 23 October 2015

The lobby isn't open, room 103 is the check in. The walls had unprepared cracks. The place is old without any recent upgrades. AC would not work correctly. Did I mention it was old?find another hotel.

3Thank Bill B
prakash r, Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

I looked on all the guest name and I did not find you,so kindly send me a message of what room you stayed in

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Did not get the room we reserved. Wanted river view room. Room smelled like cigarettes. dresser drawers were dirty. air conditioner kept shutting off. pool was drained. I do not recommend this to anyone.

1Thank James R
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

For the past eight months, I've been taking a class Lenoir Community College, just down the street, and have stayed at this hotel each time I was in town. The rooms have always been extremely clean, and are cleaned daily. The staff is very nice, and if you need anything at all, they will take care of it as quickly...

Thank crispy362
prakash r, General Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Chris and wish you all the best in your profession,my regards to your Dad

North Carolina
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I checked into the River Inn fairly late on a Saturday evening and was kindly greeted by the couple who owned it. I believe the rate was $50 which included a clean room with a king-size bed, a newer flatscreen TV with DISH network, a refrigerator and microwave. I couldn't have asked for more for the money and was so...

Thank Tall P
Dillon, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Motel is under renovations. Room was clean with microwave, refrigerator, and hair dryer. Room rate was $51.00. Motel is next to the Neuse River. A nice view. For an inexpensive restful night this is the motel for you.

Thank 8NC
Corolla, North Carolina
Reviewed 29 January 2015

My classmate and I stayed at the River Inn for a week while taking a course at the community college. They allowed and welcomed dogs! Staff was very nice and helpful- we did not request room service, but they brought us fresh towels and amenities each day. It is a nice location on the banks of the river and we...

Thank Falco17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nice riverfront hotel. Spacious clean rooms. Free continental breakfast, WiFi, HBO and computer desk for guests. Coin laundry and vending facilities. Pets allowed in limited rooms for a fee. Free truck parking. Convenient to shopping, dining and downtown historic locations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Inn

Address: 208 E New Bern Rd, Kinston, NC 28504-6734 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kinston
Price Range: €42 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from River Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?