We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shutters on the Banks

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shutters on the Banks
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

939 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shutters on the Banks
See the most recent reviews
Showing 932: English reviews
Summerfield, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We stayed here over Thanksgiving. Had a two queen room over looking parking lot ($59 per night) If you want a water view you must ask to be on the top floor of the tower building. Our room was nice a well appointed. Beds slept fine. Water pressure was great. The sink did not drain well so we let the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abycats
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that we have exceeded your expectations. Our staff strives to deliver an outstanding service to each and every one and this is what differ us from the competition. We feel blessed and fortunate to have such great team members. Thank you...

Hertford, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Arrived on Friday evening with 2 hungry kids - front desk clerk was EXTREMELY helpful in area restaurants. Checked out Saturday morning - front desk clerks were great! Room was perfect. Indoor pool!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerri S
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our team members are our pride and we are blessed and fortunate to have them. Thank you for acknowledging their effort and for recognizing them. Looking forward to serving you again and again....

Coventry, Connecticut
Reviewed 30 November 2014

The room was a good size, hotel nice and clean, however the bathroom, and sink vanity in the bathroom was tiny which is why I give it a 4 out of 5. I would definitely stay their again. The breakfast area a little tight, but very good. Adam (I think his name was), and the rest of the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 13FrugalTraveler
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

We are thankful that you have taken the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It is refreshing to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. Yes Adam is a gem and we are fell blessed to have him. We will be looking forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Simone

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 28 November 2014 via mobile

"Looks" like a nice place on the outside and the pictures. Lobby very nice. Indoor pool area nice but the hot tub jets were broken. This was one of the main reasons we stayed there, to use the Hot tub. From the way the friendly front desk staff member spoke, it had been broken for days and they were waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atomicgarden
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed that you did not receive the service and accommodations that you deserved. Please accept my most sincere apologies for falling short on your stay. All the issues that you have brought up will definitively be addressed with our management team and corrected. Thank...

Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Reviewed 25 November 2014

we had a great time the hotel is great the room is clean and the employees very nice the beach is breathtaking. the sunset was awesome. we'll be back there.the suite is great. the rooms on the ocean vue are fantastic the vue of the sunset is spectacular we loved to wake up with the sound of the ocean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ipotey
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again when you come back. Sincerely, Simone.

Milford, Connecticut
Reviewed 24 November 2014

My family and I, had a great time at the Shutters on the banks. The staff were very professional and friendly. They exceeded our expectations. The beach was breathtaking. The sun set Spectacular. While there we saw a wedding on the beach. Awesome! The location of this hotel is great!. The price are affordable. The breakfast every morning was delicious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyne P
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that we have exceeded your expectations. Our staff strives to deliver an outstanding service to each and every one and this is what differ us from the competition. We are looking forward to serving you again when you return. Warmest Regards!

Chadbourn, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 November 2014 via mobile

We were able to get a king studio room for less than $100 due to being off season. The rooms were clean and nice. The pics promoted online are not quite like the typical room but they are still nice. The staff was friendly as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky H
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It seems like you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies for falling short on your stay. Can you please call me at 252 441 5581 or email me at simone@shuttersonthebanks.com to discuss your experience with us. We hope that you...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014

Average quality hotel ( average price) you get what you pay for. Staff on check in duty was working on a need to know basis and seemed reluctant to offer information. ( code for wifi, code for swimming pool) it was like getting blood out of a stone! Heated indoor swimming pool with towels. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arfanar
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for falling short on your stay. We are striving to exceed our guests expectations and we are sorry that you did not receive the service you deserve. I would like to discuss your experience with us. Please call me at 252 441 5581 or email me at...

Aventura, Florida
Reviewed 22 November 2014

Well found hotel, 2 pools and excellent beach location. Room big and comfy, typical hotel type and a little impersonal. Breakfast limited as is often the case, but it was included! Staff helpful and friendly, indoor pool was welcomed after a long day exploring.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris W
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. Our Breakfast is well supplied with waffles, hard boiled eggs and sausage and gravy. I will investigate to find out why it was limited while you were here. Please accept my apologies for falling short in that area. Please do...

New Braunfels, Texas
Reviewed 15 November 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice, clean place to stay. Great view, with a wooden path to the beach, and outdoor showers. Bring your swimsuit, there is an indoor and outdoor pool. Friendly staff AND military discount

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AubryFTexas
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our team members are always going above and beyond to fulfill every guest needs and wants. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts. And yes please bring your swimsuit ! Sincerely, Simone R.

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (89)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Dune View (26)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (22)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (8)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Sunrise Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Tower Room with Dune View (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.6 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
778 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,134 reviews
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
779 reviews
11.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7898 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: €81 - €250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shutters on the Banks staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Shutters on the Banks staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor a MUST!”
 of 5 bubbles phut424, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you're on the second floor in the motel section for best views”
 of 5 bubbles lindaclif2n11, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The tower building is closest to the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 499JulieS499, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any room is going to be wonderful, honestly!”
 of 5 bubbles JacquelynK882, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check the rooms with balconies in the Tower block.”
 of 5 bubbles redfan10, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5