We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shutters On the Banks

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shutters On the Banks
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

949 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shutters On the Banks
See the most recent reviews
Showing 942: English reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2015

The staff, the property, and amenities are top notch. We stayed March 11-13, 2015. Everything was great, rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is awesome, and the property is well maintained, attractive, and located right on the beach. There is no reason to leave the property as it has great facilities on site. If you do, it is well located...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike C
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We went from " Fabulous" to "NO BRAINER"! This is so well said! We definitively are a hidden GEM. We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to serving you again and creating memories together. Sincerely,...

Jackson, NH
Reviewed 11 March 2015

For the second year we were lucky enough to get the Sunrise Suite. Shutters was everything we remembered and enjoyed on our first stay. A unique hotel with personality, clean rooms, and staff that goes the extra mile. We love this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barb J
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our exclusive boutique hotel.... You have summed it up for me "FABULOUS" I could not agree more. Our team members will be delighted to hear that their endeavors have been acknowledged. They are the epitome of hospitality and they are the reason why we are proudly and confidently saying we are "HOME...

Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Visited March 5-8, 2015. This place is great! We came here on the off season, so it was very quaint and personal. Hotels.com messed up our reservation, but Tonja saved the day! It was a relief to the beginning of our vacation. The hotel is very clean and the staff is welcoming. The entire place is beautiful and well decorated....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank anjusino
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property . It is greatly appreciated and we value your feedback. Our goal is to give each of our guests’ superior service and it’s great that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for acknowledging our team members especially Tonja and I could not agree more she is a GEM! Our team...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 7 March 2015

I enjoyed my stay at Shutters on the Banks. I was staying there in December to see the Christmas light displays. The service was great, which is not always true of hotels in the off season. Everyone we spoke to at the desk was friendly and always ready to help. The room was clean and comfortable, and we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It seems like you had an awesome time while staying with us but it looks like we some how fail to wow you as we have not received a five star rating. Please would you call me at 252 441 5581 or email me at simone@shuttersonthebanks.com to discuss how we...

Reviewed 4 March 2015

My husband and I stayed the weekend of Valentines and we had a wonderful stay. We participated in a local 5k and celebrated that I passed my national boards. The beds were so comfortable that we wanted to take it home. Even though it was freezing outside, being on the water front was a fun experience and it was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carissa W
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our engineering department careful monitor the chlorine content and we are fortunate to have him as a team member. Thank you for acknowledging our wonderful team members and I agree they are the epitome of hospitality. We are sorry that...

Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed in Feb. and the room and the price were great. Memory foam topper made the bed comfy. Helpful staff on duty 24/7 and biscuits and gravy plus waffles for breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and we recommend it highly!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary Z
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our exclusive boutique hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that we have exceeded your expectations and this is what differ us from the competition. I agree with our beds are very comfortable. Thank you for liking our well supplied breakfast. We understand that it the first meal of...

virginia beach, va
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Our family, extended family and friends recently stayed at this motel and found it to be extremely accommodating. Our rooms were extremely clean, spacious and most comfortable. It could not have been any nicer. Due to our elderly parents we required special considerations to help ease their stay. The front desk could not have been more helpful in making our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank irrol
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time review our property on Trip Advisor. We are glad to see that you had such a fabulous time at our hotel for your mother’s 85th Birthday celebration get-away. We feel honored and privileged to have been part of such a milestone. Our goal is to provide great service, a comfortable spacious room and great...

Reviewed 17 February 2015

My friend and I spent a long weekend thurs-sun at Shutters. It was perfect. I've never been to the OBX in the off season, but I really enjoyed it. Ocean front, friendly staff, comfy beds, delicious breakfast, and cheap prices were definite pluses. We also enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. I would highly recommend it to anyone coming...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mandym7882
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. What a FANTASTIC REVIEW!!!! It is greatly appreciated and we value your feedback. Our goal is to give each of our guests’ superior service and it’s great that we exceeded your expectations. Please come back anytime!!! Sincerely, Simone Ryan.

Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

My g/f and I stayed here for a long weekend and found everything to be wonderful. The room was huge and oceanfront. There were shutters on all of the windows inside instead of drapes and that was a very nice touch! The bathroom was a little small but gladly sacrifice that space for room space. The hotel staff was great,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Barry B
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated and we value your feedback. Our goal is to give each of our guests’ superior service and it’s great that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for acknowledging our team members as they strive to deliver an outstanding service to each and every...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Nothing budget but the price. Friendly staff surrounded by a warm reception area was the beginning of the unexpected. Room appointments and comfortable bedding are complimented by strong Wi-Fi and extensive TV selections. Rooms are on the protected side of the Atlantic dunes, their beach area is just a short walk. Even in the non-season period the view is magnificent....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mmi6
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. WOW! A review like yours makes me love my job even more!!! Thank you so much for recognizing COMFORT-STYLE-VALUE that Shutters on the Banks has to offer. It is definitively a hidden GEM! I am very proud to be part of such an excellent team...they are the...

510 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Dune View (26)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (22)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (8)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Sunrise Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Tower Room with Dune View (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
796 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,149 reviews
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
808 reviews
11.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: €120 - €268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shutters On the Banks staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Shutters On the Banks staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevator. There are rooms that face the ocean in the regular hotel, ask.”
Bucket4Me, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top floor a MUST!”
phut424, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you're on the second floor in the motel section for best views”
lindaclif2n11, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The tower building is closest to the ocean.”
499JulieS499, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any room is going to be wonderful, honestly!”
JacquelynK882, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5