We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

776 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 762: English reviews
Saco, Maine
Reviewed 21 April 2016

The room itself is amazing, so much room to spread out a family of 5 could stay there comfortably! We as a family of 5 have always had a hard time finding a room big enough. The breakfast was excellent as well. The pool was not open, don't know why it is hot enough. The gym is small and outdated....

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayjay326
Carrie C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and was very comfortable in your suite. The pool is seasonal and we don't open it until the end of April or first of May. Hope to see you again soon.

Oregon City, Oregon
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We stayed here for a couple nights in early April 2016 wanting to get a touch of the Atlantic Ocean in our Pacific souls. This hotel hit the spot. It was a very good value. The price was on the lower end and it came with breakfast - always a bonus for me. The hotel is getting a little dated/worn,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcgillivraym
Carrie C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Also happy to hear the staff was great. Come back again.

Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Really liked this hotel! It was very clean and neat. Housekeepers are sweet. All staff is helpful and friendly. We had an oceanfront suite on 4th floor and was highly impressed with everything! The view from our balcony was amazing! Bed was comfy. Convenient location to shopping. We highly recommend this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
Carrie C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Wow, what an awesome review. So happy you enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you again soon.

ma
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel is nice, but there is no Wifi, I called the front desk the lady was very nice, but was told by maintenance, that you can't have three cell phones at one time using the Wifi or it doesn't work. I have three teenagers and they need Wifi. So if you need Wifi don't stay here. We are here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rusty1Ma
Carrie C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Sorry you had issues with the WIFI, however maintenance is correct if you have several devices trying to get online at the same time in one room it will keep kicking you off the system. Our pool opens between the last week of April and the first week of May. Other than the WIFI and pool not being open we...

Johnson City, United States
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Pleasantly surprised at the size and comfort of the room. It was a small apartment with a living/dining room separate from the bedroom. Kitchenette area had a full sized refrigerator rather than an under-counter type, along with a sink and countertop suitable for fixing snax or reheating a meal in the microwave. A pocket door separated the living area from...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Letha W
Carrie C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Wow, that's a wonderful description of the rooms!! When you come back make sure to book ocean view so you will be high enough to see over the dunes. Can't wait to see you again.

New Hamshire
Reviewed 19 April 2016

No complaints. Fantastic, ocean front location. Had a balcony looking directly at the ocean. Nice sandy beach just steps away. Average but adequate breakfast selections included with room including hot items

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManyMilesLogged
Carrie C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Very clean efficient property within walking distance of event . absolutely no problems would recommend great value for off season. Checking was quick room was large with a full size refrigerator . Pool was still closed but hot tub was open hot and clean greedy after the run

 Report
Helpful?
Thank honeypup
Carrie C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

So happy you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gretna, United States
Reviewed 18 April 2016

we were trying to enjoy our first real getaway in years to celebrate our 21st anniversary. We chose the hotel because of the penthouse suite and beachfront location. No smoking is a given. When we arrived the room smelled heavily of smoke, there were cigarette butts on the balcony, we had to spend the first night with the patio doors...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
Carrie C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Unfortunately housekeeping did miss cleaning the patio and removing the cigarette butts.

Hewitt, United States
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Good value but needs a few minor repairs and upgrades. Rooms are clean, internet is slow, elevator is slow, but location is excellent. This is our second visit to this hotel. We were not as satisfied this time. The free breakfasts were very good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne R
Carrie C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We hope you enjoyed your stay and will come back and give us another try soon.

Gibsonia, United States
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Great place to stay, pleasantly surprised at the rooms and the breakfast was outstanding. The staff was as helpful as they could be because it seemed as if they were short staffed at the time of our stay but all and all was great. Would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
Carrie C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

What a great review, thank you!! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to see you again soon.

429 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (222)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Two Room King Suite (Side View) (36)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (Ground Floor Dune View) (23)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (Oceanfront Dune View) (38)
Viewed
Two Room Two Double Suite (Ocean - Pool View) (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.5 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
777 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,132 reviews
1.9 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
10.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
29.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: €77 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go doe the oceanview.”
 of 5 bubbles Curiousone20, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The hotel lacks really bad rooms. In general, upstairs and direct ocean frontage is best”
  • Sunrise
  • Suite living room w Murphy bed. Bedroom is at rear.
  • Suite living room
  • Main sink (there's another behind the door)
 of 5 bubbles davidmR4183QL, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmF5887IJ, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms above the second floor appear to have a sea view. Ask to be away from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles rich201, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get highest ocean view room available to enjoy the view of the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Aero999, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5