We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages

Save
Share
264 Dillard Road, Highlands, NC 28741
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
PricelineUS$119
Expedia.comUS$120
Hotels.comUS$120
Agoda.comUS$119
eDreamsUS$119
CheapTicketsUS$120
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 7 hotels in Highlands
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages is nestled by a small mountain stream and lake only 2 blocks from Main Street in Highlands, NC. Accommodations include a secluded lob cabin with fireplace, kitchen and Jacuzzi overlooking a small mountain lake, to a suite with some of the same amenities located in the Cedar Lodge, the newest building on the property. If you want a great rate, try one of the Standard Rooms. Free wireless internet access, free continental breakfast on the weekends. We hope to see you soon. "It's Like Coming Home"
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Newspaper
Wifi
Vending machine
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
370Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 129
  • 25
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chris S wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Deluxe Kitchen King Suite Room 23 Very disappointed. Shower had a trickle of water when I tried to get it hot. I asked the front desk have someone look at it. But I guess they never did. So the next time I used it same problem. The bathroom sink drain was clogged. The bed box spring creaked like crazy. The ceiling fan had a weird noise The sofa is old and Dingy. Carpet had a burn on it from an iron. Place is a mess. Would I stay there again. Not worth the $239.00 a night.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Responded 19 Nov 2020
I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. We would have gladly moved you to another room to make your stay one you would have enjoyed. Thank you for alerting us to the water problem in 23 and it has been corrected. I am not sure how to address your other complaints other than we strive to treat our guest as family and would have gladly moved you to another room that might have made your stay more enjoyable. Covid has not allowed us to do various things that we would do each year such as carpet but I am sure you know that. Enjoy your holidays,stay safe and I apologize again that you were not happy with your stay.
Read more
carbopple wrote a review Nov 2020
Charlotte, North Carolina10 contributions4 helpful votes
We really loved this hotel. Huge room with a big jacuzzi tub. Big back porch. Beautiful property. We will definitely return! Words words words so this app will let me submit. Words. Words. Words. 200 words.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Responded 13 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us . We hope to see you again soon. Stay safe and and we wish you a Happy Thanksgiving.
Read more
Kathy C wrote a review Oct 2020
Chesnee, South Carolina9 contributions4 helpful votes
First trip in late spring was great experience. Cute place with excellent staff, good location and reasonable price. That's why we decided to put it on our seasons changing 3-4 times a year list. But last night Jason was on check in duty. Arrived at 3:25 pm, apparently interrupted his game. He actually said for future visits check in is 4pm and I wouldn't need to be hurrying and caring about your needs if you remember that. My part of the conversation was my name and a couple minutes later request for restroom. Sad start! Customer service is my reason for dropping from a 4 to a 2 for Mitchell's Lodge in Highlands
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Responded 13 Oct 2020
I am so sorry that you were not happy with your check in experience. We try very hard to make our guests happy and feel like they are friends when they leave. We do not have a public restroom ,unfortunately because we are a small Lodge. It has been a stressful time for everyone trying to navigate Covid and keep everyone safe. Now, more then ever before it is so important that we deep clean every room when a guest checks out to make sure the rooms are safe for our incoming guests and that the incoming guests respect our 4 pm check in time to allow for this. Thank you for staying and sorry your were not happy with your check in experience and stay safe durin these unprecedented times.
Read more
donster0209 wrote a review Sep 2020
Bend, Oregon4 contributions5 helpful votes
Everything would have been lovely here. Clean, friendly staff, beautiful grounds. Unfortunately the noise level was not what I had anticipated for my four day mountain retreat. Stayed in #18. Morning traffic can be heard from busy road in back. Group of men staying next door. Laughing loudly, cursing and banging door. I will unfortunately not stay here again due to noise level. If you’re looking for a quiet serene place... this is not the one.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Responded 23 Sep 2020
We apologize that you did not have a quiet getaway. Your room was located in the original building built in 1939 and unfortunately sound can be an issue at times. I wish that the other guests would have been more respectful of the people around them. We do offer the Cedar Lodge which was built in 2001 and has improved sound barriers and cabins that are secluded and offer the perfect place for a peaceful and quiet retreat. We hope that you give us another chance .
Read more
kam1829 wrote a review Aug 2020
Atlanta, Georgia26 contributions30 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights for a mini “babymoon”. We were actually supposed to come in February for Valentine’s Day weekend but had to cancel due to a death in the family. The management graciously allowed us to use our prepaid nights as credit, which was super appreciated. Mitchell’s is a great spot! It’s not fancy, and there are definitely some things that could be refreshed, but it’s absolutely perfect if you’re looking for a laid back mountain getaway weekend. I also understand from an earlier review they were planning some renovation projects this year before covid hit, so completely understandable that hindered them a bit. Main Street (the downtown Highlands area) is a super quick walk, 5-10 minutes. The room was very clean and we found the mattress to be comfortable. The continental breakfast was plentiful ... hard boiled eggs, bagels/pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit cups, coffee and juice. We had a great weekend in Highlands and at Mitchell’s Lodge and would definitely stay here again on our next trip!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Thank you for staying with us for your mini" babymoon". We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay . We hope that you will come back with your new bundle of joy so we can meet him or her. We are ready for Covid to be over so we can begin to do projects that we were going to do in 2020 . We hope after your visit to our lovely downtown shops and restaurants that you enjoyed our pavilion and small pond. We hope you and yours stay safe and well and come to see us again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$106 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mitchell`s lodge & cottages hotel highlands, mitchell`s lodge and cottages, mitchells hotel highlands, mitchells motel highlands
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsHighlands
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Highland Excursion (0.8 km), Glen Falls (0.3 km), and Cullasaja River Gorge (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Paoletti, Kilwins Highlands, and Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro.
Is Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Highlands.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sky Valley Overlook (12.9 km).