We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fire Mountain Inn

474 reviews
Save
Traveller (347)
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (21)
Overview
  • Excellent94%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“red thunder”(27 reviews)
“hemlock cabin”(11 reviews)
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Pets Allowed
Accessible rooms
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Fire Mountain Inn
Special Rate: Book Direct for Best Rate
Hotel packages
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (474)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Fire Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
437
18
6
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
437
18
6
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiram and matthewred thunderhemlock cabinget awaymy husband and ieach morningsunset viewtree housepicnic lunchperfect hostshiking trailshelpful hostsgourmet breakfastadirondack chairshighlands areaattention to detailrelaxing weekend
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We can't speak highly enough about our four nights at Fire Mountain Inn. The setting on the edge of the Highlands plateau was lovely, and our western patio (we also had an eastern one) provided us with a stunning view of the sunset each night...More

Thank Linda H
Response from Fire_Mountain, General Manager at Fire Mountain InnResponded 28 August 2017

Linda!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you and Jack stay with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed Satohla in the Inn, with its sunrise and sunset porches, hammock, and native stone fireplace. I...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017

Fire Mountain Inn Highlands NC 5 couples made reservations to stay here for 2 nights during the Aug. solar eclipse because it was in the line of Totality. It turned out to be a very strange place and I would never go back to. 3...More

Thank PelicansFly
Response from Fire_Mountain, Owner at Fire Mountain InnResponded 25 September 2017

We regret that your stay with us resulted in you giving us a poor rating, however your review is very misleading. We may even go so far as to say it is willfully malicious and we do not appreciate your deception. The following is the...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

We can’t stop talking about our wonderful stay at Fire Mountain Inn. The owners, Hiram and Mathew, have not only created a stunning space in a beautiful setting, but also a perfect experience for their guests. Our lodge room was pristine and very comfortable. We...More

Thank Judykarpin
Response from Fire_Mountain, General Manager at Fire Mountain InnResponded 11 August 2017

Judy, it was an absolute pleasure to have you and Ken come stay with us. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time! Mathew will be so happy to hear your amazing review of his menu. It sounds like you really got the...More

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Our second visit was even better than our first. Breakfast every morning was amazing, and we had a perfectly prepared dinner one night as well. We stayed in Spruce this time and LOVED it. The views were amazing, and having another window in the bathroom...More

Thank dollah1
Response from Fire_Mountain, General Manager at Fire Mountain InnResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review. It was absolutely wonderful to have you both back for a birthday celebration! We are so pleased that you enjoyed Spruce and I will pass on your kind words about breakfast and dinner at Fire + Water to...More

Reviewed 23 July 2017

We loved the view from our room, and the terrace during breakfast and dinner. The food was excellent. We really enjoyed our hosts and the intimate social gathering for a special dinner. Hosts should include information about NO AIR Conditioning and gravel roads in the...More

1  Thank ktltravelers
View more reviews
PreviousNext
13456795
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$211 - US$284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$211 - US$284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (347)
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (21)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ginny H
15 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Michael P | Reviewed this property |
I found the coordinates for the top of the hill where the cabins and lodge are located and checked on Google's elevation database. The elevation is 3695 ft. or 1126.3 meters.
1
Vote
tngalatheart
4 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Johnny M | Reviewed this property |
Prepared by a chef. Wonderful food and setting. We will definitely go back.
2
Votes
Lizb653
11 March 2016|
Answer
Response from DebbieS50 | Reviewed this property |
It is my understanding that only the cabins are dog friendly but check with the innkeepers to be sure.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"This is a beautiful mountain Inn not a hotel"
Read review
"Views are better on the sunset side of the resort."
Read review
"Satola with fireplace"
Read review
"While the Satohla room was one of their pricier ones, its size, features and wide open east & west views..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing