We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
755 N Main St, Hendersonville, NC 28792-5079
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TravelocityUS$200
Booking.comUS$202
PricelineUS$202
Hotels.comUS$200
Agoda.comUS$202
FindHotelUS$200
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (78)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Charleston Inn of Hendersonville, North Carolina is a premiere Bed and Breakfast which boasts a rich history in Western, North Carolina. Located on Main Street in Hendersonville, North Carolina, The Charleston affords convenient walking distance to all that downtown Hendersonville has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bowling offsite
Evening entertainment
Foot massage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Happy hour
Wine / champagne
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay
198Reviews4Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 164
  • 25
  • 4
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lanierbill wrote a review 27 Sep
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This Inn was a taste of history. It was built in 1800 and represented what was the best in that era. The hosts, Jeff and Jody, bent over backwards to help ensure that our stay was memorable and enjoyable..We will definitely return in the future to further enjoy its ambience. It is located on the edge of downtown which made it within easy walking range of many of the amenities..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jeff H wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions4 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
My wife and I stayed in a first floor room here in August. The quaint beauty of the Inn and the excellent location speak for themselves. The additional story is the great detail shown by the owners in favor of the guest experience. The way the doors are set up, the power strip under each night table, the quality and accessibility of towels, blankets, pillows, etc. are all so well thought through. This was just a really pleasant experience all the way around. I forgot my cork screw and walked down to the restaurant (after hours) and there on the counter was a bucket of cork screws AND wine glasses. Just seems they had every detail covered. I highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charleston Hendersonville, Owner at The Charleston Inn
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Thank you so much, we love our guests and make sure every little detail is perfect and feels like home during their stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Doug E wrote a review 24 Sep
Easley, South Carolina9 contributions
The Charleston Inn was Excellent! Jeff and Jodi, our hosts, were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast and social hour were always on time and the quality of the food and accommodation was exceptional. This has become our "go-to" getaway to Hendersonville and we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
wsdraperiv wrote a review 16 Sep
Bremerton, Washington1 contribution
Very clean. Great breakfast. Owners most friendly and helpful. We will be most pleased to return here again. And the sooner the better. The antique furnishings and decorations were a joy to walk around and look at. The grounds and exterior lighting were lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charleston Hendersonville, Owner at The Charleston Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you, we're so pleased you loved our beautiful Inn & the antique's. We can't wait until your returned visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Millie P wrote a review 10 Sep
Asheville, North Carolina4 contributions
We have stayed at The Charleston Inn on several occasions and each time has been a pleasure. On the last two trips, we stayed on the first floor, but we have reserved the third-floor suite in the past as well. The rooms are all clean and comfortable and a mix of modern amenities (power strips and modern bathrooms) as well as bedding and lighting to remind one of the past. Their afternoon wine hour with snacks are quite nice with wine from a local winery. The breakfasts are always yummy. We especially enjoy their quiche and their Belgian waffles. We spend a lot of time on the front porch, eating under the umbrellas or rocking and reading in the rockers on the wrap-around front porch. The entrance and accompanying rooms take one back to 1880 and set the stage for the visit. When going out, we were within walking distance of locally owned restaurants and stores and at least two major banks. Amazing innkeepers! We are already planning our next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: First-floor for easy access, second-floor shared balcony, third is very quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine Crowder, Owner at The Charleston Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Millie for your review! We love having you and your husband stay with us. The greatest compliment you can give us is saying you are planning your next trip! We love our regulars. Looking forward to your return visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SherrieARC wrote a review 9 Sep
Greensboro, North Carolina213 contributions100 helpful votes
I am struggling with this review. I was mystified by the accommodations compared to what we paid for the room. Now I see that we paid over $100 more for the night in our room than any other weekend - due to the Apple Festival. I can't blame a business person for jacking up the prices, such is the way of the hotel industry.. but it had my expectations set higher - since I had no idea there was a festival in town... If the room had been regular price I might have been more forgiving. We stayed on the third floor, which was fine - but upon entering the room we were assaulted by an air freshener which we quickly unplugged. It was so overpowering I was nauseous even after putting it in the hallway. It was hot in there, so we turned on the AC.. which was an old window unit that sounded like a freight train. The antique bed squeaked, creaked, and rattled with every movement. There was no reason to complain, because the place was fully booked and we couldn't move. It was too hot without the AC and too loud with it making sleep difficult. The location was perfect - walking distance to plenty of places. There was a good selection of coffee and tea - and a little happy hour. The owners were very friendly and clearly worked hard. There seemed to be a lot of older "regulars" there and the place has amazing reviews.. I guess we just got unlucky.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine Crowder, Owner at The Charleston Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Sherrie....I am sorry you feel like you paid to much for the room. You were made aware of the price before you booked the room. You did stay with us the Saturday night of Labor day weekend. Many of the rooms on Main street rented for close to 500.00 a night and you paid 325.00. So we did not "jack up" the prices but simply stayed in line with the going rate. We did many extras for our guest during this weekend including having wine, beer, sangria, seltzers, and a seasonal cocktail, cheese, dips, and crackers, along with live music during our 2 hour social hour. Which is normally just and an hour. Apple Festival is one of the largest festivals in North Carolina. We had close to 350,000 people here over the 4 day weekend. Our house was built in 1880 and we do not have central air, but the window units are not old. The bed in your room is not an antique and we have never had any complaints regarding that room. We went the extra mile by fixing you and your husband a gluten free breakfast which was not on our planned menu. You were correct about having many "regulars" staying with us. We take that as a great compliment. Many of our guest book their stay for the next year before they leave. We wish you the best luck of next year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad E wrote a review 8 Sep
1 contribution
WOW!! Getting ready to book our 7th trip to this cozy B&B!! The owners Tommy and Kathy make you feel like family. They have a great social hour and an awesome breakfast! We have stayed in 6 different rooms so far and are looking forward to our upcoming visit. It is in walking distance to Downtown Hendersonville where you can shop, eat and listen to live music. We will have breakfast out on the front porch as the cool mountain air arrives with the changing of the seasons. GREAT place to relax and enjoy time away from home! Brad & Andrea
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charleston Hendersonville, Owner at The Charleston Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Our motto here at the Inn is "As always, come as guests and leave as family." We enjoy having you and Andrea and so pleased that you love everything about our beautiful place from the hospitality, social hour, walking distance to downtown and the scrumptious breakfast!. Can't wait until your visit in October!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anissa T wrote a review Aug 2022
Columbia, South Carolina1 contribution
My boyfriend and I stayed one night at the Inn over Memorial Day weekend. The Inn was relaxing and peaceful. We enjoyed the happy hour on the front porch and the yummy breakfast in the morning. We were so close to the downtown area where there were tons of restaurants and shops. We would highly recommend The Charleston Inn if you are looking for a relaxing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charleston Hendersonville, Owner at The Charleston Inn
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Thank you, Anissa! We're so glad you loved the yummy breakfast served each morning, afternoon happy hour, short distance to downtown with lots of places to eat & shop but most of all the relaxation here at our beautiful Inn. Can't wait until your visit on Saturday!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa W wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We have stayed multiple times at this beautiful B&B. Family is very welcoming, lovely front porch for enjoying free happy hour and breakfast! Rooms are all different, you can enjoy a balcony or sunken tub. Cant wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: staff can assist with room amenities- bed size, room size, soaking tub
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charleston Hendersonville, Owner at The Charleston Inn
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Thank you, Lisa! We love all of our guest and especially the ones that keep visiting us regularly throughout the years. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed happy hour, breakfast each morning and our lovely front porch . Can't wait until your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debra C wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
My husband and I just returned from our two night stay. We had such an enjoyable and relaxing time. The inn was clean, inviting, and beautiful. We were given sound advice about local restaurants. We loved being able to walk downtown from the inn. Sitting out on the porch with coffee in the morning and wine in the evening made this my happy place. Breakfast each morning was delicious. Social hour in the afternoon was a real treat!! We plan on a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charleston Hendersonville, Owner at The Charleston Inn
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Thank you for staying with us, Debra! We're so glad you loved our beautiful Inn, wonderful location to downtown, scrumptious breakfast and happy hour in the evenings. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$167 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Claddagh Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsHendersonville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Charleston Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Charleston Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mast Store (0.3 km), Mineral & Lapidary Museum (0.4 km), and Appalachian Pinball Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Charleston Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Charleston Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Charleston Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Charleston Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dandelion Eatery, Kilwins Hendersonville, and Postero.
Is The Charleston Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Hendersonville.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Charleston Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Charleston Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Carl Sandburg Home National Historic Site (5.2 km).
Is The Charleston Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.