We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Breakwater Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Breakwater Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Breakwater Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Quaint hotel overlooking the sound made a lovely January weekend retreat to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Inn keeper went out of her way to make sure we were checked in and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tbird56gal
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at Breakwater Inn over New Year's Eve 2013. Business was slow so the office was closed when we got there (6:30 pm, +/-), but they had left a key in the designated place. The room was easy to find and as advertised. Nothing fancy, just a good, clean room on the second floor with a view of the marina...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank djewell48
illinois
Reviewed 11 November 2013

this was my second time at breakwater,stayed in the fishermans quarters this time.it was clean and comfortable. not as fancy as the other building but not as expensive either. i'm here for the fishing,just need a place to collapse.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank idapaul
Lexington, Virginia
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Breakwater Inn in early October again, our 2nd stay in the last five years. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, nicely decorated. The pillows were nice and soft and the beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were fully equipped with shampoo, soaps, creams etc. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on Wednesday as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Explore-it
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband nor I have never written a review before on any accommodations, however this stay was so disappointing to the point of disgust and sadness, that we were moved to write, as so many people go by these reviews, as we checked these reviews before we went, and because of them decided to stay at Breakwater....well, it broke us...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Reston L
breakwaterinn, Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

The Breakwater Inn sincerely apologizes for your disappointing stay. We try very hard to give our guests a positive experience with a clean and enjoyable room. Our entire staff is eager to correct any problems that our guests have and I only wish we had known upon check-in of your dissatisfaction. We do make a point to inspect the rooms...

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had originally booked the fisherman quarters but when we checked it we decided to opt for the soundside double. So happy with the room! We had our three children with us and it was enough room for all of us. Durning our stay 2 of our children came down with the stomach bug...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trvlmilfam08
Millville, New Jersey
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The location is wonderful...on the water, overlooking a small marina in a quiet part of town. Each room has it's own balcony with wooden, Adirondack style chairs and a table...perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and the sunset. We were lucky enough to watch a fishing boat come in and see the 100+ fish they caught being unloaded onto...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pasrts4046
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here fairly often over the last few years and have always enjoyed the fishermans quarters where we can take our dog. I have recommended it often - though it is no frills - the location is great and the rooms have always been clean. This time I felt like the rooms really needed some attention and I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smotley
Inman, South Carolina
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had excellent service from all. They worked with us to satisfy our needs. We stayed the week following Christmas. We enjoyed all our time in this property. The condo was equipped with everything we needed. We will definitely choose this Inn when we go back to Hatteras.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stoilk
Roanoke, VA
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The last time we stayed in the Fisherman Quarters, I had nothing but raves. This second and final time we will ever stay here again was horrendous!! First of all, they claim they have free Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi in the visitor's handbook says it is inconsistent. It should say Non-existent. Never got a signal the whole stay. If we got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silentmystic
breakwaterinn, Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. The Breakwater Inn values the opinions of our customers and always appreciates feedback. We strive to offer our guests a clean and comfortable stay and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The Fisherman's Quarters Pet Friendly/Smoking room that you chose is a standard motel room. We work hard to keep...

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Deluxe Sound Double Queen Room with Private Balcony (Front) (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Sound King Suite (Front) (35)
Viewed
Fisherman's Quarters - Queen Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
12.3 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
16.5 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
16.9 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
285 reviews
0.1 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
2 reviews
0.0 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Price Range: €112 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakwater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Breakwater Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Marietta, Ohio
Sarasota, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Breakwater Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is worth paying the extra for the harbour view, but beware there are no elevators”
 of 5 bubbles hojo1892, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a water view room.”
 of 5 bubbles jackgriff, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“I liked the view from the 3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles lakeyaemason, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Pick the top floor for your stay”
 of 5 bubbles herv_b231, 29 Nov 2015 | Read review
“understand the difference between main hotel and fisherman quarters”
 of 5 bubbles JVSibley, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5