We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Colonial Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Colonial Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Start your review of Colonial Inn
 Click to rate
Gastonia, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The majority of the review talk about how clean the rooms are. They are not joking. It is very hard to find any dirt. You will have to search. The beds are very comfortable and the pillows are fine. We had the King room and the bed felt bigger than ours at home. We slept like rocks. The one review...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeewoman
Clarkston, Michigan
Reviewed 4 January 2017

My family planned to be in town earlier then we arrived. It was late and we came across Colonial Inn. Nice rooms, friendly staff, reasonable prices. The rooms were spacious, clean and quite. I do plan to return this coming summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank utsler
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Reviewed 4 January 2017

The facilities are ok, a bit dated but clean. Location is great, don't forget to visit the dry falls on the road to Highlands...better in winter than summer. Ask the owner for any advice about the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matteo P
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I was so excited to find this pet-friendly room in Franklin. It's not modern or sleek, but it had everything we needed in a place to sleep while visiting relatives in Franklin. There is a mini fridge and a microwave and the room was clean and comfortable. The tv and wifi worked easily. The Thai restaurant down the street was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiegd
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Franklin, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We rented a cabin in Franklin, NC and we decided to come to Franklin four days prior to getting in our cabin. We stopped at the Colonial Inn and looked at a room, spoke with management and decided to stay here until we could go to our cabin. We stayed here all four days and was very happy with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthfowler2010
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

My first impression of The Colonial Inn was that it was very dated in decor, I don't think it has been redecorated since the 1980s. Don't let the decor put you off though, as this motel was the cleanest I've seen recently - the bed was ridiculously comfortable and the shower was great. Something to note is that the card...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara D
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Reviewed 8 November 2016

along the countryside with dark fast approaching and no room reserved anywhere. We were given the number to the Colonial Inn and were able to obtain a room at last minute. Being that it was dark and we were not familiar with our surroundings and have no GPS, we had to call the office several times for directions. Everyone there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Homosassa, Florida
Reviewed 7 November 2016

The Colonial Inn is a great place to stay at a great price. The price was so reasonable, that I was leery of staying there. But, after reading the reviews, I booked a room and was not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were given access to wi-fi, coffee in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roseiacovella70
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This is an older property and I expected an average or poor experience as I usually stay in higher in properties. The owner was courteous and kind, even though I showed up after hours (11pm) to check in. Room was clean, bathroom was spotless and bed was comfortable. Very pleasant experience from an owner who really cares about his business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wdmiller99
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

tamj999
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We only stayed one night passing thru, but it was a comfortable place. Close to lots of eating places and in nice area. The room was dated but good for price. The only issue we had was the heat/air unit was up high and had to climb on chair to turn it on. I found that strange.. But overall room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamj999

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
3.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
7.2 km away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 12 in Franklin
572 reviews
7.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#6 of 12 in Franklin
36 reviews
17.0 km away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
85 reviews
29.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Colonial Inn Franklin is located near many of North Carolina's most appealing sites such as the Smokey Mountain Center for the Performing Arts, Scaly Mountain, Sheffield Mine, Gold City Amusement and the Great Smokey Mountain Railway. This Hotels affiliate offers guests free high-speed wireless internet access, free parking, seasonal outdoor pool, fax/copy service, guest laundry and pets are accepted with additional charges in select rooms only.Online reservation customer need to call for availability of pet friendly room ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3157 Georgia Rd, Franklin, NC 28734-7343
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Price Range: €47 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colonial Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Franklin, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Old fashion motor court style. The rooms farther from the main road would be better.”
 of 5 bubbles roseiacovella70, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nice more-for-your-money spot”
 of 5 bubbles 483travism, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All first floor rooms. A/C units are in the rear of the room so you can sit outside in a rocking chair without the noise.”
 of 5 bubbles benj889, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are on one level”
 of 5 bubbles judygY5801WH, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All on one floor, a few steps to room.”
 of 5 bubbles 165earlg, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5