We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rivendell Cabins

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Rivendell Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rivendell Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 31: English reviews
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 October 2014

After reading some of the reviews, I have to wonder what some folks are looking for in a "mountain cabin". Yes, the road up is gravel and some spots are steep. The road is narrow; but very typical for a true mountain experience. The location is fairly secluded; no crowding from other cabins being on top of you. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dean_Amy-2004
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about our Rivendell Cabins! Sadly, some do not enjoy all we strive to offer here but it is wonderful knowing folks are willing to take a little time and post some good things about our vacation rental cabins. Thank you again, and I hope you'll choose to lodge...

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewed 9 August 2014

No cars should make the trip...very poor road...do not go in your good car..hot tub great... Cabin needs good cleaning...hope it don't rain may not get in..or. out ...can not turn your car around .. Tv poor...cabin is well stock..........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloria Larry D
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. We strive to bring each guest a quality vacation in the mountains and secluded forest area of western North Carolina. I hope you will find a suitable vacation sight for your next visit to our area. Sincerely, Nina

Windber, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My boyfriend and I took our first vacation together at the Rivendell cabins. We stayed in Cedars. We did make it up the hill in my Hyundai Elantra, but after gravel was put down towards the end of our visit it was much more difficult to make it up the hill to the cabin. The cabin definitely needs a good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kali G
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your disappointments in your lodging needs. I will attend to the issues suggested. Thank you for your input. Sincerely, Nina

Manitowoc WI
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The wording said remote, it did not say rugged approach. The last mile is clay and gravel, very narrow and steep. Definitely would not take an ordinary car. Cabin was basically clean but needs a giid deep clean. Upstairs beds and almost all the furniture were bottomed out and worn. It was scary to see the pillows we were using...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jill B
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. I will attend to the issues you suggested. Nina

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in cedars cabin. It was very accommodating and well equipped. The views from the deck are breath taking. We had daily visits from hummingbirds. Keep in mind you are on a mountain top so the drive up and down is not easy terrain. However the dirt road is maintained. The cabin is very clean. You are in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Apeebuns
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We strive to present each guest with an experience of time away from home and stresses of life, exceptional, memorable and rewarding in every way. Located in the Mountains of Western North Carolina, we are also in the woods. The locale is conducive to nature and...

new smyrna beach
Reviewed 8 November 2012

However if comfort and or cleanness is not a issue for you, then this place is for you (rivendell cabin) many many spiders, bath room and bedroom. The road to this cabin was made for a tractor, not a car or small pickup, and forget passing anyone, if you meet a car, you must back up.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lee p
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. We strive to go above and beyond expectations of our guests. I have professional bug control every 3 months to control and we leave bug spray cans for guests if they see some. I hope you find your next stay with us more convenient. Nina

Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Ms.Nina was a very good hostess. The Cabin she gave us was on short notice and for longer than we expected. She helped us out as we were moving here from Florida and House Hunting. Her Dogs were great and were friendly to ours. It was private and peaceful and we will recommend Rivendell to anybody who asks. The cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our cabins. I appreciate your good words and kind heart. Sincerely, Nina

Grant, Michigan
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Rivendell cabin had it all!! Complete kitchen (including dishwasher), wrap around porch with incredible views of the smoky mountains, soothing hot tub, washer/dryer, wifi, comfy beds - and the whole extended family could all stay here together!! And the price was cheaper than a hotel!! Nina was the perfect hostess and we knew she was available and knowledgable about things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenie C
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to write a review about your stay at Rivendell Cabins! I appreciate your choice to stay here and I hope you will return in the future. Sincerely, Nina

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The owner came in when we left to bring "sheets", there were several sets of Sheets available and this was not necessary at all. She came in unannounced when we left to go gem mining, letting out our beautiful Maltese. He was in the woods for hours on end alone and scared. In addition the owner left the DOOR open...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rae R
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at Rivendell Cabins. It is my experience that when we write a review or a response to a review, we reveal to the rest of the world who we are. I apologize your stay at Rivendell was not as you expected. I move along in life doing the best I can as...

Longs, SC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Our stay in Cedars cabin was absolutely wonderful. It was quiet and very private. This is a great place for a couple to get away for a special trip. My husband and I loved sitting on the porch overlooking the beautiful view of the mountains. The cabin was very clean and well stocked with linens, soap, dishes, etc. The free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lcoxSC
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Lori, Thank you again for your kindest of words. It is my joy to give a response to people who enjoy what we offer and don't complain about what we don't offer. We know our shortcomings here and appreciate your returns. Writing a review shows who we are as does the response. I see you as genuine and considerate. I...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rivendell Cabins are located in Franklin, North Carolina, in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains. These vacation rentals are located only 4 miles from the Town of Franklin offering secluded, private cabins, not located in a cluster of other cabins. Each of the Rivendell Vacation Cabins is fully furnished with everything to make you feel at home in the North Carolina Mountains. Each vacation rental includes: full kitchen and laundry, paper and soap products, bedding and towels, hot tubs, fireplaces, satellite TV with all channels, central heat and a/c, private phone lines, VCR/DVD and movies, stereo, and so much more. You only need bring your clothes, personal items and foods. We have made every effort to provide an allergy free, convenient and relaxing environment for your vacation. The Rivendell Cabin is handicap accessible. We welcome children and pets. Whenever you visit there is a natural show of wonder that inspires your heart to lift. From the cabins there are views of mountain ranges and beyond, in season, a show of wildflowers, blackberries, elderberries, ginseng, persimmon and the like in the mountains of Western North Carolina. Rivendell Cabins now accept credit cards for your convenience. Contact us today and schedule your vacation in the mountains of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rivendell Cabins

Address: 536 Henderson Road, Franklin, NC
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: €93 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rivendell Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rent a cabin with a better owner”
teonnag, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bring hiking boots. Clay all around and steep hills.”
JillB588, 21 Jun 2014 | Read review
“This cabin will if you stay here will show your class of hotels (cabin rental)”
leep157, 8 Nov 2012 | Read review
“This place is also very elevated and a little dangerous!”
RaeR948, 28 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Just give Nina a call she's realnice to talk to”
  • Our veiw from the porch of the Evenstar
BruceandAmberE, 1 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5