We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Durham/University Area NC

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Super 8 Durham\/University Area NC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Durham/University Area NC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Decatur, Georgia
Reviewed 5 October 2015

this was one of the places i put on the never to return to list run was not clean bugs ect i took photos of my run and the old and broken unclean things in the hotelroom to look like it did i would have think it was going for $10 a night not the deal it was ran for...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank san2niot
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay with us here at Super 8 Durham. Please know that we did our very best in rectifying the issues you outlined to us in your review. Since you left your comments I have personally been working with my housekeeping staff every day to ensure that we are...

Durham NC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

The front desk staff is very polite and very quick to attempt to solve any problems. There's not people hanging out, which I appreciate. This is the only place I would stay in Durham NC. It's reasonably priced but not a trashy motel. The only complaint I have is that they cud offer a better breakfast, add sum waffles and...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hopem267
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We are pleased to hear that you left our hotel satisfied. It is an honor to hear that you chose to stay at our location any time you're in the Durham area. We strive to provide the upmost and professional customer service in the industry. We also train our housekeepers to have an eye like a hawk...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaroslawr524
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Severn
Reviewed 30 July 2015

This hotel was cheap - and there is a reason why. This was probably the worst Super 8 hotel that I have ever stayed in. The TV didn't work (found out the next day they were installing cable - they could have told me that when we checked in), the handles were hanging off of the night stand (a simple...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Pam, We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during you last stay. You are absolutely right in the fact that we should have mentioned at check in about our cable services being changed. This is a learning lesson for myself and my team and we would like to thank you for your business and we hope you...

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Starr S
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmW8968NY
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Chicago, Il Area
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank William R Gary W
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Chapel Hill
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Melissa at the front desk was very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericplow1
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Eric, Thank you for the kind words on your most recent stay. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel to be the "most bang for your buck". Our job is to provide excellent service and a clean and comfortable room without breaking our pockets. As a General Manager I love nothing more to hear that one of...

Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M7959XKjohnk
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Reviewed 8 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel takes money out off ur account without telling u for something that didnt happen they have people cookin in the yard they have bedbugs in the rooms they cater to the Mexicans they work on cars in the parking lot they have a food truck on the property they need to close this place ASAP not good at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tanya921
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Valued Customer, We are sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory. Our goal is to provide customers with a clean and comfortable room. We are continuously working to make sure that we do what is necessary to address the issues outlined in your feedback. I am personally working with our housekeeping team to ensure they are doing their...

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 70 in Durham
47 reviews
3.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
1.4 km away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Super 8 Durham/University Area NC

Address: 2337 Guess Rd, I-85 Exit #175, Durham, NC 27705-3342
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: €46 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Durham/University Area NC 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Durham/University Area NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Durham
Super Eight Durham
Durham Super Eight
Durham Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Durham/University Area NC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Yes, flat screen TV and Wifi, but neither of them worked.”
 of 5 bubbles 426brucem, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for directions to another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Flash_McDirt, 7 May 2013 | Read review
“Simple! Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles 724ashleys, 17 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles srswann, 26 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Like to sleep under the stars? Ask for room 115. When you turn out the lights at the end of the night, YOU ARE IN FOR A SURPRISE.”
 of 5 bubbles 686RobertC, 22 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5