We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

For the price, you really can't beat this place. It is good value for the price. If you are on a budget, this is the place for you. You just have to consider the other types of guests who are also on a budget and you can't control. They may be loud, have arguments in the parking lot, etc. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wishflower
Davis, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I were visiting our son and, unexpectedly, we ended up here. For two nights, we paid a total of $120, which was a quarter of the price of what we paid for subsequent days in a more august hotel. What we got though was not a quarter of the other place's value. The place is renovated and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cali40rn1a
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

For a quick overnight stay with no fuss or extras, you can't beat it! We needed a quick room to sleep on a car trip and found this Red Roof Inn. Pretty clean, VERY nice staff. You can't beat it. You can get a hairdryer at the desk and they have coffee but not much else outside of vending which... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenMcG_09
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this Inn with my boyfriend. I must say we really enjoyed our self and our housekeeper Ashley M. She was very nice and helpful. I will come back just to get away again. We loved how clean the room was and the smell was great too.

Helpful?
Thank DC K
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Good evening very happy, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your recent stay at our location. I will share your experience with Ashley M. and staff members. It is our hope that we will be able to meet any future travel accommodation when you return to the Durham area. Thank you... More 

Elverson, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

My family was in Durham visiting Duke University for the weekend and reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights at the Red Roof Inn - Durham. We arrived very late on Friday, actually after midnight on Saturday. Checkin was through a security window rather than at the reception desk. Although we made our reservation through an online booking site that gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank David D
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Good evening Attention to Detail, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies. I apologize again for the miscommunication of your room being checked out. As a safety measure I... More 

Arden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Nice rooms with microwave and fridge, but no hair dryer! Tasia at the front desk was delightful. Lot's of gas, restaurants and groceries nearby, all 24 hours. They have Durham police on patrol for safety, very reassuring.

Helpful?
Thank Ernest B
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Good evening Great Location, I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with Tasia and the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I had a bad experience the first time I stayed here, but after being contacted the manager have gone back to stay every time I'm in the area. Generally, the rooms are reliably clean, in decent condition, and quiet--which is all you can expect for the price. The clientele can be a bit rough, but traveling alone as a woman... More 

Helpful?
Thank BethAnn01
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Good evening Good Value, I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. Thank you for letting us know we were able to turn a bad experience into a positive one. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

My experience with hotels in Durham is that nice hotels are generally expensive and inexpensive ones tend to be not so nice. The trick then is to find that sweet spot where the hotel is nice and affordable at the same time. After being priced out of my usual favorite, we took advantage of my wife's corporate discount and found... More 

Helpful?
Thank petercV6255AI
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Hello Great Value, I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of... More 

Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Even though the light above the sink was not working and I had a hard time getting an eyelash out of my eye, the front desk lady was nice and listened attentively which I appreciate very much. This is a rare property at budget price which does not have a hard time letting go of old and dirty carpet, there... More 

Helpful?
Thank GreatFoodisHeaven
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all... More 

1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Environment is so so, a little noisy because it's pretty close to the highway. The beds are a bit small to co-sleep with kids. There is no continental breakfast provided. If you have a tight schedule, this might end up taking some extra time to get ready in the morning. Service was OK. They were nice and flexible.

Helpful?
Thank sandy s
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all... More 

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#36 of 72 in Durham
40 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
1.3 km away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
2.6 km away
Brookwood Inn Durham
Brookwood Inn Durham
#33 of 72 in Durham
288 reviews
3.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center

Address: 1915 North Pointe Drive, Durham, NC 27705
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: €49 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Hotel Durham
Durham Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#12 Business Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Wake Forest, North Carolina
7 months ago
2 months ago
2 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the back of the hotel and second floor if you're a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles BethAnn01, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a RediCard and ask if there are Superior Rooms available for a free upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles petercV6255AI, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“These are outside entry rooms (no inside hallways) with odds and evens on separate sides of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Chazty, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the same side as the front office, balcony floor. Enough woods to feel like you're in a "nature" situation.”
  • Nicely renovated rooms and hardwood floors
 of 5 bubbles laura4136, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have microwave/refrigerator. Not all rooms have in room coffee maker. So be sure to check if your room has these.”
 of 5 bubbles Tatar59, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay