We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barrier Island Station - Duck

356 reviews
Save
Traveller (285)
Room & Suite (93)
Pool & Beach (42)
Overview
  • Excellent11%
  • Very good28%
  • Average31%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“snack shack”(13 reviews)
“rec room”(10 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (356)Write a Review
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
40
101
105
66
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
40
101
105
66
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnack shackexterior renovationsrec roomcoffee filtersflights of stairsrecreation centerping pongolder unitstop floorwasher dryergreat beachnice resortcurrituck soundbit datedsmall refrigeratoroff seasonflat screen
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived in our unit, we had to open all of the windows - the smell of Fabreeze would knock you down in your tracks! It was obviously covering up the mildew smell that came right afterward. The unit was old and dated. The...More

Thank Tina H
Response from Thomas Y, General Manager at Barrier Island Station - DuckResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Tina H! Thank you for your review! Yes, our resort does have a lot of stairs. We have made it a point to make sure we advertise the resort having a lot of stairs because we know they can be very difficult for some...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Step back into the 70s with this condo, no updates and very poorly maintained. Was so cold in living room had to put couch cushions over window ledges and door frame to block cold air coming in. Carpets were worn with holes and dirty. Linoleum...More

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
1  Thank Cathy S
Response from Thomas Y, General Manager at Barrier Island Station - DuckResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cathy, Can you tell me what unit you stayed in, what dates and what company you booked your stay with? Thanks

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved the view from our balcony. The area was beautiful and quaint. However our condo was dirty and we checked in the day before Christmas Eve and the condo had one roll of spare toilet paper and no necessary supplies. So if you stay...More

Thank Cynthia R
Reviewed 12 January 2018

The location was great. Veiws awesome. Most of the fixtures were severely outdated. Cabinets and counters looked to be from the 70s. All kitchen items were mismatched but you had a nice supply and selection to cook anything. Since we were there for off season...More

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
Thank Lttmom
Response from Diane F, Manager at Barrier Island Station - DuckResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the resort. We are glad you enjoyed the location and the views. We are sorry that the Recreation center was having issues during your visit. we have had unseasonably cold weather and a large snow...More

Reviewed 28 December 2017

The units were nice but required a lot of stair climbing (no elevators). Property was very large with limited parking on the beach side. So if someone could not walk hills or distances, it would be hard to get to the beach. Location on the...More

1  Thank JeanOhl
Response from Diane F, Manager at Barrier Island Station - DuckResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for the review of the resort. We understand your frustration in the moving of units, however this being a deeded timeshare resort. Other owners own the next week in the unit you were in. RCI does not have open availability in the resort....More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345672
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Tennis Court
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$87 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$87 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (285)
Room & Suite (93)
Pool & Beach (42)
Dining (9)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Familyvacayreview
10 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Diane F | Property representative |
Hello, We will have our Rental Manager Angela reach out to you to give you the availability. We will email the address you provided.
0
Votes
Judy L
14 December 2017|
Answer
Response from wg2065 | Reviewed this property |
You would need to call the resort staff to inquire. There re A & B sides to all units. In the building I was in the A side had 2 bedrooms full kitchen and B side had one bedrm partial kitchen. To get three bedrms you try to... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
1234567
Room Tips
"Don't get a room on the 3rd floor. The stairs are more like 4 to 5 flights."
Read review
"Lots of stairs. Make sure everyone can use stairs."
Read review
"Recommend unit with full kitchen unless you eat out regularly. Do not stay at this resort unless can handle..."
Read review
"Don't get a 1 bedroom B unit - and there are three floors and no elevator."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing