We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Esmeralda Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Esmeralda Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Esmeralda Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 534: English reviews
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

This place is way too expensive for what they offer. The entire building echoes, including the pool game being played at 8 am. There is no coffee makers or refrigerators in the individual rooms. Coffee is only available 7:30 to 10 am. Ice is only available "upon request." We paid extra for a private balcony. Don't waste your money. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fraymeg
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for the feedback from your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your visit. Maybe you would enjoy the privacy of one of our cabins with your next visit with us. They come with coffee makers, refrigerators and more amenities as they are larger and can...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I have been to the Esmeralda Inn in Chimney Rock twice now for lunch. It was wonderful. The first time I had catfish and the second time I had an oyster poor boy. They have a top class chef and I understand an expert in French pastry. It's certainly worth the trip down Hwy 64 from Hendersonville.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blouise2016
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about your visit with us in our Restaurant. We are glad that you have come several times. Please visit us again soon. We are open year around for dinner services, Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 - 9:00 pm. See you again soon. Don & Kim Cason

Georgetown, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Spent only one night, during the week. Room was clean, beds were comfortable. I will have to say that the staff was extremely pleasant. Answered questions, and were just plain nice to talk with...Got a little hot during the night, but opened a window and enjoyed a cool mountain breeze. Sat on the second veranda before breakfast with coffee, it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cowgaldew
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are so glad that you enjoyed our amenities and beauty hear in Chimney Rock. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Don & Kim Cason

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay! A beautiful, rustic little inn! They had lots of games and things to do in the game room! The breakfast was delicious! My only concern was that the Windows in our room seemed to be sealed closed. Fire hazard?? Not sure about NC fire safety codes... Loved the visit though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan And Karen S
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Sorry you had trouble with the windows. They have 2 latches top and bottom of window. They both must be in the open position to open the windows. Our guest love to open and roll the windows...

Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We stopped in for dinner - it went beyond all expectations! Everything was prepared with care, and perfection. One of the best meals I've had in a long time. Staff was helpful, and knowledgeable of the menu. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about our restaurant at The Esmeralda Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed and tasted the passion our Chef prepares in our meals here. We hope that you can visit us again soon. We are offering Winter Specials. Hope to see you soon. Don & Kim Cason

Laurens, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I looked this place up a long time ago and I was excited to finally be able to surprise her with a night away. All I can say is they do a great job with their advertising and photos because it's nothing like what you see on here. Unless you get one of the few decent rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Doug C
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. Being the size property that we are our restaurant is closed on Sunday & Monday all year long. We are sorry that you were disappointed with that. I am not sure why you were not able...

Hoschton, Georgia
Reviewed 1 September 2016

My husband and I stayed here two nights while celebrating our 50th anniversary. We had Room 102 with a balcony. The room is casual and the king bed was comfy. The room is fairly large as is the bathroom. Wished it had two sitting chairs instead of one. The pedestal sink in the bathroom didn't give much room for your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norma W
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us for your 50th anniversary! Thanks again and we hope that you will return again soon. Kim & Don Cason owners

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We wanted a relaxing one-night getaway to the NC Mountains and decided on the Esmeralda Inn, since we had not visited Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. The Esmeralda Inn fit the bill perfectly. This is a well-run, efficient and lovely inn with careful attention to details. The proprietors are friendly and have ingrained their values in their staff. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lana F
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are pleased to know you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us and believe our staff is the best! Thank you again and hope to see you soon! Kim & Don Cason owners

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Stayed at the Esmeralda Inn for one night. Staff was very friendly and room was very clean! Bed slept like a dream and their breakfast was so delicious! Would definetly go back. Game room on 2nd floor with pool tables, scrabble, air hockey and card table.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdorociak
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again and we hope that you will return again soon. Kim & Don Cason owners

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My husband surprised me with a special romantic trip to the Esmeralda Inn. He booked the Honeymoon Cottage with Adventure Package complete with horseback riding(Cedar Creek Stables),picnic lunch(delicious) and a 50.00 credit towards dinner. The food, service and staff at the Esmeralda were exceptional. I really appreciate local, organic, healthy foods, well prepared and I was not disappointed. The cookies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taggred
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We really appreciate you guys spending your 18th wedding anniversary with us and hope we see you soon! Kim & Don Cason Owner

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (210)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
3.3 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.9 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
101 reviews
23.5 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 km away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
31.4 km away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
32.0 km away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#6 of 62 in Asheville
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Price Range: €153 - €412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Esmeralda Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Gastonia, North Carolina
23 days ago
Maryville, Tennessee
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Esmeralda Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with king beds are rather small. Once we stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and it significantly more room to move around.”
 of 5 bubbles ncburkett1, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the third floor offer the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles CAB10900, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the road side look out over the mountain and the river.”
 of 5 bubbles Cowgaldew, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 102 is large with a king bed, has a balcony & views of Chimney Rock.”
  • View of Chimney Rock from Room 102.
 of 5 bubbles HotLantaLady, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed our terrace room, which we booked based on others' recommendations.”
 of 5 bubbles 562lanaf, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay