We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Charlotte Center City

Show Prices
#32 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Panoramas (29)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Charlotte Center City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,277: English reviews
North Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I love this hotel. The accommodations are impeccable and the location can't be beat. It's worth paying a little more to stay on the executive level, although I'm surprised a complimentary drink isn't included as it is with Embassy Suites. Other than that, no complaints at all.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MTCBells
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review

Dear MTCBells, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the views from our Executive Lounge. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Charlotte. Sincerely, Lee Taintor Director of Operations Hilton...

Reviewed 21 March 2016

We stayed here for a convention at the convention center right next door, primarily because of it's location. The check-in process was very quick and efficient and the people there were all super friendly. However when we got to our room, it smelled of cigarette smoke something awful. We called back down and were told that they would send someone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rocmartin2003
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review

Dear rocmartin2003, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay but sincerely sorry for the condition of your first room. Our Housekeeping department should have identified any issues with your room and had them addressed prior to your arrival. I...

Rosedale, New York
Reviewed 20 March 2016

As soon as I arrived at the Hilton Charlotte Center City, I was greeted by a warm and welcoming receptionist at the front desk. She immediately inquired about my travels and, when I told her that I was eager to relax by going for a swim, she readily moved me to a room closer to the third floor YMCA Fitness...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaRose P
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review

Dear LaRose P, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and had such great interactions with our team and were able to take advantage of the YMCA. The Y was recently renovated and it is a great amenity that...

Stuart, Virginia
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Every member of the staff I met was super attentive. Remodeled guest rooms very modern & comfortable. Even though still remodeling the common areas, the staff easily made up for any inconvenience. Also great spot to walk to everything downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M1835MDtimh
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review

Dear M1835MDtimh, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had such positive interactions with our team. Our team is what makes our Hilton unique; we take great pride in ensuring each and every one of our guests has nothing...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Booked a group for a wedding. Rooms were on 5 different floors, no where near each other. Air conditioning did not work despite repeated pleas to desk. Little things wrong, no knobs on lamps, pistachio shell under bedside table, etc. Most folks at desk unresponsive. Not concerned about our complaints. For. $200 + a night and $18-25 for parking, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fmj2014
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review

Dear fmj2014, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am truly sorry for the experience you had and all the issues during your stay. We take great pride in our hotel and services and I am very disappointed we did not come close to meeting our...

Denver, United States
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Great experience for an extended stay during the convention. Beds and pillows are a bit soft, but another co-worker called down and got different pillows. Problem solved. Staff was fantastic during every portion of the stay.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassi P
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review

Dear Cassi P, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay during your convention. Our rooms are appointed with hypo-allergenic down pillows but we do have foam pillows available upon request. We hope to see you again in the near...

Eastvale, California
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I stayed at this hotel because of a business trip and I'm so glad I did. It is located in the middle of the city where everything is within walking distance. The staff was courteous and the room was very clean and updated.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky Y
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review

Dear Vicky Y, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the “uptown” Charlotte has to offer. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Lee Taintor Director of Operations Hilton Charlotte...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Nice room, polite staff, and service you expect from a hotel of this caliber. The staff are willing to help and very polite, however the internet is slow. At the same time if you use the fitness centre be aware that you will have to enter from the adjacent building as the connecting door is not opened by the security...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary 6 B
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review

Dear Gary 6 B, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and had such great interactions with our team. As for our fitness center, we have a partnership with the YMCA which is accessible via the indoor walkway between...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Brought my own HDMI cable so I could watch Netflix on the in-room TV from my laptop. Turns out they have electronically blocked all external video and force you to pay $17 per movie. Front desk confirms they have removed this functionality from TVs. I was at a Marriott two weeks ago that not only allowed me to connect my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review

Dear Brian J, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am sincerely sorry that you were not able to connect your laptop device to our TV. Unfortunately what the team member told you is not quite accurate. We do not intentionally block devices from being connected....

Irvine, California
Reviewed 8 March 2016

The hotel is in a great location. Just a few steps from dozens of bars and restaurants. The rooms seem to be refurbished (or kept at great condition). The size of the room I stayed in (King bed) was definitely smaller than a other ones I have stayed in, but that wasn't a big issue for me personally (if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parham007
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review

Dear Parham007, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the YMCA. The Y has been recently renovated and is a great amenity we are able to offer our guests complimentary. I hope...

541 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (110)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (196)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Hospitality Level Suite (38)
Viewed
King Executive Room (24)
Viewed
King Executive Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Two Double Bed Executive Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#30 of 176 in Charlotte
1,466 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax at the Hilton Charlotte Center City hotel and enjoy our downtown location. Our Charlotte hotel is situated in the heart of the city across from the Charlotte Convention Center, within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and museums. Travel to the hotel from Charlotte/Douglas International Airport in just 15 minutes. Maintain fitness regimens at the local YMCA Health Club featuring the latest cardiovascular equipment, exercise classes and an Olympic-sized lap pool. Wind down in the hotel at the Coastal Bar, enjoying the atmospheric lighting and innovative cocktails. Dine in the Coastal Kitchen restaurant serving American classics with a new Southern twist. Retire to a contemporary Guest room featuring the latest multimedia technology on the 42-inch plasma TV. Get down to business at the work desk with an ergonomic chair or simply relax on the comfortable bed. Choose an executive room or suite for more space, great views of the city, and Executive Lounge privileges including a complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Address: 222 E 3rd St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2315
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Price Range: €125 - €365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Charlotte Center City staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
4 months ago
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Indianapolis, Indiana
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Charlotte Center City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request room away from elevator and high private floors”
 of 5 bubbles jjric, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“don't get a-joining rooms unless you want to feel like you are living together... make sure you are on a quiet floor if you want sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnieMF, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a corner King I've stayed in 615 and this year 915. Larger than a standard King.”
 of 5 bubbles pamz36, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“a lot of room selections, probably get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles jasonaM164LF, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“quiet floors, city views, close to everything”
 of 5 bubbles laurasE577MB, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5