We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown

Show Prices
#41 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 181: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

If you took all the people out, it would be nice. It's clean and nicely decorated. However, the front staff is very rude. When we asked if they accepted credit card for the snack bar, their response was "You seriously need to use a card for that?" It is also $15 to park at the hotel overnight, which was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Courtney S
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Although, you liked our breakfast and clean property, it was disappointing to read that we did not meet all of your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered with our front desk associates as they were not attentive to your needs. We are also sorry that you were unhappy with... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn in July 2015. We were there for the Naftco conference. We stayed here for one week. I cannot say enough good about this place. It was very clean, spacious & comfortable beds. The staff were all so friendly, from the front desk to the shuttle drivers, the breakfast staff, the bar staff & housekeeping.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

It was truly a pleasure to read about you’re one week experience with us at the Fairfield Inn Charlotte Uptown. You, truly, painted a wonderful picture of your stay while you were on your business visit from the start to the finish. We’re always happy to learn that our guests enjoyed our immaculate, spacious accommodations as well as amenities like... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Lobby and pool area are really nice but the rooms are lacking and still outdated. There are no pictures out on this site to see what the rooms look like which left us to book off of reviews. Staff is really nice but lobby area has had high traffic.

Helpful?
Thank Ali G
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback about your stay experience with us. I am glad to know that you loved our remodeled lobby, pool as well as our courteous staff. However, I am sorry that your guest room was not that appealing to you. Your observations and concerns regarding this is much appreciated. Thank you again, we would love to... More 

Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed in this hotel for one night. It was recently renovated. The room was very clean, big, and had a very comfortable bed. The hotel has a tavern with very good quality bar food and drinks. There is also a complementary shuttle that picks up and drops off within a 3 miles radius. This makes it very easy to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Redfurdog
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your overnight stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your immaculate accommodations. We appreciate your comments regarding our courteous staff who took great care of you and that our shuttle service proved to be excellent for your... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I needed a hotel room near the Nascar Hall of Fame so my son could walk there, and a place close for me to drive to Carowinds Amusement Park. I found this gem in Charlotte and had an awesome experience. The hotel is located in downtown Charlotte and close to everything. The hotel looks to be newer and was richly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Calizio
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your gracious feedback for Fairfield Inn Charlotte Uptown. I am extremely delighted you had a flawless stay from the start to the finish. It gives me immense pleasure that you were impressed with everything from our well maintained décor, your accommodations, complimentary services and our wonderful staff. Thank... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2015

I stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights and loved it. The decoration and setup was a surprise for me being this North Carolina it was very nice. I had dinner twice at the hotels bar and it was very good. They have a good selection of IPA beers which a good. The room was clean and with great decor.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miguel H
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a fantastic business trip! We like to ensure that our business guests' visits are both enjoyable and productive. I am glad that you were impressed with our property and also with the convenience of our location. I am happy to read your room was impeccably clean, you relished the food at our bar and appreciated... More 

Kingston, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Recently stayed here, over the weekend for a concert at the Time Warner Cable Arena. We only stayed one night, however they made a great impression on us. The staff was so kind and helpful. The woman who checked us in even helped us plan the best walking route to get to the concert. The room was great in size... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kaleigh G
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn Charlotte Uptown for your overnight accommodations and sharing your wonderful experience with us. It was a pleasure to read that our associates were able to impress you, especially my front desk associate who took great care of you along with the exceptional service during your stay. I have shared your comments with them... More 

Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015

we stayed two nites. for price room was small. noise at nite with fire and ambulance was very annoying. Room heat unit and cooling would not leave the fan on continous as this would have helped hide noise at 2 am and 4 am. bedding was comfortable. bath was up dated room was clean. too noisy.. and small for price... More 

Helpful?
Thank Randy B
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us recently for your accommodation needs and for the candid feedback of your two nights stay. We are glad you liked our clean accommodations, comfortable beds, the breakfast we served, as well as, the facilities we had to offer. However, I am sorry for the noise issue you encountered and for the inconvenience it caused. Regarding... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I would first like to state how nice of a property this is, the location is very nice in central uptown Charlotte. They have a shuttle service that will take you anywhere in a three mile radius of the hotel, and it runs from 7 am to 11pm. The shuttle driver was very nice. My check in was very smooth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ariana M
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte. I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel’s associates. I am very sorry that you feel the interaction with one of our managers was not appropriate. I am confident his only goal in the conversation was to assure that all the guests in the hotel,... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

I visited this hotel before booking for a surprise 40th getaway for my boyfriend because I was interested in seeing the renovations and the amenities. Housekeeping manager Ms. Howze took me up and showed me all the room options including the Presidential Suite which is phenomenal. All the rooms were spotless. I booked and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaShay74
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great response and for the high rating regarding your stay! I am so glad you found our hotel and the restaurant to be of such great value for the price, and enjoyed the food we served. We pride ourselves on offering everything needed and anticipated in a hotel and make it convenient without breaking... More 

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Le Meridien Charlotte
Le Meridien Charlotte
#68 of 180 in Charlotte
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. Our hotel in Uptown Charlotte offers locally craft beer and southern favorites at our on-site restaurant and pub, Q-Tavern! Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown also offers state of the art and innovated meeting spaces. With over 9600 square feet of event space in our Studio 220 facility, our team of meeting and catering professionals are here to help fashion any event you need. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. We hope to see you soon in Uptown Charlotte! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown

Address: 201 S McDowell St, Charlotte, NC 28204 (Formerly Charlotte Plaza Uptown Hotel)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Price Range: €112 - €292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#29 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#38 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on the Interstate side but it was not too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles chefnickbell, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Loved my room at the end of the 9th floor corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles LORIF450, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the north side of the hotel. Suite was large and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Hanoverton1, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms road side were a little noisey”
 of 5 bubbles dee635, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The traffic on McDowell Street is pretty busy. While we were not bothered by the traffic noise, I would ask for a room on an upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 794johnj, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay