We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 301: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Everybody was pleasant and it's clean enough, but when I asked to change tv at breakfast from Fox to CNN, got an absolutely not, policy of the owner. So if you prefer to avoid the propaganda with your am coffee, sleep elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Teresaepfeil
Cathy L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

I'd like to thank you for your review. I am very intrigued by the fact that you or anyone would let a television station determine your level of satisfaction during your stay at any property. We are not in the news business, we are in the business of selling rooms and creating a great guest stay. The news station is... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I check in to this place using my discounted check inn card. Only to find out after i had stayed that my check inn card had gotten declined because i failed to update my credit card information. I my opinion they should have noticed this at the time of check inn. Once they had noticed it, instead on contacting me,... More 

Helpful?
Thank kcsthclck
Cathy L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

I am not going to respond to your review item for item, because we both know that you have totally misrepresented this situation. We stand 100% on our reputation of honesty and service. I trust that o your future trips to Charlotte you will find better accommodations elsewhere. We have resolved your issue with CLC and we wish you the... More 

Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overcharged and the cleanliness of the room was questionable. When called to rectify the overcharge and to informed that I had been charged twice for a bill that had already been settled, the staff were not helpful. The hotel room was spacious but the cleanliness was questionable, hotel sheets had stains and the carpet was old and outdated.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank 31biancaf
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear about your recent stay. We do apologize that were billed twice and that the front desk staff was not very helpful in trying to assist with this. We also want to apologize for the uncleanliness of your guest accommodations. We will make sure to share your comments with the various departments to ensure that... More 

Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel very close to the university. Shuttle service a plus. Shuttle drivers very informative about the area. Front desk clerks very friendly and helpful. We arrived before check in time and the staff went above and beyond to arrange for our room to be prepared.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Maureen I
GuestAdvisory, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Maureen, Thank you for staying with us and your kind words about our hotel. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again, KC General Manager More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If I could give this place a zero I would. I went to check in and the room was not what I expected. Firstly the room I should have had was not ready, the young man assigned to the desk, seemingly the Manager assigned me a room. The room was smelly! I retreated. To top it off it certainly did... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank browninggirlie
GuestAdvisory, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. I have noted some of your concerns and will be addressing them. Thank you for your feedback. KC Link General Manager More 

Rossburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the third year that I have stayed at this property, because I like the room layouts, location, etc. Last year there was construction going on and I had high hopes of sparkling new concept. Didn't happen - the colors chosen are dark and just not cheery or modern. I had a horrible first day with little or no... More 

Helpful?
Thank lab5373
GuestAdvisory, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry about the internet issue as I will look into this further. Our renovation is an ongoing process and we hope the finished product will be pleasing to our guest. I do appreciate the comments on the staff I will pass along your comments... More 

Los Angeles, California, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our multi-day stay at this very nice hotel. It was in a cul de sac so was away from the roaring traffic and the construction that is going on Hwy 29. The room was clean and spacious with comfy beds. Breakfast was good too. Friendly staff. Because we stayed so long, we especially enjoyed the roominess of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
GuestAdvisory, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Vicky, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! Thank you for staying with us. KC Link General Manager More 

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Sleep Inn University Place
#70 of 180 in Charlotte
205 reviews
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place

Address: 131 McCullough Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3306
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range: €84 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites University Place Hotel Charlotte
Country Inn And Suites University Place
Country Inn Charlotte
Country Inn University Place
Charlotte Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“for internet - stay closer to center of hallway”
 of 5 bubbles lab5373, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Utilize their shuttle that will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius. There are plenty of places to eat in the area.”
 of 5 bubbles JerNew901, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Hope you're not assigned a room occupied by a late-checking-out flight crew!!”
 of 5 bubbles JDA95, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with the jacuzzi”
 of 5 bubbles tiffanym163, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you are a freguent traveler as we are, I recommend Hilton Honors or Marriot Rewards”
 of 5 bubbles 413tomc, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay