We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 160: English reviews
Start your review of Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University
 Click to rate
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the price in this area, I expected more, for 140 a night. hotel staff was nice and friendly, but amenities were few and far between. No free breakfast, not even continental or even a pop tart! I stayed 2 nights and wanted them to clean my room and that did not happen. Tried to just get clean towels and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willie W
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review

Hello Willie W, Thanks for writing a review for the Candlewood Suites Charlotte-University, NC. I appreciate that you chose our hotel chain for your lodging needs. I'm glad that you found the WiFi to your liking and that you were delighted with the comfortable bed. Our aim is to meet your expectations as a valued guest, if not exceed them....

Plano, Texas
Reviewed 18 March 2017

I stayed here for a few days and staff was very helpful. Shamica helped me check-in and was courteous and helpful. Rooms were nice and clean. Only problem was that on one of the mornings, when I went down to get coffee, there was no sugar. I think they need to manage their inventory better. Luckily, it was not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adybor
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Stay Report 3/14 - 3/16 Location: The hotel is located on W.T. Harris Blvd (NC-24) a little over a mile from University City Blvd (NC-49) and UNCC. This means within a couple miles is everything you'll need: grocery stores, banks, movie theaters, the post office etc. Downtown Charlotte is about a 15-20 minute drive away and CLT is probably about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Paradise767
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Very please with stay from start to finish. Excellent staff, very clean, all amenities, room fully stocked for a long stay. Towels were clean, bed comfortable, location quiet, no partiers. Perfect for a long term business stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank millie2017
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

It was a comfortable stay But did have dirty towels in the bathroom and the tub wasn't clean well. Very reasonably priced. Comfortable bed. It's near a very good seafood restaurant and pizza joint. Staff was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reeshenah A
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review

Dear Reeshenah A, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are happy to know that you liked our location and we certainly appreciate your nice feedback on our beds. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations regarding the cleanliness of the towels...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Upon checking in I had no bath towels in my room, the next day I noticed my pillow on my sofa was all tore up (it belongs in the trash). I then went to throw something away under the bathroom sink and there was a empty toothpaste box under the sink and the trash was full of garbage and used...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brianecan2n
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review

Dear brianecan2n, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding the condition of the room you were...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I spent a night here, and the bathroom smelled like pure smoke. I didn't want to even take a shower there. In the morning I told the desk guy, and he just oh sorry. Also the hotel was pretty beat up with damaged furniture and walls.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AbrahamIV
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review

Dear AbrahamIV, First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to meet complete guest's satisfaction. However, I regret if your stay was not a complete satisfactory due to the inconvenience the smell of smoke in the bathroom may...

Daegu, South Korea
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel it self was great clean, modern, great staff. Only thing that is keeping me from giving 5 stars is the noise from the street near the hotel. I stayed on a Friday night and there was drag racers next to the hotel from around 11pm-2am I was unable to sleep from the loud noise of tires burning out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingdragon2015
pa
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

The staff was very helpful and friendly. We were in town for a twelve day business trip. We have stayed at Candlewood Suites in the past. We do like the extra space, even in a standard queen room, the kitchenette with a full fridge and freezer. This is a pet friendly hotel so there are no rooms that pets don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phoebendan
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review

Dear phoebendan Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Candlewood Suites Charlotte University, NC. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind...

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a decent place to stay a couple of days on the cheap, this is a great option. The kitchen suite lets you cut costs from eating out, and the room I was in was clean and comfortable. The area around the hotel is fairly quiet, and all the staff I spoke to were friendly and accommodating....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
3.1 km away
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
#77 of 177 in Charlotte
216 reviews
2.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
2.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
11.4 km away
Sleep Inn North Lake
Sleep Inn North Lake
#99 of 177 in Charlotte
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Charlotte-University Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed leather recliner while you enjoy the CD/DVD/VCR player. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work out in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenient store. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We offer complimentary washers and dryers in our on-site laundry facilities. Earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay. Pets Are Welcome with a fee of $50 for the first night, $10 for each additional night, not to exceed $150 per month. Current shot documentation is required. A pet policy must be signed at check in. Housekeeping is provided every 7 days. The Front Desk is open from 7am-11pm with staff available 24 hours a day. The Candlewood Suites is located just 3 miles from I-85 in a quiet area. We are conveniently close to UNCC, The Charlotte Motor Speedway, Research Park, Wells Fargo CIC, Concord Mills Mall, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, The NASCAR Hall of Fame, Bobcats Arena, and the Bank of America Panthers Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University

Address: 8812 University East Drive, Charlotte, NC 28213
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range: €77 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University Hotel Charlotte
Candlewood Charlotte
Charlotte Candlewood Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Salem, Arkansas
20 days ago
Salem, Arkansas
22 days ago
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
over a year ago
United States
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Seek other places!”
218williew, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an end room on the main floor.”
OrlandoVicky, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on back seem to be quiet.”
Robert_Camper, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you are going to stay here and you don't have a pet, MAKE SURE they do not put you in a pet room; request a non-pet room.”
R2675EVashleyh, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get upper floors and park in well lit areas!”
dazeja, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5