We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Show Prices
#26 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

822 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 813: English reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Hotel and room were clean, staff attentive, personable and efficient, Starbucks inhouse and across the street; location just 7 blocks from the EpiCentre, which has numerous places to eat, various activities and great nightlife. Walking distance to baseball field and Romare Bearden Park, which is a "must see" at night. Great place to stay!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharonhF8652BY
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Your comments about your stay with us made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 7 June 2016

I enjoyed the stay. Didnt really like the walk from the car to the hotel but the service was good and the room was clean. Easy and fast checkin. I can't complain. I stayed for one night with my boyfriend. And they let me checkout at 1:30. Love it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Courteney J
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......

Wadmalaw Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 June 2016

The Doubletree was economical, clean, and in a beautiful location. We had no problems during our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful and the beds were very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wadislgal
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next band road trip.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Not a bad hotel to stay one night in. We arrived late (~9:55 pm) were able to check in fast, room was easy and clean. The bar is fine for a quick meal, but beware, they stop serving real food at 10 and go to bar bites until 11. The water and cookies on checkin are always a nice touch!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eliza D
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

I am very happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Wayne
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

This as a typical doubletree property. Clean and friendly service. Basically on the campus of Johnson and Wales. Not right in the center of town. A decent walk uphill to the center of town. Overall a pleasant experience. Would prefer to be closer where the activity is.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thanks for staying here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We ordered a room with "double beds" thinking that double meant two queens or at least two full sized beds. The beds were so tiny it was like sleeping on a twin sized bed. The room was nice otherwise. Parking was very pricey and would rather stay somewhere that didn't cost $15 a night for parking . Overall the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsti S
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize that you found our beds too small. In regards to the parking, we do not own the deck and have made arrangements with the owner to allow our guests to use the deck at a discounted rate. All Uptown hotels charge for parking and we do check on...

Baltimore, United States
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Recommend this hotel. Very well kept with helpful staff. Full amenities. Although it is a little more than other Hilton properties, it delivers the quality and service expected. We would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm DoubleTree hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 25 May 2016

We have been coming to this hotel for 4 years while our daughter was attending Johnson & Wales University. She graduated this past weekend and I have to say this was the best experience we had with this hotel. Whatever you are doing keep it up. Service was wonderful.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O6282KJjulieb
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you this was your best experience yet. We look forward to serving your travel needs at the should you return to the Charlotte area.

North Wales, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 May 2016

My company is based in Charlotte so I come in once a month for a couple of days and always try to get a room at the Doubletree. They recently updated their lobby and restaurant and it is superb- value and selection. Everyone there bends over backwards to help with anything. I love it- makes me feel at home!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAlcorn
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that we are your "Home away from Home". Our team loves to see you when you return every month. You are a member of our family. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 May 2016

The location was awesome. I thought the service and quality were between average to good. The location off the highway was convenient and easy. I also enjoyed where the hotel is located in comparison to downtown.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melvina150
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We would love to hear what we could do to improve. Feel free to contact me directly. Hope to see you in the future.

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (79)
Viewed
Accessible Parlor Room (14)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Pool (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Doubles Room (20)
Viewed
Standard King Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Price Range: €130 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Dayton, Tennessee, United States
Cary, North Carolina
Cary, North Carolina

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get multiply keys as the locks are very sensitive!”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Find another place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles johnms523, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 818 and had a nice view of the stadium”
 of 5 bubbles txmed215, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6th Floor is HHonors”
 of 5 bubbles CindyKlemencic, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a room close to the elevator on the even side facing the street and it was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles BeachGirl_CoffeeLuv, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5