We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Franklin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Franklin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Franklin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 555: English reviews
Glade Hill, Va, United States
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Accommodations were comfortable & very nice, the staff outstanding with their courtesy & help. The restaurant staff was very attentive. The view was nice & the location was very good for our week-end acctivities.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Cynthia G. I'm happy that your overall experience was enjoyable for you at The Franklin. Jay

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Outstanding, friendly & attentive staff. I would stay here again! Great location & reasonable prices. We took advantage of courtesy pick up & drop offs within a 3/4 mile radius offered by Hotel. Southern hospitality at it's finest!

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleent780
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review

kathleent780, We appreciate your generous review. Our complimentary car service is a favorite amenity of our guests, and I'm glad that you were able to make good use of it. Hope you can come back for another stay soon. Jay

Boise, United States
Reviewed 14 June 2016

If you are looking for a lovely hotel within walking distance of UNC campus and the many restaurants and shops on Franklin Street, this is the place to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly. We had a wonderful stay. Highly recommend!

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann O
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Mary Ann O. Our location right in the middle of town is unbeatable when it comes to experiencing all that downtown Chapel Hill has to offer. We are glad you found our rooms and staff to your liking. See you soon! Jay

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Stayed at the Franklin for business training course. Had never had a hotel call in advance of check-in to arrange particulars for check-in and inquire about any specific needs i might have. Hotel was excellent Staff were excellent Overall, was a great experience.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review

Hi there Tracey H, Thank you for your post. Our personal host program is our way of turning the typical concierge concept on its head! We prefer to proactively reach out to you rather than stand by at a desk waiting for guests to inquire about services. I'm glad that you had a positive experience with that, and hope you'll...

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Customer service is poor. Front desk personnel not accommodating. Rates not wiorth the quality of the rooms. Furniture needs updating. Issues with covered garage. Could not park in either garages. Service needs to equate to the high room price!

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 322valenciab
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review

322valenciab, I am so sorry that you had such a poor experience at The Franklin. From your review, it's clear that we failed you big time. So first off, I'd like to get in touch with you so we can make sure you are not charged for your stay. Please feel free to contact me at 919-824-4194 or jaypatel@wintergreenhospitality.com, and...

Pittsburg, Kansas
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We were there for a grad school visit. The location is perfect, the local shuttle offered is so convenient, and the staff is very polite and friendly. The rooms are so comfortable and pretty. Excellent water pressure. Cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth Ann G
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review

Hello Beth Ann G, Thank you for your review. We are glad that The Franklin was a comfortable place for your visit to Chapel Hill as you visited UNC. We hope you will have more opportunities to stay with us in the future! Jay

Raleigh, United States
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The Franklin hotel is definitely a GEM in the heart of Chapel Hill. The hotel is beautiful inside and very clean. The parking deck was going through some renovations, but parking was available in the satellite parking lot. The hotel is in walking distance to several restaurants. They also have a restaurant in the hotel which we did not visit.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Jay P, Owner at The Franklin, responded to this review

Karen M, I appreciate you sharing your experience. Come back soon, and please try some of our delicious breakfast items in our restaurant next time! Hope to see you soon, Jay

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Stayed here on a business trip.The hotel clearly differentiate itself from other chain hotel and feels like a boutique hotel. The check-in was quick and the hotel is really well appointed and well located. The rooms were amongst the best I have seen especially with respect to lightening in the room. The room felt very relaxing and the light decor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OneTrueWanderer
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review

Hello Ashish_Adwani, Thank you for posting your feedback. I'm pleased that you noticed our attempt at differentiating our hotel experience. I agree with you that the color and design of the rooms are indeed relaxing. Hope you will stay with us again, Jay

Los Gatos, California
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The Frankin was a attractive hotel and service pleasant . Convenient to walking distance for restaurants and other hotels. We were there for a wedding our experience was good we travel a lot so he might be a little bit more critical than other people The parking structure was being worked on so you couldn't park in the back and...

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairetX2935OV
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review

Hello clairetX29350V, I'm glad that your overall experience was good, but I'm disappointed that we failed you on a few details. I'm sorry that we overlooked the housekeeping service of your room. We should have done a better job of paying attention to your service light. And you are right about the discomfort of walking from the back parking lot...

Charlotte, United States
Reviewed 27 May 2016

The Franklin Hotel in Chapel Hill, NC is one of the best. I stay in many hotels worldwide and this is one I look forward to staying in. The staff is warm, welcoming, efficient and professional. The facility is clean, the rooms very well appointed and the beds are supremely comfortable with elegant linens. The bar has everything you may...

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth J
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review

Hi there Beth J, Thank you for your high praise - we are glad that you find just what you need at our place. We appreciate your repeat business, Jay

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.5 km away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
1,151 reviews
3.2 km away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.9 km away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
421 reviews
3.3 km away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 17 in Chapel Hill
420 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Price Range: €168 - €327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Franklin staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Franklin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room facing away from Franklin street was exceptionally quiet”
 of 5 bubbles tarheeltraveler2016, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Away from the street was nice!”
 of 5 bubbles suelynner, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Presidential suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Cyclist76, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Presidential Suite is totally worth it - eat the french toast in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles tombC707FB, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on Franklin St. are a bit bigger, but the ones facing the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Crito0, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5