We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gideon Ridge Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gideon Ridge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 562: English reviews
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Third stay at Gideon in 6 years and we'll definitely be back. I recommend the Cedar cottage for couples, as long as you don't mind walking up and down steps. It's separate form the main house and feels more private. We've stayed in the house too, those rooms are also great. We tried the restaurant for dinner for the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our second stay at Gideon Ridge Inn. We love it! The setting in the Blue Ridge Mountains is beautiful. The inn is rustic and cozy. The bedrooms are very comfortable. The staff is very hospitable. We will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
Virginia
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I decided to take a much needed date night. I love the Blowing Rock area and researched the area and discovered this gem and decided to give it a try. We were amazed. It truly is an amazing B&B. We got the Grandfather Mountain Suite. Very disappointed that it was foggy and we could not enjoy the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruann23
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Were suppose to stay for the weekend 11-29/30. Stayed 1 night. Froze our tale off and got sick from the cold room. Stayed in the Grandfather view room, no insulation in the walls, heat would run room would get hot then the heat would cut off and you could feel the cold come back like the door was open to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Raleigh H
GideonRidge, Owner at Gideon Ridge Inn, responded to this review

There was obviously a problem with your stay, and for that, we are truly sorry. It is our overriding goal to make every guest's stay as perfect as we can make it. In this case, there was no communication regarding these issues between the guests and the staff from check-in to the next morning when they left. The Grandfather View...

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a recent gathering of extended family cousins. We had the whole inn to ourselves. The food was wonderful,staff extremely helpful, and location beautiful. The rooms are large well furnished and beds very comfortable with premium linens. We could not have been more pleased with our time at Gideon Ridge Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert K
Los Angeles
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights back in October & had an amazing stay. The staff are all very nice & helpful. Our room the "Colonial" was cozy & warm. We had a great porch that led out to the back yard of the property. The food in the restaurant at night was amazing. Everything local & fresh. After having dinner there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank squibjib
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very comfortable and quiet, fantastic views, relaxing. Beautiful, classic bathrooms. The breakfast was good, not great, but I'm not complaining. All in all, well worth the high price. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taarheel
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 November 2013

VERY amazing weekend getaway with my fiance. The attention to detail was amazing from the wonderful Inn Keeper Ms Anne whom greeted us upon arriving after 8pm and giving us a quick tour of the grounds and fresh ice for our room and her service the following day for Breakfast. The nightly turn-down was a treat w the little cookies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julia w
Elgin
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at The Gideon Ridge November 4-6 and shared The Grandfather View Suite with one of my friends. We loved this room and mentioned that the staff/ owners had thought of all the little things that make for a pleasant stay. There were plenty of pillows, with non feather included, which was nice due to feather allergies. The towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bmer79
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a great time. The view, the atmosphere, the beds, the rooms, the breakfasts.........were all so nice. The service was also excellent, and the staff was very helpful. I would highly recommend the Gideon Ridge Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan S

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (228)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
2.7 km away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
578 reviews
0.4 km away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
407 reviews
2.6 km away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
264 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
2.5 km away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Price Range: €148 - €310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gideon Ridge Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Gideon Ridge Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would highly recommend the sunrise room.”
 of 5 bubbles Mckrapp, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“French Room is small but lovely”
 of 5 bubbles GetBusyLivingNow, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sunrise suite had incredible view, but others do as well.”
 of 5 bubbles TRH-53, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Prices are high at times, we booked after peak fall weeks and prices were reasonable.”
 of 5 bubbles Carmen056, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“a suite would provide a better private view and private veranda.”
 of 5 bubbles diannenazareth, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5