We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Highlands at Sugar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Highlands at Sugar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Morristown, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this resort between 11/13-11/15/16. The staff at check in were friendly. The unit I stayed in was 101B. The layout is nice and has a great view. The kitchen was stocked with the basics. There were some areas of deterioration and lack of upkeep. My main complaint is with the amenities; the indoor pool was chilly, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mercy K
Kershaw, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything about this place was excellent ! It was beautiful all around us . The foliage was near peak and we had a gorgeous view . The apartment we had was beautiful and spacious . We only had one problem and that was the ice maker . I reported it and it was repaired asap . The other thing was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy K
Springport, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Resort in a great location, but resort is very dated and run down. We stayed in 101D this November. Unit was clean and had a great view but this is the most dated and run down resort we have ever stayed in with our timeshare. All the cabinets in kitchen and bathrooms were original (probably from the 1980's), burned and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimkaren2011
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

True, this property is dated from the 80's with the wood paneling and brown tiled floor but the view was amazing and the room we had was more than spacious. Nice jacuzzi bath tub and private balcony were fantastic. Check-in was a breeze and they also have scheduled activities like donuts and coffee one morning, wine and cheese one evening......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CharlotteMOB
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed there for two nights while visiting the Land of Oz in September. We arrived 10:00pm and when we walked in the place was stifling hot. We had arranged a late check-in, so no one was at the office. We called and were told there was no a/c. We opened all the windows and it did get a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N B
NPeyton, Lead Front Desk Agent at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this review

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our property. I'd also like to apologize for the discomfort you experienced. We are taking strides toward improving our property, and we appreciate all of the feedback we receive so that we can ensure our guests have the best stay possible. We...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

My first time in North Carolina, the experience was something I've always dreamed of. We booked 2 nights we woke up the second day to bed bug bites. I've never in life experienced something so horrible. We were reimbursed for our room but the way we were treated was absolutely humiliating and horrible. Housekeeping staff was polite but the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank EmilyMartin2821
Jennifer A, General Manager at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that you felt you did not receive exceptional customer service during your stay at Highlands at Sugar, as that is not how our employees are trained. Be assured, we have investigated the concern you expressed with our employees and are handling this matter internally. While bed bugs can be a problem at any hotel, resort, etc., Highlands...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The first room we were assigned had a shattered living room window. We were given another one that had a broken window in the master, but since it was their last room available we took it. The broken window didn't close all the way. The lighting in the master bedroom and bath kept going on and off when the switches...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gaylegabriel2
NPeyton, Lead Guest Services Representative at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time to review your stay with us, and we are sorry to hear that we did not reach your expectations. We have taken measures to address the issues you've mentioned. We do hope that you come again and give us the opportunity to make your next experience a positive one.

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The Highlands at Sugar, located near Banner Elk, off of Tynecastle Hwy (Rt. 184), has a spectacular view from their condos. At one time it must have been an elegant facility, probably originally built as ski condos. The drive up the side of the mountain might be a challenge in the winter, but it was a nice drive in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schneewitchen
NPeyton, Lead Guest Services Representative at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear of your pleasant stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Hampton, Virginia
Reviewed 16 July 2016

The one bedroom was perfect for our family of four, enough space to play games and hang out after a long day on the trails and river. Kitchen was just the right amount of space to make breakfast and dinner (were hiking or kayaking at lunch time). All the needed cooking tools were there, this was a bonus! Exterior building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carleenteachespe
NPeyton, Lead Guest Services Agent at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our property. We are thrilled that we were able to meet all of your needs, and we hope to see you again soon.

Hillsborough, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Close to banner elk, boone and blowing rock. Cool as sits on top of the mountain. Could see some fireworks. Room was spacious and adequate.small adequate pool. Hot tub not functioning well.grounds overgrown. Building rotting. Needs a lot of tlc., But again had everything we needed for a fun time Poor signage, GPS sometimes nonexistant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dorma002
NPeyton, Lead Guest Services Agent at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We are working hard toward making improvements throughout the property, so we hope that you have the opportunity to experience these updates in the future.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
17.5 km away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
560 reviews
19.5 km away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#4 of 20 in Boone
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Blue Ridge Village
Blue Ridge Village
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
269 reviews
5.3 km away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
252 reviews
3.2 km away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Highlands at Sugar

Address: 2173 Sugar Mountain Dr, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9858
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Price Range: €91 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlands at Sugar 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Highlands at Sugar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highlands at Sugar staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Highlands at Sugar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from where the maintenance crew gathers and works every morning . They will disturb you .”
 of 5 bubbles U2139TXcindyk, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a top floor one so you don't have noise above you.”
 of 5 bubbles gaylegabriel2, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It's a condo complex, not a hotel”
 of 5 bubbles BillF20639, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Check before you book to see if you have cross air circulation if it is non-winter season”
 of 5 bubbles GringoDave47, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Building 100 closer to activities area. Request 2nd story room-buildings are split level so second floor is at street level in the front.”
 of 5 bubbles 352travellovers, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay