We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Esplanade Hotel

67 reviews
Save
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (14)
Overview
  • Excellent0%
  • Very good11%
  • Average13%
  • Poor22%
  • Terrible54%
22 Nov 2016
“Basic Overnight room.”
5 Jul 2016
“Front desk is nice”
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Fitness centre
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Meeting Rooms
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (67)Write a Review
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
0
8
6
14
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
0
8
6
14
35
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

They have done some upgrades but this an overnight place just to crash and sleep. No real amenities other then vending machines. You can walk a block to a choice of 14 different bars and/or restaurants. Very moderate price.

Thank Ray P
Reviewed 6 July 2016

First I make reservations online, after half hour I been this hotel and check in , after I got room key , I want to third floor room 305', I open the door and light , at the same time I feel I do not...More

Thank Jing C
Reviewed 9 April 2016

First, for the price (which isn't that cheap) they could've done more. The rooms were outdated and old, the bathroom smelled of bad water. And the carpet looked as if it had been there since the hotel was built. They are extremely understaffed , the...More

Thank Jasmine A
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We visited this hotel with a coach party from the south. Our room had badly fitting single -glazed dirty windows one of which would not open whilst the other had to be jammed with toilet paper to stop it rattling in the wind. The bathroom...More

Thank Rogrita
Response from Michael E, Front Office Manager at Esplanade HotelResponded 21 April 2016

I believe you might have the wrong hotel. We never had a coach party from the south stay with us. We do not have restrooms (baths) adjacent to the entrance of the hotel. Furthermore, we do not offer hot breakfast. We only offer a limited...More

Reviewed 28 October 2015

We booked this through Priceline since we wanted to stay in one place 4 nights while we toured Sleepy Hollow/Tarrytown and NYC. We arrived after dark and the location was downright scary. The room was suffocatingly hot, and maintenance could not resolve the problem. They...More

Thank bconley351
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345613
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Tennis Court
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (14)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"All of the rooms are terrible. If you choose to stay here, don't be picky. It won't matter."
Read review
"If you are the one to keep your windows open all the time chose the rooms on the other side of the hotel as..."
Read review
"do not stay here"
Read review
"Stay up on the 2nd or 3rd floors. If you don't want to see the funeral home get a room that faces the..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing