We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

Oceans Resort Whitianga

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oceans Resort Whitianga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oceans Resort Whitianga
See the most recent reviews
Showing 394: English reviews
Perthshire Scotland
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We felt we had died and gone to heaven when Graham showed us our Accomodation. Everything was perfect, so comfortable and so much room, every need was thought of, already looking forward to coming back here.

Thank dormiegal
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear. Thank you for your kind review. See you again next time - Let us know on booking if you wish to have the same room :) Pamela.

Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

For once we were very surprised to be allocated a house instead of the one bed apartment that we were expecting. The garage had been made into another room with a couch which led through to where the laundry facilities were stored and a double room with a balcony and washing line. Upstairs we had a 6 seater dining table,...

Thank John N
United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

The accommodation was excellent with very good service from the site office. Unfortunately the weather was not wonderful for our trip but the surrounding area was great. Make the effort to take the ferry across the river and walk to Cooks Bay. The town is not wonderful but the service from all the shops is very good.

Thank blueseaandsand
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review

Sorry you weren't able to experience some amazing weather while you were in town! Cooks beach, and all the surrounding walkways and bike tracks are truly exceptional. Definitely worth the ferry over. :) Glad to hear you enjoyed them.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Arrived expecting to book into a 1 bedroom apartment so was expecting a motel style room. Arrived at reception to be met by Pamela who was really informative. I felt like l had walked into tourist information, she explained the surrounding areas and places of interest which was really useful as we were only there for 2 nights. The apartment...

Thank mauritius45
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as a family group in two 2 bedroom apartments for a week in late January. We loved the huge spacious apartments which had everything you could ever need, it felt just like a home away from home. The staff were great, the pool was a nice warm temperature and the beach access was directly in front of...

Thank Julie170473
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 January 2016

very nice and very clean very family friendly with heaps to do the kids loved the pools and the playground, the units are very comfortable and family oriented. close to the beach and walking distance from city center would definitely stay there again.

Thank mahageorge
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We had a two bedroom house. IT had everything!! Comfortable sofa, full kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer somewhere to hang up washing, balcony. When we stayed we cooked in sometimes and eat out once. The only disadvantage was the Internet was a bit unreliable, this may have been a one off problem. We loved Whitianga and this property...

Thank VioletJ
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Couldn't believe the prices on this. You stay in a 3 story house with nice views, pool included and its pretty centrally located. The houses themselves are so well kept, modern, spacious and come with a fully working kitchen, washer and a good view. The staff are also very nice and knowledgable about the area. Totally impressed with the accommodation...

Thank Liam1up
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi Liam1up - thanks for your great review. Yes, generally all guests are very tidy and clean like yourself, but there are the few that unfortunately we need to include those in the compendium for - we otherwise end up with food and dishes (and loads of them) in places you couldn't imagine, which means a much longer clean and...

Ellerslie, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We planned a trip to the Coromandel for 2 nights and we stayed at the Oceans Resort Whitianga. This is a very nice accommodation and the units are very spacious, clean and equipped with Laundry and Dryer. It is located walking distance to the nearest beach. We would highly recommend Oceans Resort to anyone visiting Whitianga.

1Thank c_v_roddy
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We returned to Whitianga just recently to stay at our preferred accommodation Oceans Resort run by the lovely Pamela and Graham. Location is Wonderful accommodation superb, very family friendly ie pool and tennis court. Walking distance to the beach, town centre, many restaurants and the amazing Lost Springs Spa.The units are very modern, comfortable and the views from the master...

Thank Tracey T
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi Tracey, so lovely to see you and your family again! Haven't your boys grown! Thanks so much for the fantastic review and we hope you've settled back in at home nicely. See you again next time :)

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (121)
View from Room (10)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Room/Suite (39)
Bathroom (10)
Dining (12)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Room/Suite (8)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Family/Play Areas (2)
View from Room (3)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.1 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
474 reviews
0.5 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
71 reviews
19.9 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
61 reviews
26.7 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.0 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Price Range: €92 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oceans Resort Whitianga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose based on your needs. 2 and 3 story unit available from what we saw.”
 of 5 bubbles 465russb, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view 3 storey townhouse”
 of 5 bubbles L2738WMrichardb, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Keep away from the pool area for a quieter stay , if that's what you want.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidChallinger, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I highly recommend to try green lip mussels from local World market - 3.99 per kilo - it is a steal ;)”
 of 5 bubbles NHL_Ducks_Fan, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loved the ocean sounds!”
 of 5 bubbles 805sallyy, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5