We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

Oceans Resort Whitianga

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oceans Resort Whitianga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oceans Resort Whitianga
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 May 2015

My daughter recommended this property and having stayed I can understand why! We were given a 2 story town home with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (one with a bath tub - not that common in many hotels), a kitchen, living and laundry room. It was immaculate, the hosts were very welcoming and helpful and understanding of the fact that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianewaling
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We stayed there for 2 nights during our ANZ trip in april 2015. The apartments are pretty good, but the one we had was pretty old. I think there are newer ones that looked much better. Still everything we needed was there and working. It was very spatious, and pretty clean. The carpet was getting very old, and needs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sun H
melbourne
Reviewed 21 April 2015

We were welcomed and shown the apartment. We were taken back when we saw the ground floor with a bed room in the garage. mid level was fine - good size kitchen and dining space, upstairs to the master bedroom and kids room (they were relived they would not be staying in the garage). Our issues - kitchen appliances did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bvcfamily
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We stayed for one night whilst on a NZ Babymoon road trip. The location was fantastic and we had an apartment with a view to the bay. Outstanding service from the onsite management, couldn't have been happier with the stay. Thanks Pam for the coffee spot recommendation! you were right! :)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rennieren
switzerland
Reviewed 4 April 2015

The Ocean Resort has privately owned and decorated Townhouse units and are maintained, managed and rented through a onsite reception. Each apartment is slightly different, so I refer to my No. 61. The ground floor with garage and the entrance, a private laundry/dryer area and a garden view bedroom. Upstairs you find a fully equipped open plan family kitchen, dining...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2abc
North East England
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We booked a one bedroomed apartment and in fact got a two bedroomed one and were just asked not to use the second room. The apartment was spacious with a large fully fitted kitchen and sitting area and also our bedroom and bathroom all on the first floor. Everything was very clean and the apartment was serviced every day. On...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diana014
Birmingham
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Whitianga is the best base for a Coromandel trip being in the largest of the small towns with the most locations. These time shares are really good in principle but you have to carefully select which you stay in as they all have a different outlook. We stayed in lodge 16. The main issue with this one is nothing to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rjmacf
Melbourne
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. We booked this place as it came with a washing machine and we'd been travelling a week and were boarding a cruise ship the next day so desperately needed to wash. The washing machine was on the ground floor in the garage, along with detergent, clothes rack, pegs etc - everything we needed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bushwalker79
Wales
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I was blown away when I entered the accommodation. The rooms were tastefully decorated and contained everything you would want. balconies at the front and back of the property. Sadly views of the ocean were only available from the bedroom but then you only had to walk 100 yards and you were on the sea front. The only downside was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank filligirl
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We arrived after 2pm to be treated terribly by the reception lady. She was really rude to us and made us feel unwelcome. As we booked with Agoda she kept commenting that Agoda wouldn't be paying them until the end of our stay. She tried to charge us an additional $20.00 for having one child stay in a two bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi PaulM, Thanks for your review. I'm sorry things were made a bit tricky for your reservation. When you booked through agoda, you booked for 3 people but then arrived with 4 guests, changing the bedding configuration (and price) you had been allocated. It was very awkward for me to then show you through 4 apartments until we found one...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.1 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
461 reviews
0.5 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
60 reviews
1.2 km away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
26.7 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.0 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Price Range: €119 - €208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oceans Resort Whitianga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I highly recommend to try green lip mussels from local World market - 3.99 per kilo - it is a steal ;)”
 of 5 bubbles NHL_Ducks_Fan, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loved the ocean sounds!”
 of 5 bubbles 805sallyy, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The had apartment overlooking the tennis court. Very quiet - at front and back”
 of 5 bubbles Pippola18, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All Apartments are beautifully positioned to capture sea breeze and views”
 of 5 bubbles sentinal1, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“House 35 facing Buffalo Beach side or anything on that row - Great views from front bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles justine230568, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5