We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

A Room With A View

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
A Room With A View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for A Room With A View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 December 2015

What a fabulous stay in such a beautiful spot! The private and separate accommodation is more like a small apartment with superb views from every window and your own private sunny deck(including BBQ) overlooking the vista of Mercury Bay.Breakfast was beautifully presented with delicious homemade muesli, fresh fruit, and homemade coconut yoghurt to name only some of the gastronomic highlights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soulsista33
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind review. Equally if we could rate you as a guest it would be 5 stars! You left the room so tidy we thought you were the best! So pleased you enjoyed the tranquility of our little piece of paradise. Merry Christmas! Jenny & Terri.

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

This is an excellent place to stay. We spent five nights here and enjoyed every moment. This beautifully situated property has everything and more than you could ever need. The hosts have definitely gone the extra mile to make the stay as comfortable as possible. There is plenty to do in Whitianga, it is a fabulous place to spend holidays....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 940debf
Jenny W, Manager at A Room With A View, responded to this review

Many thanks for the great review. we appreciate the lovely card you left us - a keeper! Hope to see you again for more chill-out time you richly deserve. Regards, Jenny & Terri

london
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Superb views, beautiful accommodation, great muesli (they share the recipe upon request) for breakfast. More like a mini apartment and private. Really helpful tips and advice. Terri told us about a beach that we had to ourselves that proved, as they said, to be worth the finding. Couldn't recommend this place more highly. We would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tikitouristlondon
Jenny W, Manager at A Room With A View, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It was lovely having you both stay - and yes, always happy to share the muesli recipe with anyone who stays. All the best, Jenny & Terri

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this true gem of a B&B for five nights: it was a great base for exploring the Coromandel Peninsula and was a quiet and relaxing haven to come home to at the end of each day. Terri and Jenny are wonderful, helpful hosts and their B&B is homely, comfortable and thoughtfully decorated and furnished. It's is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V C
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review

Thankyou for the lovely comments. We enjoyed having you both stay. As seasoned travellers to New Zealand your review means a lot to us. Wishing you well - do tell your friends! Warm wishes, Terri and Jenny

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 22 June 2015

What a wonderful place to stay. We were lucky enough to book a room at the last minute because of a cancellation and couldn't have been happier. The views were gorgeous and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are passing through. My only regret is that I didn't get a copy of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn S
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you. Of course we are happy to share the muesli recipe with you. Just email us via our website aroomwithaviewwhitianga Hoping to see you again sometime! Kind regards, Jenny & Terri

Reviewed 18 February 2015

We stayed just for one night in January 2015 but wished it could have been for longer. Accommodation was very comfortable. Views were great. Breakfast delicious. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Would love to revisit if we get the opportunity, thought the Coromandel was spectacular. Vivian and Nigel - Somerset, UK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivian S
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review

Thanks Vivian and Nigel. Yes, a number of people say they should stay longer than one night - there is so much to see around the Coromandel. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Kind regards, Terri & Jenny

Reviewed 15 February 2015

A room with a view is one of our favourite places to stay in New Zealand. Terri and Jenny provide first class accommodation and seem to think of everything. They are excellent hosts and we are only sorry we couldn't stay more than a night due to schedule constraints. We stayed at this lovely place for a few nights three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegoathouse
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review

It was wonderful to see you both again - it was like picking up where we last left off. Sorry you couldn't stay longer but we enjoyed sharing our piece of paradise with you. All the best! Regards, Terri & Jenny

Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay- hosts Terri & Jenny were brilliant- the place has great views- the accom is v- clean, very comfy, beautiful gardens- nothing was too much for our hosts- we used their BBQ, got to know their pets & relax on the deck- you won't be disappointed if you spend a few nights here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deason3068
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us - the smell of the bbq cooking was most enticing! It was lovely to meet you both. Kind regards, Jenny & Terri

Wokingham
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Although one of the reasons I booked a Room with a View was the view and the excellent price, nothing prepared me for the reality. The accommodation was so spacious, with a good sized bedroom, a similar sized living area and a lovely bathroom. Terri and Jenny were such helpful and gracious hosts and we had a lovely chat with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachluvver
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed the chat over a wine - you are so well travelled! We also enjoyed your humour and stories. You left the room so tidy it's a shame there's no rating for travellers - we'd have given you 5 stars! Travel well. Jenny & Terri

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2015 via mobile

I stayed here the night before Christmas Eve, my final B&B on a 2 week drive up to Auckland from Fjordland. I'd planned to explore Whitianga in the evening but Jenny and Terri were such lovely hosts and the views from their deck were so good that I ended up talking the evening away over a fab Thai curry and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robooo
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review

Thanks - likewise we enjoyed your company - for someone travelling alone it's probably an opportunity to enjoy a home cooked meal and some wine without needing to worry about driving. As you say, the view is so spectacular sometimes it's a magic opportunity to sit and take it in without needing to budge - or to cook on the...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
3.5 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
472 reviews
1.7 km away
On the Beach B & B
On the Beach B & B
#11 of 40 in Whitianga
45 reviews
19.4 km away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bayview at 91
Bayview at 91
#1 of 40 in Whitianga
284 reviews
1.6 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
308 reviews
1.1 km away
Within The Bays
Within The Bays
#9 of 40 in Whitianga
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From your bed and breakfast accommodation you can see magnificent views across Mercury Bay, the Whitianga Harbour, over to Shakespeare's Cliff and Cooks Beach in the distance. Your private garden and deck are for your exclusive use. A full continental breakfast is provided for you to enjoy at your leisure, as well as your own barbecue facilities. Your room is totally equipped for a short or long stay and includes LCD television and DVD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about A Room With A View

Address: 4 Miro Place, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Price Range: €121 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your A Room With A View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from A Room With A View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only one room so it's not applicaple”
 of 5 bubbles happytraveller068, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“One bedroom with bathroom and large lounge and deck - all with stunning views.”
 of 5 bubbles HelenP959, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There's only one!”
 of 5 bubbles aj300, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Allow plenty of time to get to the Coromandel Peninsula, the roads are very windy!”
 of 5 bubbles AlisonCridge, 6 Mar 2014 | Read review
“fantastic views.. it is what”
 of 5 bubbles 202kaym, 7 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5