We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique

Share
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (27)
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (11)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
2.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
42
66
26
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
42
66
26
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant concierge staff lcd tv pleasant hotel early hours sea port wifi works well ferry terminal walking distance nice clean rooms hot shower pool area tour guide the wi fi nice stay breakfast and dinner an upgrade
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located very close to the main port and the area regularly flooded with porters, passengers etc, the hotel was surprisingly undisturbed. A short walk would get you to the atmospheric side street shopping areas so beloved by tourists wanting ‘real culture’. On entrance the hotel...More

Thank Owen J
Response from GTSTB, Manager at Golden Tulip Stonetown BoutiqueResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Owen J Thank you for choosing Golden Tulip Stone Town Boutique Hotel for your recent stay in Zanzibar. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared, I understand your disappointment, on the area which you mentioned; I sincerely apologize for...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because of the rooftop and the nice looking poolside. Both had pictures on website that was not the same in real life. Rooftop was a dump even though it shows pictures with a nice restaurant with a view. Tables and chairs...More

Thank marisen20
Response from GTSTB, Manager at Golden Tulip Stonetown BoutiqueResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Marisen20 Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations We value your business, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as possible. I understand your disappointment, on the area which you mentioned; I...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was the ideal place to start our trip - super easy from the airport, clean, comfortable rooms, great pool area to relax and one of the best breakfasts we’ve had on our travels with a lovely rooftop view. They were great at cooking...More

Thank fpcrosse
Response from GTSTB, Manager at Golden Tulip Stonetown BoutiqueResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear fpcrosse Thank you so much for taking you time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your useful and honest feedback, We are delighted to note that you had wonderful experience with us . Ensuring guests comfort is...More

Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel and the staff was unbelievable and so accommodating! The bathroom needed some updating, we did have a slight odor in the bathroom but the cleaning staff nipped that in the butt! The pool was nice and the breakfast changed...More

Thank Aaren T
Response from GTSTB, Manager at Golden Tulip Stonetown BoutiqueResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Aaren T Thank you for choosing Golden Tulip Stone Town Boutique Hotel for your recent stay in Zanzibar. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared, We value your business, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as...More

Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We had 2 nights at the Golden Tulip. It’s well located for exploring Stone Town with the old town a 10 minute walk along the sea front, however it is also next to the ferry terminal so we experienced some very unwelcome wake up calls!...More

1  Thank tandmtravels
Response from GTSTB, Manager at Golden Tulip Stonetown BoutiqueResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Tandmtravel Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations We value your business, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as possible. I understand your disappointment, on the area which you mentioned; I...More

View more reviews
About
Description
"International Standards, Local Flavors" Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique offers all those amenities that give the perfect frame for enjoying a stay in Zanzibar's capital before or after safari. The ideal place to More discover Stone town from it is located within one hour drive from any of Zanzibar’s beaches and attractions. Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique is a replica of a historic building located in the city center of Stone town opposite to the ferry terminal. Our guest can enjoy a stunning sea town view from THE TERRACE RESTAURANT. Located at the Top Floor, the Terrace menu a la carte, presents a selection of Continental and International dishes that can be consumed enjoying an incredible 360 degree Ocean and Stonetown scenery. All highlights of this beautifully city, recognized as UNESCO heritage sight, such as the house of wonders, Forodhani gardens, the old fort, Darajiani market (…) are within walking distance as well as the numerous shops, restaurants and nightspots. GT Zanzibar Boutique's rooms are decorated to ensure a traditional picturesque and soothing environment and are designed to meet all your needs. We offer at total of 33 rooms and in addition the property offers a state of the art conference facility as well as event venues that can accommodate up to 350 people comfortably. All rooms are fully furnished to meet the highest International Standard. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Pool
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
33
Price range
US$62 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel/Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel
Also Known As
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique Zanzibar Island/Stone Town
Location
Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
33
Price range
US$62 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel/Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel
Also Known As
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique Zanzibar Island/Stone Town
Location
Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Photos
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (11)
Pool & Beach (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 180 nearby hotels
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
64 reviews
.05 km away
Kholle House
291 reviews
.16 km away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
436 reviews
.20 km away
Princess Salme Inn
194 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 329 nearby restaurants
Tea House Restaurant
480 reviews
.46 km away
Ma Shaa Allah Cafe'
224 reviews
.65 km away
Emerson Spice
684 reviews
.39 km away
Zanzibar Coffee House Cafe
868 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 328 nearby attractions
Old Slave Market/Anglican Cathedral
373 reviews
.60 km away
Christ Church Cathedral
167 reviews
.65 km away
Stone Town
404 reviews
.66 km away
Darajani Bazaar
252 reviews
.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kimata M
1 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Cäthe Ø | Reviewed this property |
The size is ok for a swim, about 20 meters long. The pool was clean. Lovely sunbeds, almost always someone was free
0
Votes
Google Translation
Fatma K
11 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from raineyday1712 | Reviewed this property |
Check it out on website
1
Vote
Techboy786
7 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from oscarsicuro | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Unfortunately I can't help because we did not plan such a trip. KR.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Everything is made for short people. Beds a short, the showerhead hoase is too short, so had to squat."
marisen20
4 weeks ago
Read review
"Staff are amazing !"
202rekhav
7 Sep 2018
Read review
"Few mins walk into Stone Town centre.."
p2vadgama
6 Sep 2018
Read review
"Book a deluxe room or a junior suite, the standard room is a little too small for 2 people with big luggage..."
kellyjgirl
2 Apr 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing