We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Start your review of Mont Aux Sources Hotel
 Click to rate
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

While the setting is great, the rest of the experience left us deflated and disappointed. No atmosphere, very simple food and over priced, (breakfast was great), service questionable and wine stocks did not reflect wine list. Room that we stayed in had just been upgraded so nice and new but they missed the boat by not replacing small items like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swingbd
South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in a superb location and the surrounding area is stunning. The food was standard and the buffet filled the children but not stunning. One point though,if you are booking online maybe phone through to make sure your room is not next to a corporate function - ours was and the noise was intense. If you don't mind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lulubell234
Dollar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

The inside of this hotel does not compare with the outside. Our room was very pleasant with stunning views but the corridors were grubby and uninviting. The public rooms were uninspiring and ,in a hotel where the view is the main point, the dining room is situated internally with no view. The food was poor. The menu on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Homebody97
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel after your stay. Your feedback assists us to improve our services where lacking and also positively encourage our staff to do more and better. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux...

Chiang Mai
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We booked into the self catering chalets on the 24th of Feb. I would strongly avoid this resort until they commenced or concluded their renovations. It is in a serious state of disrepair and was not the cleanest. We had an infant with us and I refused to stay in the accommodation. The hotel staff were sympathetic and offered us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KoroushaC
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Korousha , Thank you for taking the time to highlight the problem areas at Mont Aux Sources Hotel after your stay. Your feedback assists us to improve our services where lacking and also positively encourage our staff to do more and better.Our plan of refurbishment is in action as we speak. We do hope that you will visit us...

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We book one of their self catering units. 1. The sofas were the filthiest I've ever seen. 2. The TV was not working 3. We were never informed that the TV wasn't working when we checked in 4. Staff at the reception were not nice at all. I picked up a lot of attitude 5. On Saturday evening, guests on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bongi Nothile N
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bongi , Thank you for taking the time to highlight the problem areas at Mont Aux Sources Hotel after your stay. Your feedback assists us to improve our services where lacking and also positively encourage our staff to do more and better.Our plan of refurbishment is in action as we speak. We do hope that you will visit us...

South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We again visited the hotel after many years, and found the following: This is a hotel either on the way up or down - we could not decide! The view is incredible, the area wonderful, but just for a holiday treat? I am not convinced...for the high price per room, I would really go elsewhere, unless there is improvement. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank europeholidays
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guests , thank you for taking the time to honestly give feedback on your recent stay with us. We value your input and I will definitely convey your comments to the relevant senior managers for immediate action. We hope you will visit us again soon. Warm Regards Management & Staff Mont Aux Sources.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

After reading a few negative reviews we were rather worried weather we should cancel our booking. We didn't, and actually enjoyed our stay. We called the hotel beforehand and the staff promised us a clean room. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The setting is perfect and view from the hotel is beautiful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jirehgrobler
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jireh , Thank you very much for your feedback , it is great to know that we managed to meet your expectations over and above the comments read. Thank you for affording us that opportunity to do things differently. We will address the mentioned concerns to line management to improve where necessary and make changes. We would like to...

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We decided to book a night en route to the North Coast. I was nervous about the condition of the road as it used to be terrible in the past. No need to worry though, it was in excellent condition despite recent rains. We had a spacious room with our teenage kids in an adjoining room, wit a beautiful view,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coretha U
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Coretha, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel following your stay. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay and spacious rooms, however, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced with our buffet offering as well as our trainee waitress. We do hope that you will...

Bloemfontein
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

The standard rooms are extremely dirty and filled with bugs.Had the most unpleasant stay ever. management give foreign guest preferential treatment and housekeeping is terrible.dont recommend at all. Pic of milk jug speaks volumes. All in all very unpleasant, dirty, unfriendly staff. Only positive is the location and stunning viewd

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank noorbhfb
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel after your stay. We would like to apologise for the cleanliness you may have experienced with us, this is not acceptable. Your feedback assists us to improve our operational aspects of the Hotel. Senior management is also involved. We do hope that you will afford...

Linkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Spacious room with great views over the Drakensberg mountains. Make sure you check the rate at the different booking sites before you do a "walk in". We had no booking and just walked in and asked for a double room. The price we got was R1000 over the price we found at Booking.com. Of course they gave us the lower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargarethaN
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaretha, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel following your stay. The hotel runs specials on various platforms including booking.com whereas you will sometimes find it cheaper online with a specific website, but we are pleased to see that they have assisted you in a professional manner. We are absolutely ecstatic to see that...

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
34.3 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.7 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
37.7 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
437 reviews
3.1 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
10.4 km away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled at the foothills of the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, this landmark property is easily accessible from Johannesburg and Durban. The Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel & Resort borders the renowned Royal Natal National Park and offers magnificent views of the world-famous Amphitheatre. The Drakensberg is home to many world heritage sites and is the second most photographed destination in Southern Africa.Experience the stunning natural beauty, while enjoying the numerous activities, onsite and nearby. Afterwards, enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant and relax in the comfortable lounge with its inviting log fireplace. The beautifully landscaped grounds add to the tranquil ambience of this popular country retreat. As one of the region’s finest country hotels, it welcomes guests from all over the world, and is known for its warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Address: D119, The Cavern Road | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Price Range: €68 - €130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Aux Sources Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mont Aux Sources Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mont Aux Sources Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mont Aux Sources Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgraded rooms NB”
swingbd, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“avoid completely”
KoroushaC, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the top floor, they have a small balcony) and away from the bar.”
europeholidays, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the chalets until renovations are completed. The hotel rooms are fine.”
68fanij, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose downstairs room, doors open on hotel's garden”
MelanieDF, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5