We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Azura Benguerra Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Azura Benguerra Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Azura Benguerra Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 344: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visited Azura for 5 days in January for our honeymoon. It was in all manners, a phenomenal stay. Azura is a gorgeous destination, with private villas on a secluded beach. It was a great place to honeymoon. There are loads of great activities - we went diving, snorkelling, and had a private dhow cruise. The staff are so friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
Krista N, Director of Sales at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review

Dear Derek S, Thank you very much for your review of your stay, we enjoyed having you stay with us, and are delighted to hear that we were able to make your honeymoon a magical one! Our team at the hotel enjoyed meeting and looking after you very much and we hope we will welcome you back to Africa and...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went to Azura on our 10th anniversary, best holiday ever! Excellent service, very welcoming and wonderful staff. We were well looked after right from check in. Our villa was amazing, very clean and luxurious with the most excellent view. The host service is unique and Ronaldo was great. We loved the private pool at our villa and the postcard-perfect stretch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdeleJac
Krista N, Director of Sales at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review

Dear AdeleJac, Thank you very much for your recent feedback, it has been an absolute pleasure having you stay with us at Azura. It is good to hear that you consider your stay at Azura as Heaven on earth (we would of course like to agree with you) and are delighted that we were able to make your anniversary holiday...

New York
Reviewed 28 December 2013

From the minute you arrive to the minute you depart, you are treated like royalty at this five star luxurious resort. You are assigned a host who is much like a genie in a bottle and will grant any wish you desire. Friendly but professional, our host Jonas was incredible and made our stay that more remarkable. Private Villas/huts on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brush-N-Ink
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review

Dear Brush-N-Ink Thank you for this great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed every detail of your stay with us. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your adventure in Southern Africa and that you have many colorful memories painted in your mind. We look forward to welcoming you back to Benguerra or perhaps to Quilalea Island next time....

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Broke away from the madness of the city to this paradise...personalised service, great location! We went as a group of friends, but also perfectly suited for a romantic getaway for two. Can strongly recommend this for a recharge!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nomnomcpt
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review

Dear Nomnomcpt Thank you for the review! We are here if ever you want to break away to the sunny shores of Benguerra Island. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Colette Adams Operations Manager

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 November 2013

At the end of an African trip, we wanted to kick back before the long flight home. Azura was the place. A fun helicopter ride to the resort and very friendly staff. The "room" had our on pool and privacy right next to the beach and a wonderful outdoor shower to enjoy the warm weather. Water was warm and long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank remery1513
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review

Dear Remery1513 Greetings from sunny Mozambique. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time on the island with us. Thank you for supporting our soccer team during your stay. They are so passionate about it! We hope to welcome you back to Azura in the near future. Kind...

England
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We chose Azura for the last stay of our month long trip in Southern Africa which was a mix of safari and relaxation. We wanted a relaxing time where we could chill out but it proved to be the only place where we were unhappy and unsettled. A disappointing end to a fantastic holiday and I feel it is sad...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Jo2345
Krista N, Director of Sales at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review

Dear Jo2345, Thank you for the time taking to write this detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beauty of the island, the cuisine, the personal service of your butler, the dives and that you were well taken care of on excursions by our team. It was extremely unfortunate that the helicopter company which transfers Azura guests to...

witley
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have never had such a perfect experience on holiday. Azura have got everything right, total luxury, the best service we have received anywhere in the world, michelin starred food every night - including a 7 course tasting menu and whole lobster for lunch (all as part of the all inclusive, not a buffet in sight!) Our host, Bela, looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo k
Krista N, Director of Sales at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review

Dear Jo K, Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Azura, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Azura wow experiences as we call them, the dining in a different location every night and the special picnic on the deserted beaches. Thank you for your...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed: Early August 2013 Reason: Honeymoon Would I go back? Of course!! Maybe the hotter Spring or Summer months In 2 words: Authentic. Adventure. Azura is a bit of a paradox, in the most special, magical sense. It's a luxury Mozambican beach retreat where the sand and turquoise-tinged water offer a tempting place to lounge, relax and exhale, but it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BEN_90291
Krista N, Director of Sales at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review

Dear Ben_90291, Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Benguerra Island and the Bazaruto Archipelago are indeed magical places and there is so much to do and see, it is good to hear you have experienced it to the fullest! We totally agree that you should come back...

London
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A beautiful location, lovely team, great food...I could go on. We stayed for 5 nights and were lucky with the weather for the most part given it was winter season. We booked a villa with an infinity pool - spacious, well laid out, outdoor shower, great maid service. The Azura team really make this place special. Ronaldo in particular ensured...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edamame
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review

Dear Edamame Thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in the Archipelago. Paradise Island is absolutely as magical as you described it and a place for the romantic at heart. We love it there too! Ronaldo sends a big friendly hello. We all hope to welcome you back...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent 4 days at Azura in May 2013 as a final leg of our African honeymoon, after tracking gorillas in Uganda and spending a few days at Serengeti in Tanzania. Our original plan was to stay at Benguerra Lodge nearby but after having spent there two or three days, we felt that it didn't live up to our expectations...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MRJardine
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review

Dear MRJardine How wonderful to hear from you and thank you for your kind review. It was wonderful meeting you. We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed the end of your adventurous and romantic honeymoon with us. We hope that the memories will last a lifetime. A mermaid on a dive – how special and even luckier that he...

469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (413)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (189)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benguerra Island
18.1 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
31.1 km away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
62 reviews
36.9 km away
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
#2 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#2 of 8 in Vilanculos
81 reviews
17.8 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
69 reviews
14.8 km away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Azura Benguerra, was built entirely by hand in partnership with the local community, it has just 20 villas, each sporting a personal infinity swimming pool, and spectacular beachside location, Azura offers an enchanting seaside escape. Spend sun-drenched days fishing, snorkelling or diving in protected reefs; watch the migrating whales and dolphins that ply these waters. Or relax on the beach and indulge in African spa treatments while a Mozambican Butler-host looks after your every need. The island's local people make for fascinating cultural encounters, and the starry night sky is magnificent to behold. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Azura Benguerra Island

Address: Benguerra Island | Bazaruto Archipelago, Inhambane Province 1304, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Benguerra Island
Price Range: €1,861 - €1,994 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Azura Benguerra Island 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Azura Benguerra Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azura Hotel Benguerra Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Azura Benguerra Island staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Azura Benguerra Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the rooms are overlooking the beach so no fears of room without a view (albeit through palm trees and some vegetation for privacy)f”
 of 5 bubbles D7649WFjohnf, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have the same view”
 of 5 bubbles wendythedogsaver, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you can stretch to a villa go for it otherwise all rooms are great, right on the beach”
 of 5 bubbles cooldudes1, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all villa's face the beach some are just nearer to the Bar and Lounges”
  • Our villa at Azura Benguerra
 of 5 bubbles TRICH-10, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All villa's at Azura are great. There is a family villa which might be nice should you travel with children.”
 of 5 bubbles Evie-Amsterdam, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5