We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Pointe Sud Ouest, Le Morne, Mauritius 91202
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$194
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3344)
Room & Suite (388)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Creole
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 11 in Le Morne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Creole opens all year round and is located on the beautiful beach of Le Morne, in the far southwestern corner of the island of Mauritius, next to the Riu Le Morne hotel. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Ramgoolam Mauritius Airport MRU (60 km) and La Gaulette (10 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 313 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in the spa area or get in shape at the gym. 2 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool. RiuLand Kids Club (ages 4-7 & 8-12 years) and for adults, day and evening entertainment, Pacha Discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Indian, Asian specialty restaurants, as well as 4 bars.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Aerobics
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
2461Reviews448Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,212
  • 720
  • 258
  • 128
  • 143
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lovania V wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
I’m writing this review following our stay this weekend. We had a horrible experience during our stay. The rooms aren’t clean, smell horrible and we had problems with the AC. Only the main restaurant is open and the food variety and quality is unsatisfactory. It’s a huge disappointment considering the amount you pay for. The service has really deteriorated since our last visit. We had to wait for over 45mins to get served coffee and tea for breakfast. It just seems like there isn’t enough staff… The tables in the main dining area were not clean, the glasses they use to serve drinks are not clean…just cleanliness in general is not up to the standard of a four star hotel… Do not recommend at all..I wouldn’t go there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Vic M wrote a review Jan 2021
Mauritius2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
We had a 2 night stay and this was our second visit.We again were very satisfied with every aspect of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, The hotel is very clean throughout and our room was spacious with everything that we needed. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were substantial and suited all tastes with a huge variety of food.We would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. A big thank you to the sports and leisure team.Eric, Yan, Elzo, Ashwaynee and others. Dave, Adrien from the bar + others (sorry I did not save all the names 😜😜) The restaurant staff, Reception staff, security at the gate, Housekeeping, we love you all!!! Astride and Vic
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Creole
Responded 4 Feb 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to share this wonderful review with us and for staying with us once again! We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please come and visit us again soon for another memorable vacation! All the best until then, Kind regards, Hotel Riu Creole Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Footprints401229 wrote a review 7 May
San Martino alla Palma, Italy1 contribution
We were there in the half of March and to be honest, hotel need reconstruction a lot, but What is nice, they know and are alerady working on it 👍 Also housekeeping can be more focus with cleaning. An example our shower was not done for all stay and also there is a mold everywhere 😟 However the staff was so kind and helpfull. Specialy some people were a stars I have to share few names from team which made our stay special - Adrien, Olivier, Poonum, Yan Hayley from bar and Yanni animator and guy with the longest african name. 🤣🤣 They were just great! ❤️ Thank you guys! And hope to see you next time!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
WorldTravellerUK99 wrote a review 3 May
UK139 contributions110 helpful votes
The public areas of the hotel are great, but the rooms are very tired and need updating. The a/c was in the room was really good, but we weren't able to alter the temperature. The location is great and the sea wonderful. Very clear water, great for swimming with the numerous fishes. The food was ok but nothing special. It's difficult to book at the speciality restaurants as you have to do that via the Riu app, which didn't work. Cocktails were incredibly sweet. There was always a 10 min queue to get drinks at the beach bar. The disco and snack facility were shut, despite the hotel being full - due to Covid! It seems more like a way to cut costs to me. There was nowhere to get anything to eat between meals, so you had to make use of the lunch service even if you you didn't want or need a substantial meal. The evening entertainment relied on guests - as contestants in a karaoke contest where the judges were also guests, or as assistants to a one-man show. All very low budget. Service was really quite poor, at reception and in the restaurant. Requests took ages to resolve and simple requests for cuttlery and drinks in the restuarant met with confusion. Staff had a habit of talking to other staff whilst dealing with guests. I didn't feel I was given their full attention. However, Rishi the manager, was good at resoving the issues we encountered.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Creole
Responded 1 week ago
Dear WorldTravellerUK99, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! While we are truly happy you enjoyed the hotel´s location, however, we are saddened to find you weren't completely satisfied with your recent experience, as we are committed to provide excellent services to all our guests. Please rest assured however that we will share all your impressions with our management team for a proper follow up as we hope you allow us the chance to host you again soon for a more positive experience. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Creole Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Linda R wrote a review 1 May
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom35 contributions14 helpful votes
Highlight of the stay for me was The painting class run by Arven, a brilliant instructor with endless patience, helping me to produce a beautiful painting of a sunset. Don’t miss an opportunity to experience and learn from this lovely young man.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with balcony. Clean and comfortable
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
deni262015 wrote a review Apr 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates12 contributions1 helpful vote
Overal experience was great. The entertainment in the hotel was one of the best I have seen...live music, evening shows...Well done! Staff was always friendly and quick. Special thanks to the staff working at Tamarin bar at the beach. Rooms were good but with that beautiful surrounding and entertainment in the hotel we didnt spend much time there. In general our stay would be amazing however... We were looking forward to do also some water sports and were a bit disappointed because in the hotel app it says that you can do 1 hour of free kayaking, paddle boarding etc. However, when we finally managed to book it on day three of our stay we were told that we can only use them for 20 minutes since they have lots of guests and dont want people to go too far. We ended up not going at all and haven't done any water sports in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
London1234456 wrote a review Apr 2022
London20 contributions7 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 12 day stay at the hotel Riu and had the most amazing time. We were travelling as a group of 13 - 4 children (5,6,8,and 8), and 4 people over age of 65. We had 5 rooms in total of which 2 were family rooms. The staff are so friendly and always willing to help. If particular note: Manager Rishi, arranged for me to have a special surprise meal to celebrate my 40th birthday. Julien one of the animators, made their trip really special and presented them with certificates for their sandcastles. Arvind led an art class, which was the most incredible experience. I am a total beginner and he patiently showed me to create my own piece of art which I am incredibly proud off. Positives: Beautiful location, sandy white beaches, great food selection, lots for veggies and children overall clean well run lots of to do in the resort great pool right next to the beach lots of activities for kids - esp kids disco The website does not do this hotel justice!! we were pleasantly surprised. Negatives: Can get quite busy at meal times was very windy (great for water sports), but strong current so children couldn't safely swim in the sea reception team seemed very busy and not always that helpful rooms are dated and mattresses poor quality - but we spent most of our times outdoors so didn't bother us too much. overall this hotel is a great option for families.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Traveller2358 wrote a review Apr 2022
Paris, France13 contributions1 helpful vote
Just wanted to write a quickreview while we are here! I don't know what all the bad comments are about! It's like being in paradise here! So much to do, all the staff are so friendly, the entertainment team are off the scale out of this world amazing and so much fun and really take time to make you have fun! The bar staff are quick and super friendly and cheery, our room is clean doesn't smell sheets spotless! Always cleaned when we are out relaxing by the pool! The pool is lovey the beAch is out of this world! So much to do so much fun we are having! Don't believe the nasty reviews it's wonderful here me my daughter and mother are hVing the best time! Thankyou to the whole team here! My only complaint if I had to make one os the salt shakers are rubbish! But that's it and hey who needs salt on the greater scheme of things!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Jaroslav K wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Riu Creole is overall good hotel with very friendly staff. Especially we went to Riu Art afternoon and it was great! We also enjoyed the food and friendly reception staff. Evening entertainments are also good!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
jessica chambers wrote a review Apr 2022
South Africa2 contributions
+1
We had a lovely stay at Riu Creole. The animation team were amazing. We had a lovely time painting as well as doing Aqua gym. The nightly shows were very entertaining and the staff were incredibly friendly. We also did snorkeling where the staff were very very friendly. Unfortunately we couldn’t do too many water sports due to the wind but we understand that it is expected at this part of the island. The staff in general were very helpful and friendly especially Eric and Jean from the entertainment team as well as the person who helped us with painting I unfortunately do not remember his name .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$178 - US$322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere Noire DistrictLe Morne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
313
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Creole
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Creole?
Nearby attractions include Ebony Forest Reserve (6.7 km), Le Morne Brabant (2.8 km), and La Vallée des Couleurs (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Creole?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Creole?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Creole?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Creole?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Creole?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant The Beach, Blue Marlin Restaurant, and WAPALAPAM, Island Eatary.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Creole?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Creole have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Creole offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Riu Creole offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Creole?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Martello Tower Museum (13.3 km).
Does Hotel Riu Creole have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.