We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ravenala Attitude

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ravenala Attitude
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 621: English reviews
Start your review of The Ravenala Attitude
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

We stayed here for 10 nights in a beachfront room in the adults only wing. the rooms so spacious and very well looked after, on check in we had an issue with the WiFi in our room but this was rectified within minutes of our phone call to reception. Great selection of restaurants to choose from and nicely spread out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1983RICH1983
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

My husband and I just left the Ravenala attitude and had a great all around stay. The rooms were beach chic (although no moisturiser was provided - an essential for a beach holiday) and spacious. The staff was very accommodating and bartender Ray made fabulous cocktails and was really friendly and charming. Although the hotel was near full capacity it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BetsyTripStar
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just got back from what was overall a great time at this hotel. Firstly a mention for 2 guys who do not stop working hard in order to help guests enjoy their stay. Venkamah ( pool area bar ) and Ragu ( Lime ), both of whom are genuinely nice people and go out of their way to make the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank iantZ2343ZO
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First time in Mauritius with father in law and relatives, all in all seven people. The Ravenala Attitude isn't brand new but is very well kept. We had a mid-range family room which was spacious, well maintained and had all features that we expect. The common areas, bars and lounges are uncrowded, clean and with a contemporary design feeling. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rolf s
Management response:

Dear Rolf, It's a pleasure to read your nice and positive comments and thank you for choosing The Ravenala Attitude for your holidays. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and especially the room, dine-around experience as well as the hospitality of our Family Members. I am sharing your great comments with Ashvin, Mozahir, Raghu, Curtis, Kishan and...

Port Louis District
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stay in family room on a half board basis. Simply wonderful....lots to do or just simply chill out by anyone of the 3 pools...food and service was very good.. would fully recommend to anyone to spend some time at this hotel. If I can think of any negative points..perhaps need to pay attention to the minor things..paint touch ups bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank neiltakoordyal78
Management response:

Dear Neilta, Many thanks for choosing The Ravenala Attitude for your recent holidays and for taking the time of sharing your experience. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in the family room as well as the pools, food and service. I really appreciate your recommendation to other travellers - Thank You! I look forward to the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at The Ravenala Attitude for 12 nights under the all inclusive package. On the whole we had a great holiday there and would recommend the hotel but there are definitely some areas for improvement by the hotel. The pros...The hotel decor and the rooms are lovely, laid back beach chic and just what you would expect of the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Melissa J
Management response:

Dear Melissa, Thank you for choosing The Ravenala Attitude for your recent holidays. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the overall hotel décor, rooms, swimming pools, beach bar, kids club, water activities as well as the dine around experience. We would like to apologise for the inconsistencies with regards to the service and to the missing...

KenFromKent
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived fairly late on the first day, however, the check in was handled very well and, we were escorted to our room ( 2212 ) by Michael Tang. who explained every thing he could to us.. The room 2212 looked out onto the pool it was large and comfortable The room had a sizeable sitting room area,.. with open...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank KenFromKent
Paris
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I shared my short visit in Mauritius between Hotel Lux Belle Mare on the eastern coast and The Ravenala Attitude where I spent only one night. The hotel was almost full with large groups and staff were overbooked. My large room in the nice garden next to the large swimming pool was well equipped and tastefully decorated in a tropical...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christophe M
Management response:

Dear Christophe, Thank you for sharing the experience of your holidays at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially with regards to your room and swimming pool as well as the food in our restaurant. I hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a longer stay this time so that you...

Northampton
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My (maybe too) high expectations just weren't met. Reviews on this site are all just a personal opinion and perception - each to their own - unfortunately my experience of the Ravenala Attitude fell way short. It's a 'nice' hotel and on paper should have provided an enjoyable holiday to celebrate my special birthday. Sadly, it was lacking and isolated....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank crispmrsannec
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Indian chef partap and vikas were very good at their job making the best of food and were best at courtesy. Besides that most of staff lacked courtesy with poor housekeeping service not providing with most of services.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amrit D
H0tels_Management, General Manager at The Ravenala Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Amrit, Thank you for taking the time of sharing the experience of your recent holidays at our hotel. It is nice to read about your positive comments which we have shared with the Chef Partap and Vikas - Thank you! I regret that you have not fully enjoyed your vacation due to the inconsistencies in the Housekeeping service and...

1,360 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1319)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (220)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Dining (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (665)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
16.0 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,228 reviews
0.3 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
17.2 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,843 reviews
0.8 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
1.0 km away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ravenala Attitude (ex-La Plantation Hotel) is the first 4* All Suite hotel in Mauritius. After 6 months of major works, a brand new hotel has reopened in October 2015. Along the north-west coast of the island, an address beyond the limits of time… Nicely tucked away between sea and river in the middle of a luxuriant and exotic garden, with a majestic range of mountains in the background… The Ravenala Attitude is a mix of colonial heritage, contemporary design with tropical accents and genuine Mauritian art de vivre. No boundaries between inside and outside, cosy spaces flow into each other harmoniously… Here, indoors and outdoors merge blithely to everyone’s delight… The 272 suites, Couples, Adults and Families, have been entirely renovated. Refined and uncluttered, they are true reminders of the islands’ way of life. Strokes of blue-grey, toile de Jouy fabric, woven rattan bedhead and on the wall, typical scenes of Mauritian life… no limits to exotic dreams... In the adult-only wing, all the suites overlook the Indian Ocean. The plus: our privileged guests, feet buried in the sand, will enjoy their very private restaurant… The hotel offers, for half-board and all inclusive guests, a “Dine Around” experience in 7 of the 10 restaurants. Each restaurant has its own identity found both in the decor and on the plate. At meal time, a choice of destinations to match moods: “seasidy” atmosphere in the lounge-bar and at the beach restaurant at lunch time and in the evenings, “trendy-factory” spirit in the new bar-restaurant, feel like a stopover in Italy or Indo-China or a romantic rendez-vous on “Riviere Citron”? Guests can enjoy a wide range of land and nautical activities (at sea, on the river or in the pools); among many others, “Ayo Le Dodo” mini-club for the kids, a special teens’ hideout, the spacious Spa Attitude and all the Otentik Attitude experiences for a total immersion in the local culture. Holidays at The Ravenala Attitude have a taste of far-away lands… a voyage within the voyage... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ravenala Attitude

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius (Formerly La Plantation Hotel)
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range: €113 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravenala Attitude 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Ravenala Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Hotel Balaclava
La Plantation Resort And Spa
La Plantation Balaclava
La Plantation Mauritius
The Ravenala Attitude Mauritius/Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ravenala Attitude staff and other travellers.
180 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (180)

Questions? Get answers from The Ravenala Attitude staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to a Beachfront Room on the Adults wing for spectacular sunset views from your balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 1983RICH1983, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Adults only wing”
 of 5 bubbles iantZ2343ZO, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms facing the river, in my opinion the best location in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 673melissaj, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Couples side over looking the river”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles greeneddy, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pool Side are best and also near the rivers or even the one for couple near the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles murvyna, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5