We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

Booking.comUS$425*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

901 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

A really great hotel with great facilities in a great location. The room was spacious, well equipped, and the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The beach is sandy and kept well tended. The numerous pools were spacious, and attractive. The restaurants were of a high standard with good varied menus. Although the hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gnsjames
Goetsch R, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear gnsjames , Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort &Spa ,Mauritius. I'm delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay and that you did find all suitable for your needs whilst being with us. We do hope to see you back soon. Be well , Roman Goetsch, General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We were made extremely welcome by the staff at the Westin. So helpful including making my sons birthday special and helping me sort out my broken glasses. Good staff ratio too: promptly attending to all your holiday needs! Breakfast was amazing and I strongly recommend the sushi night. Yum.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
Goetsch R, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Louise J , We are delighted to learn that you had a 'perfect stay' at our resort and thank you for your feedback. Your comments have been shared to all our associates who will all the more be motivated to continue on this track of excellence of service. We look forward to the pleasure of your visit yet again...

Pune, India
Reviewed 10 September 2016

To start with, we had a good experience with Air Mauritius. The flight is on time and it was overall a comfortable journey with good refreshments and friendly staff on board. After we reached Mauritius airport we were greeted by this cab service guy we had booked in advance. Must say, the people here are warm, welcoming and professional. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank buzzswati
Goetsch R, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear buzzswati , Your compliments and appreciation of the team and their services indicates that we have succeeded in delivering a good balance of comfort, luxury and efficiency to you during your stay. Our endeavor is always to provide personalized and unobtrusive service to our guests and we are glad to learn that we could create a memorable experience for...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Our first trip to Mauritius and the Westin was one of the highlights. From the moment we arrived - with two children aged 3 and 5 - to the time we left it was a truly special experience. The hotel itself is wonderful - nicely designed and easy to navigate, with fantastic facilities. Of these, the kids club is the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kilt_Wanderer
Goetsch R, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Kilt_Wanderer , What a lovely sum up to what we strive to do on a daily basis! THANK YOU, thank you for so beautifully wording your recent experience at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort &Spa ,Mauritius. I am convinced that travelers will gain a lot of insights while reading your experience. There is a genuine and sincerity in our...

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Waste of money ! More to the point Every thing was a fight like process Not worth the hassle .much better places avalable . Requested a sea front room got a 2nd floor beach view -managed to get a ground floor eventually . We're were given 5 complementary therapies-- at the spa -- when we book and-- they argued it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kiran V
Goetsch R, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Kiran V , Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay with us. Our records indicate that the initial room type allocated for your two rooms were as per the booking received and upgraded to Westin Executive Club rooms as per the offer extended at that time. All our Westin Executive Club rooms...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This hotel is beautiful and the service was amazing. The rooms are large and airy and the food was excellent throughout our stay. The only reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars was because the beach is a little rocky compared to others we saw, and the watersports team were not as encouraging as one would wish. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allyson S
Goetsch R, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Allyson S , It was a pleasure of having you staying with us at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort &Spa and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience Thank you for all the valuables points you have mentioned regarding the Watersport team. The perception of our guests is our reality, and...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We stayed at this resort for 10 days, the hotel is located about 10km from port Luis, from the airport it takes 45 mins by taxi. Upon arrival we were greeted by welcome ice tea, he check in was nice, friendly and smooth, with a short introduction of the hotel, a hotel welcome letter and a hotel map. All staff...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Palslow
Goetsch R, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Palslow , Thank you for your comment that you have shared with others on Trip Advisor. I am very happy that you enjoyed holidays with us. It is always such a pleasure to read how much people enjoy our hotel, we do endeavor to provide good service to our guests. We do indeed try our best to maintain very...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Visited in the last 2 weeks of August. This is a terrific hotel. The rooms are brilliant (we had the lowest level room and it was huge, luxurious and beautifully looked after). The standout here is the food and the front line staff. They have wonderful produce and first class chefs. For lunch, we ate at the Beach Grill: Benjo...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lems33
Goetsch R, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Lems33 , Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Trip Advisor. I am enchanted to read that you found the ambiance, our culinary offerings and service outstanding. I sincerely appreciate your kind compliments regarding the level of service provided by my associates and they are equally happy to hear that their efforts are well...

Smithers, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Friendliness abounded from the moment of arrival. Very peaceful setting and a wonderful beachfront view across the bay and open ocean. The deluxe room is beautiful and all amenities provided for a very comfortable stay including Illy espresso machine. The buffet has a wide selection for breakfast and dinner, and nice to have afternoon coffee out on the deck. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
Goetsch R, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Joanna S , Thank you for the wonderful review about The Westin Turtle Bay Resort &Spa Mauritius that you have shared on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you were impressed with the overall quality of the facilities in the resort and the services provided during your stay. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration for...

Rovereto, Italy
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonardo m

1,779 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1185)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (199)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (595)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (485)
Viewed
Amenities (106)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Sea View (78)
Viewed
Heavenly Suite with Sea View (86)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Reflections Wisper Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (109)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,402 reviews
0.5 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.5 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
2.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,895 reviews
45.9 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Embraced by the gently swaying sugar cane fields and the warm turquoise water of the Indian Ocean, The Westin Mauritius Turtle Bay Resort & Spa invites you to experience the magic of Mauritian hospitality in a truly luxurious setting. The resort boasts 190 guest rooms and suites, all of them offering stunning views over the ocean, a kids club, luxury Mandara spa and a fine selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius (Formerly The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa)
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range: €234 - €457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mauritian Hotel Balaclava
The Grand Mauritian Resort And Spa
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius staff and other travellers.
99 questions
Ask a question
London
John J London, United Kingdom Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Not as helpful

no you definitely need a car or take a taxi.

4 months ago
Blackpool, United Kingdom
claresteve2016 London, United Kingdom Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
3
Votes
Not as helpful

The all inclusive starts at 11am and finishes at 23:00, you get breakfast, lunch and dinner but no snacks in between, so if you dont drink a lot of alcohol I would stick with the half board, especially if you do a lot of trips out where the lunch is included. The drinks and food there are not cheap so if u do plan on spending a lot of time in resort it's worth doing a price comparison.

7 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
RanBD Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Not as helpful

Yes just ask for our room 1601 the closest to the beach

over a year ago
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Sumen N Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Hi Claire, sorry for the late reply.

The drinks are usually very expensive at most Hotels. It's best you have booked full board. Take care and enjoy,

Sumen Naicker.

2 months ago
Mauritius
5 months ago
manmeet42 New Delhi, India Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

I did not see any heated pool during my visit. For hundred percent authentification you may kindly call them up.

5 months ago

See all questions (99)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beachfront rooms ground floor especially give great views of the ocean”
grahamcarr2017, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Beach View Room Near Boat House”
fnbpearlebeach, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are nice as you get a little garden”
ExTwickersGirl, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the edge of the resort are quieter”
whitmanmartha, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have children rooms around the reception and spa area is highly recommended due to the easy access to the pool and main facilities.”
Bhanesha_Beekarry, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$425* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$425
Expedia.comUS$425
TravelocityUS$425
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates