We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riverside Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riverside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 444: English reviews
Start your review of Riverside Hotel
 Click to rate
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had a two night stay at this Old English Inn. It is in a great location on the river a couple of miles from the centre of Burton. If you didn’t want to use your car there are regular buses into Burton or Lichfield on the main road but beware these cease early evening. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Del-&-Mags
Mark T, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the area around us. We hope to see you again soon.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Smart room - good quality bathroom. Easy parking. Nice river views. Good service in restaurant . Good choice of breakfast. Lovely for a short break as near to a few National Trust properties. Would recommend a visit to Calke Abbey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
Mark T, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the area around us. We hope to see you again soon.

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by the very hospitable Manager Tom. He gave us all the infomation we would need to enjoy our stay. We settled in and went down to use the bar. all areas felt as if they undergone a refurb and was done to a traditional but funky styling. All the bar staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kelly1324
Mark T, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us hear at the Riverside, We are glad that you like the refurbishment as we do too. Thank you for your kind comments regarding Tom and the team, I will Pass this on to them and we hope to welcome you...

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a superior room for a few tranquil days (how wrong can you get it) Beautiful room and bathroom with free standing bath but unable to enjoy it because the room was so bitter cold and noisy. This room is situated at the top of the stairs from the bar! and is very noisy from late drinkers and then the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fosterhorticulture
Mark T, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, I have looked in to the issue regarding the bathrooms heating not working and now this has been fix. I have also worked closely with my housekeeping team and making them aware that with the Branston room been above the bar that noise in an old building dose travel, stock...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here at lunchtime with a friend, we were asked to seat ourselves to which we did only to be told the table was reserved. So we moved and one of the girls asked us if we would like a drink, we ordered them and they arrived promptly. We ordered our mains and after 40 minutes they arrived.. there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hk1595
Mark T, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that on this occasion we did not reach the high standards I am expecting form my team and this will be discussed and new training given to the team that was working on the day.

Ledbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We arrived on Friday evening, and we were greeted by the lovely staff. Our room was spotless and really well decorated, in the evening we decided to eat in the restaurant, sadly for us it was fully booked so we had to walk into the local town. Saturday evening we booked a table and we were so glad we did,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James1951edry
Mark T, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review The Riverside, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind works on to my team, and we hope to see you again soon.

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Hadn't been to the Riverside for ages but gave it a try 6th Feb it was really good , very extensive menus I counted 8 dishes off the menus suitable for vegetarians which is most unusual. We were a party of 4 enjoying a lunchtime meal. Nothing could be faulted , from the minute we walked in we were greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magaret E
Mark T, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed you lunch with us. We do have an extensive menu to cater for everyone. I am pleased that you like our refurbishment as we are pleased too. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

I have stayed at this hotel several times and liked the atmosphere and the fantastic setting. Now it has been transformed. There has been an excellent makeover, very modern, very stylish, brilliant shower room, great lighting and most of all very comfortable. The sockets have integral USB charging points. Certainly made the best of the rooms. The original great breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
Mark T, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to read your lovely review about your visit to "The Riverside". We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you soon.

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We caĺled into here for lunch and a nose around as hadnt been before. Food was lovely and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Definately be returning sometime soon. They also are offering a discount card at the moment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
Mark T, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. Myself and my team are glad that you enjoyed to lunch with us. We run offers the whole year round. like our facebook page to be kept up to date with the offers and we hope to see you again soon.

Sheffield, South Yorks.
Reviewed 29 January 2017

The Riverside Hotel is a good combination of a friendly local pub and small hotel with conference or function facilities. I believe there was a re-furbishment last year and certainly both the public rooms and my bedroom were in good order and comfortable. I had remembered the place from having a business lunch there many years ago - I think...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YorkshirePud_7
Mark T, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review about your experience at The Riverside. I will pass on your kind words to my team. We hope to see you again soon.

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
7.2 km away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
399 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
436 reviews
2.9 km away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
291 reviews
3.5 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Price Range: €80 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverside Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Lake District, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Nottingham

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 11”
 of 5 bubbles Del-&-Mags, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for river view.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonf228, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check that the heating has been sorted before booking the superior room and its ok if you are a late night drinker.”
 of 5 bubbles fosterhorticulture, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles James1951edry, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles 199claret, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5