We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Genesee Grande Hotel

View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Genesee Grande Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 409: English reviews
Start your review of The Genesee Grande Hotel
 Click to rate
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I should have researched more before making my selection. The room didn't have a coffee top or mini frig. The room was very very small. Ordered room service - the guy acted like he was being bothered. The tray from the room service, sat outside the door for two days.

Thank tmccall2017
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

1st impressions were great. A beautiful grand entrance to a welcoming front desk. Nice architectural touches with a coy pond in the main lobby....And that's where it ends. 2nd impressions-Room was clean, but heater never turns off. It runs all night, clicking away right in front of you, waking us up every so often. There's no coffee machine, nor is...

Thank Hard2Hate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in town for the Syracuse Half Marathon and chose this hotel because it is within walking distance of the OnCenter and was lower priced than the other hotels that were closer. It is a nice place, and I really appreciated having free self parking available. My room was very clean and comfortable, and the restaurant/bar served good food...

Thank Robert B
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Robert B, We are so sorry to hear about your lack of sleep, if you have a moment I would really like to discuss these issues with you in person. I will leave my contact information below. Nick Krenn Front Desk Manager NKrenn@woodbinehospitality.com Phone: 315-476-4212

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Stayed overnight after an event downtown. The bed was so amazing I didn't want to leave. Staff is attentive and friendly. The room was clean and so were common spaces. There is a wonderful shuttle service and hotel restaurant is amazing.

Thank kate1074
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

kate1074, That is so wonderful to hear that you had had a great experience with us, and even better than that great sleep on top of that. We appreciate the great review and your business. Hope to see you back again soon.

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at The Genesee Grande for a business meeting that was held on the premises. Even though it's an older hotel everything about it is classic but with modern amenities. The room was clean and comfortable. The business meeting room were bright and met our needs quite well. Food was very good (arranged for the group) and the service was...

WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

LCFHBG. TRULY OUTSTANDING! So glad our staff made you feel welcome and accommodated in every sense of the word. Its great that everything went so well with the business meeting. We appreciate your kind review and your business, hope to see you again in the near future.

New Jersey
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

This is a great hotel located just a few blocks from campus and on a nice day very walkable. Parking is ample and service is excellent. Some rooms are more updated and spacious so aim for an upgrade. Restaurant is very good and there is a nice coffee/breakfast bar off the lobby. Will definitely repeat.

Thank nfenne
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

nfenne, Love the review, thank you so much. We can't wait to have you back again, if you haven't signed up yet please look into enrolling in our free loyalty rewards program with Stash Rewards. It rewards our loyal guests with points to redeem at similar unique hotels throughout the country.

The Bay Area
Reviewed 13 January 2017

My experience with the hotel, while brief, was very good. The room was in the building across the street - unfortunately, I was given a 2nd floor room without view (which in my system takes off at least a star). The room was spacious, i liked the feel of the furniture which took me back to the days of the...

Thank cuckatoo
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

cockatoo, We would like to thank you for the fantastic review, Although you discounted a star from the review based on view we still perceive this as a terrific review considering the city of Syracuse doesn't have much to offer in the terms of scenery nearby. Sounds like you had an amazing time at our restaurant 1060. We certainly appreciate...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I was searching for a hotel in the downtown Syracuse area because my business will bring me there often in the future. I booked the room via HotelsOne.com which supposedly offered a price guarantee if I could find a lower price for this hotel. I found a much lower listed price the day after I booked..... they refused to adjust...

Thank BfloJack
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

BfloJack, We apologize for your experience booking with us through a 3rd party, had you booked directly with us you would have avoided all of this mess. When booking with a 3rd party nothing is guaranteed including the room type; which is the reason they are sold cheaper than booking directly with the hotel. Unfortunately we have no control over...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Came into town for a wedding at the hotel and while I'm pleased for the newlyweds, the room I was given seems like a room the Best Western may offer. Wallpaper is starting to peel, the bath tub is probably from 1972 and the room itself is a little small. While I appreciate the history of the building, $150/night for...

Thank Jason Michael M
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Jason, So sorry you left with a bad impression of us, we wish we heard about these issues when you checked in so we had an opportunity to look into them and take action towards a resolution that would have benefited all parties involved. If you would like to discuss the matter further I will leave my contact information below....

Reviewed 9 December 2016

We had high expectations of this supposed 4 star hotel. The lobby was inviting and plush and the check in was smooth. Our room was in the "other" building. The heater shot out a burst of cold air before warming and rattled all the time it was on. Room was spacious with somewhat dated furniture. The hair dryer didn't work....

Thank cahill m
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Cahill m, We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us being awoken by the random fire alarm and loud heater. I would like to speak with you in further detail about your experience with us if you have time to chat with me please contact me, I will leave my contact information below. Nick Krenn Front Desk...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (96)
Room/Suite (50)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (17)
View from Room (2)
Bathroom (8)
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (21)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (5)
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
502 reviews
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.3 km away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
440 reviews
0.6 km away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
1.3 km away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1809
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Price Range: €142 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Genesee Grande Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Natick, Massachusetts
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Genesee Grande Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are extremely small so be sure to ask.”
tmccall2017, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Given my experience, I would recommend asking for a room that is NOT located over a conference room or ballroom.”
G324OVrobertb, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go the Sheraton”
panoramicview2015, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Walls are thin, you can hear all of your neighbors.”
dbx389, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in main building so you don't have to walk across driveway breezeway”
jefflikestravel, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$168* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates