We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Inn & Suites Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
 Click to rate
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When we first drove up to the Quality Inn, it was not at all impressive but we had a reservation so we checked in. The front desk person was very friendly, offered us freshly baked cookies and assigned us to a room. The elevator was scary. After the doors closed, it jerked and then we questioned if was actually moving....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl323
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We were visiting our daughter at Syracuse University for a couple of days. The location was great - easy access to the highways and near downtown and the university. The room was very comfortable and sleek. What made the stay excellent was the wonderful staff. Always greeted us with a smile and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Viraj P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Carol, Thank you staying with us and leaving us your valuable feedback. Thank you Viraj

Ithaca, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

As soon as we walked in the front doors, I had a good feeling about this place. It looked and smelled clean. The lady as the front desk was smiling and very friendly. Our room was a little bit smaller than expected, but still ample space for all our things. If we'd been on one of our normal week-long road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is newly redone. The room is beautiful. It's located near downtown but doesn't give you parking problems. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was good too. Omelets and meat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abdulwalia1234
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was able to stay here for a pretty great rate. I booked directly on the hotel website and received a discount for purchasing ahead of time (only catch is that you can't cancel the reservation but I knew that I wouldn't be changing my plans, so I didn't mind). Room was nice and clean. The design was aesthetically appealing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shwartzm2711
Viraj P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Shwartzm2711 Thank you for staying with us and leaving us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stayed with us. Thank you Viraj

Johnson City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose to stay at this hotel the night before the Syracuse Half Marathon. It was a quick walk from the hotel to the On Center and a lot less expensive than other hotels in the area. The lobby is welcoming and I was pleased to see video from cameras all around the hotel at the front desk - made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BehryCanary
Viraj P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Hi BehryCanary, Thank you for staying with us. We are try to accommodate our guest in best possible way we can. Hoping to see you again in November race. Thank you Viraj

Reviewed 15 March 2017

You won't go wrong staying at this hotel. Rooms are clean with comfortable bedding. Internet worked with no issues. Management was very accommodating. Breakfast is typical Quality Inn, but nothing wrong with that. It hit the spot! I will say that the elevator ride may make you wonder if you're going to make it. Some "hard" landings when going to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inspector027
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Great rates, clean, comfy beds and pillows and nice staff. Free breakfast was very good. Has a family run feel very friendly and accommodating. We had an enjoyable an stay. Will be back when we visit our daughter at SU.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beth g
Viraj P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Beth, Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a feedback. Thank you Viraj

Sparta, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Not knowing anything about Syracuse, I booked this hotel very quickly without looking at specific details. This is a MOTEL (read: outside corridors). We checked in hesitantly because I wasn't sure about the safety of the area. We took the elevator to the 3rd floor. I wouldn't suggest taking the elevator. The doors closed and nothing happened for a bit....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blahsaystoad
Viraj P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Blahsaystoad, Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a feedback. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you had when staying with us. We are currently working with the elevator company to fix it. Once again please accept our apology for the inconvenience. Thank you Viraj

Little Falls, New York
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as a family overnight on December 16 while in town to watch Disney on Ice. What a pleasant surprise when we checked into our room (#107) and it was newly renovated and so modern! The room was very large and the pillows were to die for!!!! Nice breakfast buffet, too! Very conveniently located only 5 minutes from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hthomas0609

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A select-service hotel located in downtown Syracuse, NY. The hotel is located less than 1.5 miles to all major area hospitals, 0.5 miles to Armory Square (where there are many bars and restaurants), and 1.2 miles from Syracuse University. We are the best value in downtown Syracuse. Get a beautiful room at a beautiful price. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 454 James St, Syracuse, NY 13203-2225 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Price Range: €75 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Syracuse
Syracuse Econo Lodge
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Ottawa, Canada

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use the stairs, if able, to reach higher floors. The elevator is questionable.”
Cheryl323, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the street side were kind of noisy. There seemed to be a lot of cars without mufflers on this particular night.”
BehryCanary, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are very small and the layout is tight.”
  • See the close proximate of the door, nice sized TV. Satelite kept conking out though
  • Small desk crammed into corner. Be careful opening bathroom door if someone is at desk. Very tig
  • From the far side of the bed you can see the cramped space between the bed and the dresser
michaelalang2016, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 301 was a quick trip up the steps from check in so I opted to skip the elevator. It was a corner room so had a nice view.”
TrackMomof3, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“304 was a nice room”
TaraL267, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5