We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gideon Putnam

Expedia.comUS$183*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$220*
US$183*
US$220*
US$183*
US$220*
US$183*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,145: English reviews
Start your review of The Gideon Putnam
 Click to rate
Albany, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stopped in with friends for lunch. The restaurant is beautiful. The food was very good as was the service. The club sandwich was excellent, as well as the Saratoga chips, which were served warm with sour cream.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maijr1119
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

I stopped in for an overnight visit during a business trip scheduled in downtown Saratoga. My room was clean and very comfortable. I enjoy the property's rich history and friendly faces. The GM took time to introduce himself and made me feel at home as I was checking in. A very nice man, as well a very nice lady helping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
About Hotel's Favourite Review
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Jeffrey, yes, I remember meeting you. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our historic hotel, and that you felt well taken care of. I will make sure to share your nice comments with Heather. Thank you for choosing The Gideon Putnam, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

New York Hudson Valley Region
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Yes, this is an older hotel and while the common areas have been updated, my room up on the 5th floor had torn carpeting and two inconveniences: you had to shut the bathroom door to use the sink because the door opened into the sink and you couldn't watch TV from both the easy chair and the bed at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmorena
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a conference. Room was neat. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was great. Shower had minimal pressure. None of the outlets worked to charge my phone. The towels were really hard. I probably wouldnt stay here personally but it was conference friendly and the shuttle bus was great for a large group to have a good time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. We are slowly renovating the guestrooms this year (we must work around occupancy), and have been/will be replacing all in-room textiles, to include towels, carpeting, linens. There are working outlets in every room... to power the lamps, coffee, refrigerator, t.v., alarm clocks,...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went there expecting excellent service and I wasn't disappointed. The inn was undergoing a complete renovation so there was some mess. But considering the scope of the effort it was not an issue. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I really enjoyed the few days I spent there. I will definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lewis M
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We'll see you the next time your plans lead you this way.

Wrightstown, NJ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to the area, we were truly satisfied with staying at the Gideon. We had a tremendous 3 day adventure with out Corvette friends who attended and found the staff to be quite amenable to our parking needs and our banquets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

We loved having your group here - thank you for choosing us! Please remember The Gideon Putnam for future roadtrips!

Stoney Creek
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great resort and spa. The location is terrific. Older hotel so old world charm. Bathroom a little dated but still good. Lots of touristy things to do and situated amongst many smaller towns. An easy location to drive to and just outside Albany New York. Great History and has been a Stop for many over the last couple of hundred...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

I am really happy to hear you had an awesome time! Thank you for your appreciation of our historic hotel and spa, located in the beautiful Saratoga Spa State Park. Please come see us again.

Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was met my very friendly staff upon check in. Room was ready even though I arrived earlier than scheduled time. Room was clean and very comfortable. Shuttle service was provided. Check out was efficient and easy. Hotel sits in a beautiful park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tfc328
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the details of your very positive visit to our hotel and spa. We hope great memories will lead you back to us.

Williamsville, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome location to stay. Great food, plenty of things to do. Clean rooms. Helpful staff. Highly recommend. Would stay again next time visit the Saratoga Spring, NY area. Very clean city with plenty of stores to shop, restaurants to visit, great for walking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Gideon Putnam.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the resort for a conference and it was a wonderful visit. The staff went above and beyond for us. Only down side was the beds. Not comfortable at all. Rumor has it that they are redoing all the rooms so hopefully that is addressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your conference. You are correct, we have started a major renovation and have recently completed the conference center. We will be renovating the guestrooms and corridors this year - this will take some time as we have to work around occupancy.

417 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (123)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (22)
Viewed
Large Porch Suite (25)
Viewed
Putnam Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Double Beds (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
3.2 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
568 reviews
3.1 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
288 reviews
2.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
389 reviews
2.0 km away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
62 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Rd, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6218 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Price Range: €159 - €433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gideon Putnam staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Gideon Putnam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor are definitely quieter.”
852kathyn, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms come in different sizes, so ask.”
Vt_folks, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in a corner suite. Room was spacious and had a large bathroom.”
945kristir, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“back side higher up”
purdyde, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a jubnior suite overlooking the golf course. It was very quiet!”
Linspj, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$183* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$183
Orbitz.comUS$183
HotelQuicklyUS$220
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates