We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Capital Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Capital Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Savannah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Will stay here in the future. Had everything we needed. Close to the train station. Enjoyed the Chinese food across the street. Very convenient. Good Value. Need an elevator in the two story building that we stayed in.

Helpful?
Thank Charles C
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review

thank you More 

New york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The rooms were disgusting. There's mold in the bathroom, crap splattered on the wall, dirty socks and bugs in the bed. Tequila in the dresser. The carpets are stained. And the rooms smell like crap mixed with smoke and must. The floors aren't vacuumed. The sheets are clearly not clean nor are the blankets and pillows. There was dog poop... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Softball802
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review

thank you More 

Travellers are raving about these Rensselaer hotels

New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The rooms were musty and smoky smelling. We found a booze bottle a quarter full in one of our bureaus and a dirty sock in the bed. Food was splattered in the microwave and the floor was CLEARLY not vacuumed. The beds were not comfortable, you could feel the springs. The top bed spread was clearly not washed and not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob765
Bristol, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were here for a softball tournament and stayed here with our team. We heard that there were bed bugs so we all checked the beds. In our room we found cracker crumbs laying all in the sheets. Underneath the bed, dirty socks. Another room had an almost empty bottle of tequila in between the pillows. There was cigarette burns... More 

Helpful?
Thank libobwil
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review

thank you More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a long period and they staff are very friendly and helpful. Very good location and the rooms are quite clean. The prices are great for the area and about 5 min drive from downtown Albany.

Helpful?
Thank Arash B
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review

thank you More 

East Greenbush, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Needed a room for one night ,asked to see a room, asked to see another room, answer was all room are the same, On that note got back in the car and drove away. Nasty, Nasty. There are more hotels in the area but can not help you.

Helpful?
Thank P E
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review

thank you More 

Thailand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

No complaints about this basic hotel, except that it's difficult to find any services nearby. We did find a Chinese restaurant in a small strip mall a few miles to the left (west), between a Subway and a hot dog restaurant. If you're looking for a low-priced option and are just passing through this should be OK, but not for... More 

Helpful?
Thank BKKMH
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review

thank you More 

Rensselaer
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

You can't beat the price of a hotel under $70 but there is a few things you have to suffer through in order to save money. First thing was the smell. I booked a non-smoking room but it still had a horrible smell of smoke. The bathroom could have been cleaner, especially the shower floor. The comforter had cigarette holes... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eric C
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review

now we are above average More 

Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Got a last minute invite to a sports tournament nearby. Everything in the area was booked unless >175.00 night/or this place... and all we needed was a place to sleep.... Figuring it couldn't be THAT bad we went for it - plus it had a pool and it was projected to be hot. We got there late and checked in.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ordo_Skirata
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review

thank you More 

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
3.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany
3.3 km away
Fairfield Inn Albany East Greenbush
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
3.5 km away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
3.2 km away
Comfort Inn Albany / Glenmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Capital Inn & Suites

Address: 110 Columbia Turnpike, Rensselaer, NY 12144 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown)
Region: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Price Range: €86 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Capital Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Capital Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rensselaer
Rensselaer Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Capital Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the new building in the back seemed to be the better rooms.”
  • spacious room
 of 5 bubbles Y6638FRmelissal, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“two story set of suites in the back was quite and had plenty of parking”
 of 5 bubbles ronaldn550, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Keep on going, we stayed at a Quality Inn in Latham ,We are from the area so we know where we are ,so for out of towners, you may want to stay elsewhere , good luck .”
 of 5 bubbles 12pe, 24 May 2014 | Read review
“Rooms at other hotels are bound to be better.”
 of 5 bubbles Ordo_Skirata, 14 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else! and use TripAdvisor first! There are many very nice places to stay in the area. Try the Marriott Fairfield or the Marriott Residence Inn (both nearby, with restaurants and easy highway access) as some other family members stayed there and were very pleased. The Marriotts were also very helpful to my family members that had to find alternate lodging in the middle of the night. We always try to support small businesses, but this time we made a mistake.”
 of 5 bubbles mw721, 30 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay