We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunset Kendwa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Kendwa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Kendwa
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A simple family beach holiday with a focus on relaxing on the beach, diving and kite surfing. The accommodation is simple and basic but clean, working aircon, hot running water and large comfy beds. The diving at co-located dive school Scuba Do was very professional and a great experience. The beach and sea is breathtaking. Having the palms really helps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jchilcott29
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately, I thought this hotel was a 2/3*. Which was disappointing as I was looking forward to 5 days of utter relaxation in Zanzibar. This is a back packers hotel in my opinion. I thought there was no care or attention for customer service and while I understand the slow, relaxed way of life, this service was INCREDIBLY slow. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Kendwa, responded to this review

Hi Cathy B, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for any inconvenient you have undergone with our service. Our staff comes from "The tourism and Hospitality college in Dar es Salaam" and we are improving our service offering more training on a daily basis. As per our bar missing cocktail we have just rearranged our bar supply in order...

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Two stars may be generous for this place. Beginning with the pro's- the beach is absolutely beautiful with white sand and clear water. The watersports office next door (at Kendwa Rocks, not the one at this resort) is very helpful and organizes affordable snorkeling/diving excursions. Most of the rooms are very close to the beach and restaurant which was helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madison H
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Kendwa, responded to this review

Hi Madison H, Thank you for your review. I apologize for the incovenience undergone during your stay. Please consider that Our staff comes from "The tourism and Hospitality college in Dar es Salaam" and we will better train them to serve international clients. As per the wifi we are going to change our system in order to be more clients...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 7 November 2016

The service provided by the reception after I requested reimbursement of my night because there was a disco that blasted the music next to our bungalow until 3 am was awful. The employees gave me all sorts of excuses for not being able to reach the manager for the two following days. They even suggested it was my fault if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pj00122
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Kendwa, responded to this review

Hi pj00122, Thank you for your review. Lately, we have adopted new guidelines regarding entertainment activities that forecast an alert in advance of the customers that might be involved or affected in some measure by such activities by verbal alert including the showing of adequate signs around the hotel area. I apologize for your case and please be reassured that...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 October 2016

First the good: the rooms are large and spacious, the beach is heaven, plenty of hot water, nice sofas around bar area, staff friendly Needs improvement: the grounds are in need of repair; broken lights, chips in cement railing, stairs, paving rocks on footpaths, paint worn, mess under staircase. rooms could use finishing touch up - cover holes ion ceiling...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SJP9093
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Kendwa, responded to this review

Hi SJP9093, Thank you for your review. We are planning to start this month doing some renovation job especially in the common areas and we have changed our supplies to have top quality fresh food. We invite you to come back in order to see the change we have reserved for all our new and returning customers.

Belgium
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Basic but great location and wonderful food. The price/quality ratio is correct !! The food is so delicious and very cheap. Great hotel for a low budget trip to romantic Zanzibar. Very friendly staff ! At a few steps from the restaurant you can walk in the surf of the ocean. Great spot to dive too, just a few 100...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LolaPalooza18
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Kendwa, responded to this review

Hi LolaPalooza18, Thank you for your nice review and for choosing Sunset Bungalows for your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Good: The beach was amazing! White sand, clear blue water. Couldn't have been nicer. Room was ok. A lizard stayed with us the last 2 nights though. Bad: Service was slow. We were staying for a few days and wanted to charge drinks to our room so we didn't have to carry cash on the beach, they were extremely slow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenandsherm
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Kendwa, responded to this review

Hi Jenandsherm, Thank you for your review and for having your stay with us. We have just implemented our new POS System for payments so that in the period of your stay slow down might have happened as it was for your case. We apologize for the incovenience on your half board choice; this is quite a new formula for...

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel seems like a ship slowly sinking. Our room was mediocre and the walls were quite filthy, plus the bathroom sink leaked onto the floor. The service is very slow and lacking, and the restaurant/bar employees treat you like you're an inconvenience to them. Even the security guards were rude to my friend and I. We ended up going...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank treeniefewer
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Kendwa, responded to this review

Dear Treeniefewer, Thank you for your feedback. At this moment we are undergoing general mantainance work in the whole hotel. I apologize for any inconvenient you have undergone with our service. Our staff comes from "The tourism and Hospitality college in Dar es Salaam" and we are improving our service offering more training on a daily basis.

Stavanger Municipality, Norway
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 days in september. Lets start with the positiv sides: Close to the beach A/C avaliable. If you like to party - you can have party til 4 in the morning. Downsides: In need of renavation. Hard bed Mosquito nets with wholes Bad breakfast Unorganised workstaff Feels dirty Music till 03-04 o clock - very loud.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CathrineD88
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Kendwa, responded to this review

Hi CathrineD88, Thank you for your review. We are to start general maintenance work in the whole hotel. As for breakfast we have changed our menu introducing some new dishes like "pane al latte" (bread with eggs) Our staff comes from "The tourism and Hospitality college in Dar es Salaam" and we are improving our service offering more training on...

Reviewed 11 September 2016

A stunning hotel with fantastic rooms at very reasonable prices. The beach was gorgeous, well maintained with security guards and plenty of sun loungers. Although the bar and restaurant were very reasonably priced, the service was extremely slow so we often went to other hotels next door to eat (Kendwa Rocks & Essence).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Kendwa, responded to this review

Dear Penny S, Thank you for your nice review and for having chosen Sunset Bungalows. As for the service we are improving our quality offering more training on a daily basis to our staff which is chosen directly among "The Tourism and Hospitality college" in Dar es Salaam.

405 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (405)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (93)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (142)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
0.0 km away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
124 reviews
3.0 km away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#15 of 17 in Nungwi
206 reviews
0.5 km away
Kendwa Beach Villa
Kendwa Beach Villa
#3 of 4 in Kendwa
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mocco Beach Villa
Mocco Beach Villa
#5 of 7 in Kendwa
24 reviews
0.3 km away
Natural Kendwa Villa
Natural Kendwa Villa
#2 of 7 in Kendwa
43 reviews
0.0 km away
Sunset Kendwa Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Sunset Kendwa, your place to stay in the tropical paradise of Zanzibar's north coast. Fringed by powdery-white sand beaches, azure waters, and thriving coral reefs, the exotic spice island of Zanzibar is the most idyllic of tropical destinations. We offer a wide range of brightly decorated traditional rooms and bungalows, as well as all the facilities you will need to help you ease into Zanzibar's relaxed pace of life. Right on the perfect sands of Kendwa beach on Zanzibar's north coast, this is the perfect place to unwind, spend your days swimming or sun-bathing, snorkelling, scuba diving with our award winning on site water sports centre Scuba Do Zanzibar ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Kendwa

Address: P.O. Box 3546, 3546, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Price Range: €86 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Kendwa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Kendwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Zanzibar
Sunset Hotel Zanzibar
Sunset Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Hotel Style:
#102 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Kendwa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sunset Kendwa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles pj00122, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We chose a room for 4 (as a couple) to have more space but that was a personal choice.”
 of 5 bubbles LolaPalooza18, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a beach room to be close to restaurant/bar. But be warned of the Friday night party that is very loud.”
 of 5 bubbles Jenandsherm, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the surfaces in the room are clean, I doubt they ever scrub them”
 of 5 bubbles martlume, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe beach bungalow ocean view (no. 47)”
  • Morning viw (early morning view)
  • Show off
  • Bungalow view (ocean is behind the back)
  • Me at the veranda
  • Moon view from the room
 of 5 bubbles VladUA, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5