We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,748 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,815: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Before we came on our trip I read some of the reviews on here about the food, staff, building work & rooms, and can say that we found nothing could have been further from the truth, from the moment we arrived the staff and especially Elisa bent over backwards to help us celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary we were given... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Alison G
TortugaDunas_Manager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Flinty264, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your precious time to share your experience with us and with fellow travelers online. It has been both an honor and a pleasure having you as our guests and being part of such an important occasion such... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2015

The first thing you'll notice about this hotel is just how friendly and attentive the staff are. They really make this hotel. Our room was more like a 2 bed apartment, bigger than mine at home. We had two bathrooms which made getting ready a lot quicker, the bed was extremely comfortable and the room had free aircon in the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Matt D
TortugaDunas_Manager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Matt D, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to share your holiday experience with us and with fellow travelers through Tripadvisor. Having read your review, we are glad to perceive that you have had a lovely holiday and that you were happy with your room,... More 

Luxembourg
Level Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2015

The property itself was nicely located next to beach. The resort is ok but it is definitely not a 5 star property, neither in terms of service nor in terms of the buildings itself. Food was ok but many times served too cold, breakfast room was horrible as too much noise and too crowded! Staff was quiet friendly but not... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Frank L
TortugaDunas_Manager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Frank L, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to review our hotel. After having read your review I’m sad to know that our services were not according to your standards, we always recommend our guests to not hesitate to contact our Guest Experience at the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2015

I think this hotel offers great value as you are getting a two bedroom apartment for the same price of a normal hotel room. Apartment was great. The hotel is the perfect size so you never really have to do too much walking. I would recommend getting a place on the other side of property due to the construction, the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kensington
TortugaDunas_Manager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kensington, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind acknowledgement of our accommodation however we are sorry that the we are not able to fully meet your expectations. Our food are prepared according to the highest... More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2015

I'm here as I speak, yes building work is close to hotel and is a bit noiesy at times but do not let this put you off....I tried to cancel but could not with thomsons... The hotel is more a complex than a hotel The apartment/rooms are large 2 bedrooms bath with shower ,kitchen area with fridge kettle,an iron hair... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank debbieD580423
TortugaDunas_Manager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear debbieD580423, Thank you for having selected Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your precious time to review our hotel. We are glad to perceive, from reading your description, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff, the accommodation, the food, the entertainment and the service... More 

East Bergholt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We went in January immediatly after New Year, and the wether was fantastic, 25 degs when we landed in the evening, remember this is virtually on the equater but on one hour different from GMT. I've seen a couple of revies on here complaining about 'not being up to a five star rating', well I would disagree. You really realise... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank sjd1965
TortugaDunas_Manager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear sjd1965, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for the second time for your winter holidays and for having taken the time to share your impressions with us and with fellow travelers through Tripadvisor. It has been truly a pleasure having you both as our guests and, after having read your review, we are very... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Melia Tortuga Beach and Spa. The flight out was on the dreamliner, lovely, as we had travelled on this plane in January we were delighted to use it again. However this time we had to pay for earphones, free on the January flight and had to pay for drinks, free on... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Colette G
TortugaDunas_Manager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Colette G, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to review our hotel. We are glad that you had a relaxing holiday with us and we thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, the accommodation and the facilities, however we are... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

I feel that I have the obligation to share my impressions and thoughts about this facinating hotel. We were really received as valuable guests from . From the first day that we contacted the hotel for the reservation ,they were very proactive answering on time and giving all the info required. Arriving there everything was well arranged and prefect .... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Zohra T
TortugaDunas_Manager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Zohra T, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your precious time to share your thoughts with us. It has been a pleasure to have you as our guests, we are pleased to read that you have had a lovely holiday with us and that... More 

durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the tortuga. Nice hotel, but very quiet ,food a bit repetitive , not much choice in Spices restaurant , I did struggle some nights.There s the odd time you just fancy a burger and fries ,it's not there ,don't know what kids would eat, if that's what they would like. The grill bar at... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank brannan99
TortugaDunas_Manager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear brannan99, Thank you for having selected Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your precious time to review our hotel. We thank you for your kind comments about our staff friendliness and attentiveness, however, we are sorry to hear that you stay with us did not fully meet your expectations.... More 

Holland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2015

People at reception friendly and helpfull, room is more an appartment, very spacious and clean. Although i had several times old, not very clean towels. At the time that i was there, there was enough place around the pools and on the beach. But alot of wind, and at the beach you had to build a windshield. Think that the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ConnyHolland
TortugaDunas_Manager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear ConnyHolland, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for the time that you have set aside to share your opinion with us. Having read your review, we would like to thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our accommodation and the friendliness of our staff at the Reception. We are disappointed... More 

2,348 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2018)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (423)
Viewed
Room/Suite (201)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (437)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Dining (112)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Other (753)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (293)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Family Room (41)
Viewed
Kids Pool (4)
Viewed
Main Pool (10)
Viewed
Relax Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Villa (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#1 of 19 in Santa Maria
610 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#2 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,931 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#10 of 19 in Santa Maria
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#11 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,617 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#9 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,376 reviews
2.4 km away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#4 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 5 star Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive Resort is located in the southeast of the island Sal, only a few minutes from the colourful town Santa María and Amilcar Cabral international airport. During your stay you will find relaxation and fun right on the fabulous Algodoeiro beach, with its white sand and turquoise waters. The resort offers spectacular suites and villas with up to 4 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. Set in gardens there are 2 magnificent adult pools and 2 pools for children. Experience Yhi Wellness with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, thermal circuit, fitness facilities, massage and beauty treatments. Dining options include a variety of 4 restaurants and bars, offering a selection of international and local cuisine. The Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive is also the perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing or scuba diving. Events for up to 200 people can be organised in 2 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan | ZDTI Ponta Preta, Cape Verde - Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Price Range: €159 - €382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
374 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (374)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the 300's quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles 173janetj, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for rooms with a view to the ocean and choose the upper suites in the houses.”
 of 5 bubbles Rudolphe1952, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet apartment mid way between hotel reception and the beach, as both have loud music.”
 of 5 bubbles mkjan13, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the main hotel building as it is LOUD on a night!”
 of 5 bubbles 144katem144, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and stay away from the reception and entertainment area if you like tranquility!”
 of 5 bubbles MhairiC_12, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay