We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 November 2014

This place is shabby. Needs new carpets on the outside walkways. Walls and doors were dirty. The door to the room seemed like an inside type of door, not solid for an outside door. My wife did not feel safe. The curtains looked old and worn. There was a smell of sewer gas in the bathroom. The coverlet of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elizabeth t
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 October 2014

I can't believe this hotel exists in New Paltz! When I think of how beautiful New Paltz is and how it's a mecca for rock climbers, hikers and nature lovers, etc., I can't at all reconcile this place with my image of New Paltz. As several other reviewers have pointed out, there are so many things wrong with this place,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PAHiker
New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 July 2014

That pretty much sums it up. Not only do they not address the rampant mouse problem, they also fraudulently charged me $150 for carpet cleaning b/c they said I had a pet in the room. If the pet in the room was the mouse I never wanted then yes, guilty. The health department needs to shut this place down.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Brooke212
econo530, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We don't have any mice in are room and if you had seen them on the first night that you stayed we could have moved you another room, but you stayed in the room for three day and then wright a False complaint on tripadvisor. Also for those three nights that you stayed you had your pet in the room...

Hicksville
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Not sure why others are being so harsh, it's a nice place. Yes the outside needs a bit of touch up, but you're not sleeping outside. The room was nice, clean and beds were good, bathroom was clean, they have a pool which is nice and a little breakfast in the morning. For the price you really can't complain. Everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nyit2009
New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is by far the worst place I have ever seen. The entire place is in total disrepair. Smelly, worn, frayed, carpet on the outside stairs, complete safety hazard. Front desk rude! We were so disgusted by the outside that we asked to see a room before we signed in. The room was in as much disrepair as the outside....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire D
New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We wanted a good reasonably place to stay while we were in New Paltz and that's what the Econo Lodge was. It had a nice breakfast with juice, coffee, cereal, bagels and pastries and a nice little pool that was big enough to do laps in. The people at the desk were very nice and friendly too. I even liked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jgrossnas
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place is in dire need of cleanup and upgrading, but it's honestly just fine for a night. Most importantly, the bathroom was clean! Bed was ok, and there was no shortage of heat for the chilly night we had.The minifridge and microwave were good for convenience. Carpet could use a good shampoo, but that's what flip-flops are for! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sk00ter
New Paltz, New York
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Place is overpriced! My night here was so unconfortable, desk,chair,carpet were dirty. The room had a share bathroom with the neighbor,bed very unconfortable and on top i could hear the neighbor snorring, disapointed! I will not and certainly not return

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank est559
econo530, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

when we rented you the room there was some miscommunication the whole room was yours both side. you did not share the room with anyone. Your room was one of our family/group rooms. so if you were part of a group and two couples it would work like this, on one side one couple would stay and on the other...

Syosset
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Do Not Stay At This Place!!. People who work here and run this place Lie!! Do Not Attempt To Book A Reservation Because They Don't Cancel And Will Charge Your Credit Card!! My husband called way in advance ( a week in advance) and the nasty woman said we don't have a reservation. It turned out our name was spelled...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David s
South Orange
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here 1 night in August 2013. Room was fine. And the pool was nice. Breakfast was decent. I don't know what the other people are complaining about. It is a basic hotel -- what do you want? Everything was just what you could hope for.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kbnj

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
11.9 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
312 reviews
7.2 km away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
367 reviews
13.7 km away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
761 reviews
14.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
12.7 km away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 530 Main St, New Paltz, NY 12561-1609
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Price Range: €65 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge New Paltz
Econo Lodge New Paltz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles ladydi923, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No on #109 - it's over the boiler room and always hot. We had to have the AC on (when it was under 50 degrees outside) just to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Kay0855, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“close to park and ride - quick cab to town $5/$6”
 of 5 bubbles rof478, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“As it is a drive-up motel, you might want to request a second floor room, which by logic would be quieter and less susceptible to headlights”
 of 5 bubbles nater905, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
“206 is updated”
 of 5 bubbles SunKissedKate, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay