We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gurney\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 333: English reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Loved the renovation. Exquisite design, very friendly staff, and excellent spa and pool facility. The restaurant atmosphere was elegant yet down to earth and food was excellent! Highly recommend it...also since it's been a mild winter so far, one should take advantage of the discounted rates vs. summertime.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Edmond N
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Edmond N, Thank you for your comments regarding the renovation, staff, spa and the restaurant atmosphere. We appreciate the feedback and please let me know when you plan on returning, so I may assist with reservations. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

Reviewed 5 January 2016

I went to Gurney's the weekend after Christmas from 12/26 - 12/27. We were in a two bedroom oceanfront suite which was roomy, clean and the beds were VERY comfortable. The restaurant onsite was delicious. Overall everything has been improved and upgraded and my experience was wonderful. I had a wonderful 90 minute facial which I can compare to Four...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline K
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline K, Thank you for the wonderful comments and I appreciate the feedback, even if the pool was too chilly. I'm pleased to hear that everything has improved since your last stay and next time you'll have to try the ice skating. Please contact me directly for assistance upon your next trip and I'd be happy to make the...

Southampton, New York
Reviewed 5 January 2016

I stayed at Gurneys during Christmas week and was blown away by the differences from my last stay in February. I stayed in a king suite and everything about the room was first class. The bathroom was superbly updated, the decor top notch from the coffee maker to the robes and slippers in the bathroom. The umbrella in the closet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jopookie
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jopookie, Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your return stay with us. We're very proud of the strides we've made in service and in the resort product and this is seen in your comments. We appreciate the feedback and use it to improve everyday. We can't wait to welcome you back again in 2016 and hope that it...

Carlisle, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 January 2016

This is an update from last year. It was spectacular last year, and didn't disappoint. I can't pretend to claim that they listened specifically to my issues but it somehow most of the little things I mentioned that kind of 'got in the way' of a perfect experience were solved--- allowing for pure enjoyment of a beautiful and peaceful oceanfront...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarTRVLR
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear CarTRVLR, Wow,.. Thank you for the amazing comments and I'm so pleased that we were able to address the concerns you had previously. We learn everyday from our guests and this helps to improve the service offerings for all of our guests. We do hope that you'll join us again in the future and please contact me for assistance....

New Jersey
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We just spent three days here at Gurneys. We were in a king bed ocean front room. The view out of our large window was amazing!! Everyone who worked there couldn't be more kind, sweet and accommodating from the men who parked our cars to the restaurant staff. The room was clean and spacious. We had a beautiful time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1anemone23
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear 1anemone23, Thank you for the amazing comments and hearing that we were kind and sweet is one of our goals. Our team is dedicated to taking care of people and hearing this means that we're achieving our goals. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

Exceeded all expectations--beautiful ocean views, friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Ideal for a weekend getaway or extended relaxation. It will rejuvenate all your senses and transport you to a majestic peacefulness; what a beach!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denise K
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Denise K, Thank you so much for the wonderful comments you shared regarding your stay with us! I'm so pleased to hear that we exceeded you expectations and we do hope that you'll join us again in the future. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

Melville, New York
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I stay at Gurney’s every year during the summer with my family. This past summer we had a small issue with our reservation. Despite the problem, management was able to accommodate us right away. The entire Gurney’s staff were nothing short of amazing. You can’t beat the location and the service is top notch. I would definitely recommend this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sean B, Thank you for the wonderful comments and I'm so pleased to hear that we were able to rectify any issues this summer. I'm also pleased to hear that the team exceeded your expectations and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

Port Jefferson Station, New York
Reviewed 15 December 2015

My husband and I went to Gurney's to spend a weekend away a month after being married and it was amazing. It was shockingly great weather for December, and still gorgeous!! We were in a king bedded room right on the BEACH! It was stunning, the balcony was amazing as well. I highly recommend the entire resort. I wish we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachelDT29
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear RachelDT29, You can't beat the location and Nancy, Kyle and Robin! It's wonderful to hear about your great experience and please contact me in the future for assistance. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

Patchogue, New York
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We had our wedding there, they handled every detail to prefection, thanks to the best Wedding Coordinator Ginny Davis. Our guest had a ball and the food was delish , people are still talking about it. Thanks Gurneys for making our wedding one to rememeber.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 781pat2015
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear 781pat2015, Congratulations again on your wedding and Ginny is a superstar! We hope to see you for your 1st anniversary and thank you again for staying with us! Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Gurney's is on its way to being fully renovated. Unfortunately, the room given to us was an old one, which badly needs to be overhauled. However, the areas which have been fixed up are quite beautiful. Because Montauk is a car ride away from the Hamptons, there is nothing much to do at Gurney's but to relax and eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjcley
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear mjcley, Thank you for the comments and we're starting our next phase of the room renovations in one month. We hope that you'll return to see the finished product soon. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

464 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Aerial Photography (44)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Junior Suite (26)
Viewed
King Oceanfront Room (23)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
7.5 km away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
469 reviews
4.3 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
287 reviews
25.9 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
189 reviews
27.3 km away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
98 reviews
4.4 km away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 39 in Montauk
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on Montauk's most pristine stretch of oceanfront real estate, Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa is a Hampton's icon and the only four-season resort in Montauk. Providing guests with direct access to a 2,000 ft. private sand beach, Gurney's features 146 rooms, suites and beachfront cottages, each with dramatic ocean views. With five unique dining and cocktail venues, guests can enjoy a wide range of dining options, from elegant seasonal cuisine to casual fare to grab-and-go cafe favorites. All of Gurney's venues feature spectacular ocean views, none more so than The Beach Club, which provides the only on-beach dining experience in the Hamptons. No trip to Gurney's is complete without visiting The Seawater Spa, featuring Roman baths, Finnish rock saunas, a fitness center, and our world-famous indoor/outdoor sand-filtered, ocean-fed, heated seawater pool. The Seawater Spa is the only authentic Thalasso Center in the continental United States and offers customized thalasso therapies, harnessing the healing and restorative properties of the sea. The spa also offers a wide range of innovative spa services including uniquely tailored massages, facials and body treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Address: 290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954-5048
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Price Range: €225 - €1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney`s Inn Resort, Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Resort Montauk
Gurneys Inn Montauk
Gurneys Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Inn Resort
Gurneys Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure your room is part of the main building or not, if you care about that.”
 of 5 bubbles NavinG_13, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We loved the cottage. It had a beautiful working fireplace and it was very quiet and private.”
 of 5 bubbles tug11, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“OceanFront Rooms, not to be confused with OceanView Rooms, are the best rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles katebranning, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Confirm you attendance early to ensure a room on the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles johnn844, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There's no distinction bet. guests of the resort & outside visitors. If you can't get a reservation in the restaurant, you're out of luck.”
 of 5 bubbles HelperT, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5