We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2015

as soon as we walked in, we should have walked out of the room. Honestly, I think there was an old blood stain on the wall next to the bed. It looked as if it was washed. Would it "kill you" to slap a coat of paint on at least one wall?

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Dear Sir: I was disturbed by the possibility of what you saw to be true. My Maintenance Engineer inspected the room and assured to that what you spotted was in fact a maintenance problem that had gone unresolved that resulted in a botched wall vinyl seam stain. Please accept my deepest apologies that has been unreported and left unattended. We... More 

Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Location is great, I didn't feel safe, had to walk through smokey halls to get to non smoking rooms, would not give me a receipt for my stay.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank adamd822
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Dear Sir: I am very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. As we only have one remaining hallway in the hotel that we allow smoking in, I would suspect you were not given proper directions to your non-smoking room. To the point you made regarding not receiving a receipt for your stay, upon departure,... More 

Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2015

The Staff was pleasant but the hotel was completely outdated. We stayed in a room that was dirty, with bugs, and a horrible smell! I have NEVER had such a bad experience at a hotel before. I will sadly not be able to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank 52san
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Dear Traveler: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for myself, my staff and ownership. I share your disappointment when reading the review of your recent stay with us. As with any guest concern, we will take the time to address the issues presented in your critique. While I was displeased we did not meet your expectations during... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We were 5 friends and booked 3 rooms. All were the same. Rooms were fouled smelly; bathrooms were grossly stained and damaged; one of my garbage bins had garbage from the previous occupant and the air conditioner did not work properly. Will never stay at another Howard Johnson!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 669wendells
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Please accept my sincerest apologies for the underwhelming feeling you and your fellow travellers were left with. I take such candid feedback very seriously and would love the opportunity to investigate the specific rooms in order to review these shortcomings with the housekeepers of these rooms and with maintenance for the more extensive repairs that evidently are overdue.... More 

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#4 of 8 in Middletown
163 reviews
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 8 in Middletown
560 reviews
2.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Courtyard Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
#2 of 8 in Middletown
257 reviews
8.1 km away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
25.5 km away
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown

Address: 551 Route 211 East/I-84, Route 17 & I-84, Middletown, NY 10940
Region: United States > New York > Middletown
Price Range: €52 - €98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Middletown
Middletown Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hightstown, New Jersey
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get directions to your room map not real clear.”
 of 5 bubbles retirednold, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms were nice to have sliding doors w/faux balcony for some fresh air.”
 of 5 bubbles debodell, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel altogether! You've been warned.”
 of 5 bubbles H1596JVjohnh, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The "F" entrance was my wing.”
 of 5 bubbles NossonMeir, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“do not choose any”
 of 5 bubbles gertzz, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay