We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
HOOSICK FALLS
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT B
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Middletown, New York
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I needed a room for a work assignment and my normal hotel was booked solid. Staff was friendly but the room was of moderate quality at best. Phone was disconnected, no remote for the small TV, no refrigerator or microwave, bed wasn't very comfortable, etc. In addition, someone else tried to come into our room on an active key card...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 749aldenm
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Dear Business Traveler: I was not happy to see that your stay was not entirely satisfactory. We will be working on a number of guestroom amenity issues that you faced and possibly some solutions to navigating the layout of the property. Please accept my apologies for things being less than stellar. Keep us in mind for a future stay, to...

Downsville, New York
Reviewed 25 October 2015

The room was spacious, 2 queen beds were very comfortable - bedding was clean - bathroom was clean, good water pressure and lots of hot water. We had 2nd floor room with faux balcony w/sliding glass doors, which was perfect for my friend who likes a smoke in the morning. The TV was snowy, but we had been to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debodell
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Dear Wedding Traveler: We appreciate that you took the time to provide some candid feedback on your stay with us. We have begun to update televisions, that mention did not go unnoticed. Here's hoping that your entire visit to Middletown was made a bit more pleasant by the value received in staying at our hotel. Perhaps we will see you...

Nykoping, Sweden
Reviewed 20 October 2015

the first room i was given was horrible. it smelled like someone went to the bathroom on the floor. fortunately, the girl at the front desk was very polite and professional and gave me a different room immediately. if not, i would have asked for a refund and left.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonardt456
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Dear Guest: As we all know, the hospitality industry depends on human interaction and hands-on service. Thank you for allowing the desk clerk to make things right when things started off less than satisfactory with your first room. I have researched your room change and have had the first room addressed to correct that situation. Again, I'd like to thank...

Stratford, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lorrainet991
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Calgary
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Avoid, avoid, avoid. Got this through Hotels.com. Worst hotels ever - like being in a war zone. Carpets so filthy I kept my shoes on all night. Mould up the walls in the shower so it was not usable. Paper thin walls. Howard Johnson - what are you thinking!! This place should be on a national register of awful properties.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wabisabi
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Dear Traveler: I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfying. We are faced with some challenges that ownership is aware of and is working on some major renovations that will address the issues in less than a year's time. Please understand that my staff works hard to keep up with the demand and turnover from work crews...

Whittier, California
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelwF5159QY
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Middletown, New York
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camille M
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Lancaster
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel is the absolute worst hotel I've ever stayed in. We needed a hotel that allowed pets so we were somewhat limited. I actually think my dog's kennel smells better than this place. My husband pulled a washcloth off the rack and it was BLACK with filth. The hardwood floors seemed dirty and the bathroom was so gross we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suQwo
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Because of the name and the price, you would expect at least a 'decent' experience. Not so in this case. By far, the worst experience I've had in a hotel anywhere as far as I can remember. The building hasn't been renovated since it was new, I'm pretty sure. The ground floor rooms and hallways had been stripped bare and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

To Our Recent Guest: My team and I are very sorry to hear that your hotel stay was anything but pleasant. The impression you were given of our hotel was not what any of our guests should be encountering. The hotel has in fact taken the opportunity to renovate a number of rooms throughout the hotel. You were misled to...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.5 km away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
2.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#5 of 8 in Middletown
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Middletown
2.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
8.2 km away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown

Address: 551 Route 211 East/I-84, Route 17 & I-84, Middletown, NY 10940
Region: United States > New York > Middletown
Price Range: €81 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Middletown
Middletown Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hightstown, New Jersey
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get directions to your room map not real clear.”
retirednold, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms were nice to have sliding doors w/faux balcony for some fresh air.”
debodell, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel altogether! You've been warned.”
H1596JVjohnh, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The "F" entrance was my wing.”
NossonMeir, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“do not choose any”
gertzz, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5