We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fundu Lagoon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fundu Lagoon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 260: English reviews
Start your review of Fundu Lagoon
 Click to rate
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the minute we stepped onto the speedboat at Mkoani Harbour on Pemba Island we knew we were about to experience something very special and we were not disappointed. Fundu Lagoon mixes style, comfort and luxury perfectly. We stayed in a beach access villa which was comfortable, kept immaculately clean through our the holiday and really created a feeling of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kevin B
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

What a wonderful review to read as we come to the end of our 2016 season. Thank you so much for your kind words. I share your feelings with regard to stepping on to the speedboat at Mkoani Harbour - that sense of being about to go to somewhere special is always there every time I return to Fundu and...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are considering to come to Pemba,please DON'T STAY HERE!!!!! You just gonna spend allot of money for allot of smoke, this place is A BIG FAKE!!!! Just getting there is a nightmare,horrible!! to end up getting eaten up alive from the sand flies on the beach and from the biggest bloodsucker on two feet. AVOID IT LIKE THE...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank LoveSun50
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

I must apologise for the delay in not acknowledging the comments you posted on Trip Advisor before now, but we have been trying, and unsuccessfully so far, to discover your identity! We have looked through all of our records for our Italian guests for February, and our entire season to be honest, but we cannot find any trace of who...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Magical spot, friendly staff and good food. Place to relax and unwind. Rooms are very nice, we were given number 17 which has its own pool, and bus on the beach. Rooms have everything one needs. Only uncomfortable thing were the sand flies that has nothing to do do with our fabulous hosts, the management, and is common during rains....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamarasJ
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing your review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased that you found Fundu a great place to relax and unwind, and that you also enjoyed the food on offer to our guests and the friendliness of our staff. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation in Room 17...

Jupiter, Florida
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Africa Travel Resource our travel agency for Africa suggested this resort for our last part of a wonderful 5 week trip thru Eastern Africa and they got us a great discount for our 7 day stay . It is hard to describe the beauty of the property and the dedication of the General Manager and his entire team to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyingplumber
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

How very kind of you to write such a lovely review of your recent holiday at Fundu Lagoon, and what a great recommendation by your travel agency to suggest our resort as a final destination after travelling through Eastern Africa for 5 weeks. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for the kind compliments...

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Just married in Zanzibar, my wife and I decided to spend our honeymoon in Pemba, away from the traffic, the noise and the fuss of Other more touristy places in the archipelago. When we arrived at Fundu we were left speechless...the resort is reachable only by speedboat and lies on the hills surrounding a peaceful and astounding bay. The manager,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beppe V
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

What a fantastic review to read – thank you so much. I’m delighted that you and your wife chose to spend your honeymoon with us at Fundu Lagoon, and that you were left speechless - in a good way!! Ramon is indeed a terrific manager, and incredibly kind and helpful to everyone, and he will also be very pleased to...

Xiamen, China
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I never imagined that a place like this actually existed outside of a holiday brochure page. Perfect place for honeymooners, couples wanting time together or even a bunch of friends just wanting to have some fun times on an awesome resort. My husband and I were spoilt beyond recollection from the moment we stepped onto the Jetty, made our walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

How wonderful to read your words that you couldn’t ever have imagined a place such as Fundu existing ‘outside of a holiday brochure page’ – thank you for the compliment. I’m so pleased that you and your husband felt spoilt by our our staff – that’s just the way it should be! You are spot on in saying that reaching...

Reviewed 25 January 2017

We had the most amazing hospitality while staying at Fundu Lagoon last October. We were there for 4 nights following a wonderful safari in Northern Tanzania. Our teen girls also loved the experience and enjoyed the natural setting and surroundings. Fundu is an understated resort on a beautiful beach on Pemba island. It is surrounded by palm trees and hidden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaVla
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your holiday with us at Fundu Lagoon. It was wonderful to read that your teen girls also enjoyed the ambience and setting of the resort too, especially as teenagers can be hard to please! Ramon and all of our staff will be delighted to read your kind words about them, and...

Börtlingen
Reviewed 8 January 2017

From the moment we were welcomed by the very friendly manager with cold towels and a drink on the jetty of Fundu Lagoon we felt utterly and completely at homeand in paradise. The bungalow was very clean and spacious and tastefully furnished. The food was delicioous and the staff was sooooo friendly. We stayed for 8 days and loved every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosie_zeitner
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review of your recent holiday with us at Fundu Lagoon. Those cold towels and a refreshing drink are always so welcome on arrival, I agree. I’m so pleased that everyone made you both feel so welcome and comfortable, and that you found your bungalow spacious and spotless. How lovely to read that...

London
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Unusually for us we decided to return to this former holiday destination as we had had such an amazing time last year. We were not disappointed - indeed our expectations from previously were exceeded as not only was everything as lovely and brilliantly run as last time , everyone remembered us (and I mean everyone) and made us feel like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardTLondon
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

What a terrific review to read and start off 2017. Thank you so much for coming back to Fundu - our staff love it when our guests return for repeat visits and are always so pleased to see familiar faces. I’m delighted to read that you had a wonderful day out with Rusty deep sea fishing, and that Fil took...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

After a flight, taxi ride and boat trip to arrive at this luxurious resort in the Spice Island of Pemba is amazing. Welcomed from the first step nothing is too much trouble for the very smiley staff. Try your hand at Swahili and they will love you. The food was excellent and we had a private dinner on the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Studd2710
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Your review brought a lovely smile to my face as I could feel the enthusiasm with which you wrote it - thank you so much. I'm delighted that you both had such a wonderful holiday with us at Fundu Lagoon, and your tip to speak a bit of Swahili to our staff is a definite plus, and guaranteed to put...

422 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (399)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemba Island
20.2 km away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
91 reviews
0.0 km away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
62.0 km away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.1 km away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 8 in Pemba Island
102 reviews
16.0 km away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 8 in Pemba Island
48 reviews
14.9 km away
Hifadhi Hotel
Hifadhi Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pemba Island
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Hotel Class:5 star — Fundu Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fundu Lagoon staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fundu Lagoon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the bungalows have superb views”
rosie_zeitner, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ALl rooms are great but go for the seafront of you can”
  • One of the beach front rooms
  • Sea front room
Studd2710, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“beach front!”
  • view from room 13 at sunset
rbraamcamp, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Beach suite and Superior suite 16 are TOPS!”
DevilliersPA, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront rooms have instant access to the beach via a few steps and have amazing views”
C9026KIjohnc, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5