We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

    i, Port St Johns, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (375)
          Room & Suite (75)
          Pool & Beach (45)
          Delicious Monster Retreat
          26 reviews
          #7 of 14 Speciality lodging in Port St Johns
           
          The Lodge on the Beach
          45 reviews
          #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Port St Johns
           
          Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
          209 reviews
          #1 of 14 Speciality lodging in Port St Johns
           
          Jungle Monkey Backpackers
          70 reviews
          #5 of 14 Speciality lodging in Port St Johns
           
          Overview
          • Excellent73%
          • Very good20%
          • Average5%
          • Poor1%
          • Terrible1%
          1 week ago
          “3 nights at Umngazi River Bungalows”
          2 weeks ago
          “property”
          Free Internet
          Free Parking
          Breakfast Buffet
          Beachfront
          Pool
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Restaurant
          Suites
          Poolside Bar
          Fitness centre
          Spa
          Wheelchair Access
          Conference Facilities
          Laundry Service
          Tennis Court
          Shuttle Bus Service
          Babysitting
          Private Balcony
          4.0 Star Hotel
          All hotel details
          Delicious Monster Retreat
          26 reviews
          #7 of 14 Speciality lodging in Port St Johns
           
          The Lodge on the Beach
          45 reviews
          #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Port St Johns
           
          Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
          209 reviews
          #1 of 14 Speciality lodging in Port St Johns
           
          Jungle Monkey Backpackers
          70 reviews
          #5 of 14 Speciality lodging in Port St Johns
           
          {"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (972)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          There are newer reviews for Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa See the most recent reviews

          21 - 25 of 972 reviews

          Reviewed 19 April 2017

          All I can say is wow! This was our first visit and it was amazing. We only spent 2 nights but would recommend at least 3. The kids enjoyed it as there are a number of activities arranged to keep them entertained. Chalets are neat...More

          Thank kevinmN2875LI
          Response from GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & SpaResponded 22 April 2017

          Dear Kevin, Thank you so much for the wonderful it really was great to read how much the Family had enjoyed their stay with us. Wonderful to see that you had enjoyed the food as this is certainly a big part of our overall offering...More

          Reviewed 14 April 2017

          Rooms need fridges and TV in rooms.Bathroom not very clean the first day we arrived. No cellphone, internet or Wi-fi service at rooms, just in lounge area. Library very old books. Food and staff excellent and outstanding customer service. No shaded parking available.More

          Review collected in partnership with this hotel
          Thank Belinda V
          Response from GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & SpaResponded 21 April 2017

          Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it was great to read that you had enjoyed Umngazi's wonderful hospitality with its friendly staff and amazing food. With regards to some of your points made, we don't have...More

          Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

          The location is beautiful and we made the most of it and thoroughly enjoyed our family holiday. Jakes (manager), Sibo (head chef) and the bar staff were amazing but unfortunately the rest of the staff were pretty vacant and unhelpful. Clearly they need more customer...More

          Thank PennyS1976
          Response from GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & SpaResponded 23 April 2017

          Dear Penny, Thank you so much for this kind review, it was great to read that you had enjoyed your Family holiday with us, and I will of course pass on your kind remarks about Sibu, Jakes, bar staff and Spa team, these are greatly...More

          Reviewed 9 April 2017

          Our first visit to Umngazi River bungalows in 2009 was impromptu and although it was not in high season, we subsequently learned that we were very fortunate to be accommodated due to the high popularity of this venue (which may explain why we were offered...More

          Review collected in partnership with this hotel
          Thank Roy H
          Response from GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & SpaResponded 23 April 2017

          Dear Roy, Thank you so much for this wonderful review it really was great to read how much you had enjoyed your stay as well as appreciation of the beauty of this magnificent part of the Wild Coast. I was happy to see that you...More

          Reviewed 9 April 2017

          We booked a seafacing family bungalow on the middle bank which was rather dark and gloomy. Unimpressed by the quality of the childcare facility "creative corner" - not much there in terms of paint, paper, wooden blocks, balls, beads etc. Great selection of healthy dishes...More

          Review collected in partnership with this hotel
          1  Thank idaunsgaard
          Response from GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & SpaResponded 23 April 2017

          Dear Ida, Thank you so much for your review I was sorry read that there were certain areas of your stay that you did not find to your liking, these will of course be looked into and action taken where necessary. We of course do...More

          Delicious Monster Retreat
          26 reviews
          #7 of 14 Speciality lodging in Port St Johns
           
          The Lodge on the Beach
          45 reviews
          #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Port St Johns
           
          Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
          209 reviews
          #1 of 14 Speciality lodging in Port St Johns
           
          Jungle Monkey Backpackers
          70 reviews
          #5 of 14 Speciality lodging in Port St Johns
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Travellers' Choice2017 Winner
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Pool
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
          • Beachfront
          • Free Internet
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Spa
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
          • Babysitting
          • Shuttle Bus Service
          • Laundry Service
          • Banquet Room
          • Conference Facilities
          • Things to do
          • Pool
          • Restaurant
          • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Spa
          • Tennis Court
          Details
          • Hotel class
          • Room types
          • Suites ,
          • Family Rooms ,
          • Accessible rooms ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 69
          • Location
          • South Africa >
          • Eastern Cape >
          • Port St Johns
          • Also Known As
          • Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns ,
          • Umngazi River Hotel ,
          • Umngazi River Resort ,
          • Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa South Africa/Port St Johns
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (375)
          Room & Suite (75)
          Pool & Beach (45)
          Dining (25)
          Hotel & Grounds (239)
          Bathroom (17)
          Family and Play Areas (4)
          Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
          Nearby
          Nearby Restaurants
          Delicious Monster
          85 reviews
          6.27 km away
          Panarottis Mthatha
          27 reviews
          66.13 km away
          Wood n Spoon
          32 reviews
          8.02 km away
          Friends Wild Coast Cafe
          35 reviews
          45.73 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Offshore Africa
          9 reviews
          11.03 km away
          Hole in the Wall
          159 reviews
          52.39 km away
          Nelson Mandela Museum
          23 reviews
          63.82 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Lizell W
          Hello!. I am keen to visit in December but my retired parents in Durban are very anxious about the general personal safety as well as road conditions as they don't have a 4x4. Please advise the condition of the road and journey time. Another option would be to fly them but then we are restricted to a 7 night stay, what is the airfield like now?
          15 March 2017|
          Answer Show all 6 answers
          Response from Carl L | Reviewed this property |
          Hi I agree why the previous entry. The drive is ok if you do it during the day. The road is not the issue but rather the drivers and the livestock along the way. If you're at all nervous of driving (like my wife is) then fly... More
          1
          Vote
          Lizell W
          I understand there is a ferry to get to the beach, is this run by the resort? Is there a charge, how frequent is the service? How long does it take to get from the resort to the beach?
          15 March 2017|
          Answer Show all 3 answers
          Response from GeneralManager81 | Property representative |
          There is a ferry to the beach run by the Resort, as well you can access the beach directly from the Resort as well walking along the path next to the river. The ferry is available whenever the guest would like to go, no... More
          0
          Votes
          Dayn1984
          Hi there, Traveling from Durban this Friday, which is the recommended route at the moment? - R61 through Bizana/Flagstaff/Lusikisiki - N2 to Kokstad then R394 to R61 via Flagstaff/Lusikisiki - N2 to Kokstad then to Mthatha and onto the R61 Thanks
          4 January 2017|
          Answer Show all 4 answers
          Response from GeneralManager81 | Property representative |
          The Kokstad outing although longer is a far more comfortable drive as you miss all the Roadworks between Port Edward and Bizana.
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Sea facing rooms are spectacular but are a further walk from central amenities."
          Read review
          "Definitely go for a sea view room if you are on a romantic break. Or the bottom river view bungalows are..."
          Read review
          "Choose a cottage on the lower bank if you don't like stairs. However the sea facing rooms on all levels..."
          Read review
          "I would say a sea-view is preferable to a river view."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing