We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 442: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We stayed here while visiting Cornell University, a short drive away. Our hotel room was surprisingly large, as was the bathroom. It was very comfortable. There was free wifi and free breakfast. The hotel has an outdoor pool, although it was rainy most of the time we were there, so we didn't use it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth A
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Beth A., Yes, unfortunately the weather was not on our side this last weekend. We hope you had the chance to use our free shuttle service to Cornell during your stay with us. Should you be returning to the area in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us. Kind regards, Jim McMann

Reviewed 29 June 2015

Standard hotel, no problems, good location, a bit pricey for the weekend - I believe it was a weekend for college tours of international students. Staff very pleasant. I was in a handicap room and the Bathroom sink was a bit awkward (sink high and faucet set too far back)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 724marieg
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear 724marieg, I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We do have certain weekends in Ithaca where the prices can be at a premium, but have many other times when the rate may be more affordable. When you return, I would be happy to make your reservation and reserve a different room for you. Although we are...

Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

This place is not glamurous, however it is clean and has a perfect location between NYC and Niagara Falls. The hotel pool is a nice bonus! I highly recommend a visit to Robert Treman State Park (fabulous "pool" by the waterfall) and the Watkins Glen State Park (hiking and waterfalls) in connection with your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ifsm
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so glad you had the chance to enjoy the pool while you were here! The next you visit, Taughannock Falls is another great park with walking trails and swimming and only 20 minutes away. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Jim McMann

St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We appreciate at least being able to express our disappointment of this hotel. We have never had reason to complain before, but we felt it was needed. Particularly because we had booked for our nephew as well and we felt very sorry that we had done so, embarrassed, because our nephew was over from Ireland on business. We thought you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Janet, We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us especially since it was a special occasion for you and your nephew. I could not see any specific comments about the facility or the service. Would you contact me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com and let me know in more detail about your stay with us? Best, Jim McMann

Central New York
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while in town on business last month. It was my second stay at this property. I accidentally forgot a bag in the closet with some of my handmade pieces, art supplies and equipment in the closet. The minute I realized this I called the hotel because I had already checked out. The desk person said...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank frostypurplemanatee
Reviewed 15 June 2015

The overall experience was fine. Very old looking hotel with outdated decor so I felt like it wasn't worth the price I paid. They don't put mattress pads under the bottom sheet! EWWW!!! Breakfast was a large selection but I wish the eggs and sausage patties looked more appealing. They actually let us walk in 5 minutes late and still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 340adrs
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear 340adrs, Thanks for your constructive review. I have printed your comments for our housekeeping director. We are glad that you had the extra time to enjoy breakfast with us. We are currently working with our food & beverage representative to enjoy more food options. Please don't hesitate to call us when you return to Ithaca. Best, Jim McMann

Kerhonkson, New York
Reviewed 15 June 2015

This Best Western is located 5 minutes from Cornell's Veterinary School. We have stayed here for all of our visits and school functions because of its accessibility to the school and my daughter's apt. The hotel is very clean, staff is friendly and efficient. The free breakfast has variety and is very good. The fitness center is nice even though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbqjudge2015
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear bbqjudge, Thanks so much for your recent review. Our proximity to the Veterinary School makes us the #1 choice for visitors to the facility. I will let our staff know about your kind words. With the recent warm weather, more guests have been able to take advantage of the pool. We even had two children who recently didn't want...

Connecticut
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We were disappointed with our stay at the Best Western University Inn - the hotel seemed "worn and tired", the closet door would slowly but stubbornly close, room door seemed not to hang correctly making it difficult to close. Some sort of late night celebration kept us from a restful sleep. We must admit that the complimentary breakfast was filling....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucyConnecticut
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear lucyConnecticutt, We apologize that you felt the accommodations were acceptable for your stay. We have recently put in new duvets and carpeting throughout the hotel, which will continue for the next month. On a positive note, we are glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We hope when returning to Ithaca in the future, you will give another chance to...

Westfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 June 2015

I have stayed here 4 or 5 times, and will probably do so again-with some reservations. I wrote an extensive review about 16 months ago and at that time expressed security concerns. I still have them, despite the hotel's commentary that the parking lot is patrolled by Cornell security. The fact is that all the many doors to the parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ulysses4
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ulysses4, Thank you for your constructive comments about your recent stay. I forwarded this review to our corporate office for their review. Sincerely, Jim McMann

Forest Hills, NY
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Located in a small shopping mall with several places to eat is a lovely Best Western, convenient to Cornell. Continental breakfast is very good and the staff is always helpful. Rooms are always clean. They have a small outdoor pool with a few chaises. Tiny fitness room is downstairs in the main building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivy H
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear redhead022, Thank you for your positive review. Even though we are only 1/2 mile from Cornell, we have much offer right in the East Hill Plaza. The pool is great place to relax in the quiet up here. The next time you stay with us, The Gym, which is the plaza has a larger assortment of workout machines for...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
4.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
597 reviews
5.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
2.0 km away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
5.3 km away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#12 of 22 in Ithaca
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Price Range: €104 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
West Hartford, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a good room is far, far away”
 of 5 bubbles RobertD161, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hotel promises pet-free rooms, but broke that promise!”
 of 5 bubbles CNYTravelView, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“"All rooms are the same" per the receptionist, which would mean that all rooms have old mattresses and slightly worn rugs.”
 of 5 bubbles jeremysmom, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to Collegetown Coffee just a few steps away in the plaza. Much better fare for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles Fotogrrl247, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think there's an extra charge to accommodate pets; they also have a slightly discounted "hospital" rate.”
 of 5 bubbles 544pk, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay